$180 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
240 reviews
Great hotel

Been to the W hotel several times and enjoy each visit. See full review

  • JCCC
  • Jul 2, 2014
W Chicago Lakeshore

I recommend W Hotel Lakeshore if you are active and fun loving people visiting in Chicago. W Hotel... See full review

  • rainonlake
  • Apr 5, 2014
The W Chicago - Lakeshore offers a birds-eye (think seagull) view of things. Situated along Lake Shore Drive near the Navy Pier, it's the only hotel in Chicago directly overlooking Lake Michigan, and also provides easy access to the beach itself. So bring your flip-flops (weather permitting) and after you've hit the beach, head for home (that's us). The W Chicago - Lakeshore surrounds guests with impeccable service and distinctive style. From the luxurious down-stuffed beds in each of our 520 deluxe guest rooms and suites, to the versatile meeting spaces equipped with the latest technological wizardry, and High Speed Internet Access in all guest and meeting rooms, we've overlooked nothing. Relax in our soothing, Zen-like Living Room. Head for the roof-top lounge to drink in astonishing lake and city views and sizzling nightlife. Enjoy an intimate dinner for two at our signature restaurant. Or retreat to your spacious room, fully-stocked with every comfort, including our own W "Munchie" box, a snacker's utopia. And if you need anything else, our Whatever/Whenever desk is on duty 24/7. Whether you're here for business or pleasure, we're prepared to help you enjoy the best of both worlds. And with a prime lake view location, we're convenient to the best of everything in the city, from the festivities of Navy Pier to the premiere shopping of Michigan Avenue. Have a blast!

Hotel Map

41.8939 -87.6156
Area served
.
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, Mile; Chicago OHare International Airport, (ORD), 18.00, Mile
Area description
City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Chicago Lakeshore also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

W Chicago Lakeshore Rooms

Fantastic Suite
The outrageous view of the city in this two bedroom suite lets you and your guests spy on the city from every angle. Socialize in the parlor's entertainment space, popping in a favorite flick on the living room's 32" TV. Or hand-pick a CD from the W library to set the mood while lounging on the sofa or the unique U-shaped chaise lounge.

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Boutiques
Porters
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (240)

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
240 out of 240
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenn Marie
Crow n Point, Indiana
Jul 2, 2013

Great Place for 40th birthday

Summer in Chicago is awesome and our location couldn't have been better. We spent the weekend walking the lake front, through Grant Park, Millennium Park, and the famous Magnificent Mile. We had a lake front room with a spectacular view. It was perfect. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
strnbrg59
California
Apr 6, 2013

Watch out for the $55 overnight parking charge

This seemed like a good deal until I found out that parking my car would cost have again as much as my room itself. I'd appreciate it if there'd been a warning about that. Of course I realize this is the middle of a big city and not a suburban motel parking lot, but at the same time, it's not uncommon to get package deals that include parking. When they don't (as in this case) a prominent warning would have been in order. The hotel's location is good, but it's not really in the heart of things; that would be about four blocks to the west.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ABBB
Business
Ohio
Mar 19, 2013

Not the unusual "W" quality

Small rooms, inconsistent service, no Wifi in rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
duce2048
New York
Mar 18, 2013

W Chicago Lakeshore

Our stay at the W was awesome. The staff is super friendly. The rooms are nice and clean. The food was good and the two bar / lounge areas had good music, drinks & a mixed crowd. You really don't have to leave the hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Neon24
Business
Guaynabo, Puerto Rico
Mar 5, 2013

Love the W

I always choose this chain because of their comfortable beds.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
fixit00
Business
Boston, MA
Feb 23, 2013

Great stay.

Only stayed for a night on business, but overall it was a good experience. Staff was courteous, place was clean, penthouse bar was fun. The only complaint was having to pay for wi-fi and pay-per-minute business center.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

+ Crimson Lounge + Rockit Bar & Grill

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tito traveler
fort lauderdale, florida
Feb 18, 2013

Nice place...thin walls

Liked the hotel; good customer service; parking service was excellent and concierge did an outstanding job of getting me dinner reservations at a great place. My concern was with the sound between rooms. I could hear clearly conversations from the rooms on both sides of me...even more pronounced late at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Iowaugirl
Illinois
Feb 18, 2013

Long wait time!!

Okay I don't usually write review on hotels. This time I had too. We got to the hotel 30 mins after 3 which was check in time. Our room was not ready!! We had to wait 2 hours for our room that we booked a month in advance. I think this a ploy to get people to spend money at the bar. I know this is a great hotel but everything was way over priced. Next time we will stay somewhere else. We had fun at the bar in the hotel and everything else was great! When traveling as far as we did all we wanted was to get in our room and shower.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
2guest
chicago
Feb 13, 2013

Pretty good

Spa services were great but a bit pricey. Sauna could be hotter. Staff was nice and always very helpful. The blinds almost fell on my head when they came off the wall, more troubling because there was a note somewhere about pulling on the blinds in fine print. It is insulting to have to pay extra for internet, especially so much for 15 minutes!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kevin Biz Exec
Business
Wisconsin
Jan 13, 2013

Edgy Chicago Stay

Cool hotel. Lighting is subdued with gray and purple predominant. Very quiet hallways. The rooms have a very comfortable bed and chaise lounge. Bathrooms have a great rainfall glass shower with Bliss self care top of the line products. Located close to everything in downtown Chicago too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Christie Traveler
Business
Hoboken, NJ
Dec 5, 2012

Great Hotel

It was very beautiful and an overall very comfortable stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top