$163 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2015 Check-out: Sep 4, 2015

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
View map of 644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
168 out of 168
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JCCC
Business
Anchorage
Jul 2, 2014

Great hotel

Been to the W hotel several times and enjoy each visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mickey511
Couples
nyc, ny
May 9, 2014

w lake shore

Major renovations, constructions, incl lobby, front entrance significantly compromising appearance and entrance./exit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
midwest traveler 123
Business
midwest
Apr 29, 2014

not what i expected.

The entrance was under construction.Interested path to temporary check in desk. Thursday nite there was a sorority party on the 33 floor. (difficult to get through small area from elevator to outside, the party with music to my room)No bath/shower only. Bar and resturant small space.Too, bad they had not moved this. I ended up leaving a day early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hubbards bar/resturant. Staff is great. Hopefully you will enjoy it as must as I did.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tim Travel's
Family
Miami,FL
Apr 22, 2014

Enjoy

The room was nice the staff was average at best, the location was very centrally located from miracle mile and walking distance to navy pier. I would recommend this hotel. Parking is a fortune!!! $69 a day that's a problem..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChicagoShaun
Couples
Salt Lake City, Utah
Apr 15, 2014

Renovations...

Clean, safe, and a good location. They should have told me the lobby was under a huge renovation. That's why I got such a good deal ($147/night with taxes and fees). It didn't look like they were going to finish soon. They said my room had been recently renovated but it wasn't anything special. Worst of all- no queen beds. My "double" room had two full beds. It was the cheapest place I could find, but when I saw a four star rating I thought I was getting a steal that ended up being a regular place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
adambomb
Business
New York, NY, USA
Apr 8, 2014

CLOSEST TO NAVY PIER - BUSINESS

Although the hotel was under renovation during my stay the staff was friendly and accommodating. I believe its one of the closest hotels to the Navy Pier and wasn't too bad of a walk even from the extreme east wing of the convention hall. Nice and new modern rooms made the stay that much more pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Charleston for the weeken
Family
Chapel Hill, NC
Apr 8, 2014

Not a 4-star experience.

We were not aware that the hotel was under construction. I would have appreciated being told so, but I guess they know many people wouldn't book it. Also, room was never cleaned very good. We had to ask for more shampoo. Bar staff downstairs wasn't very friendly. And way too trendy for our taste! The carpet almost make me go into a seizure. That being said, the room was gorgeous, and we had an amazing view of Lake Michigan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Chicago Institute of Art is amazing.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rainonlake
Family
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 5, 2014

W Chicago Lakeshore

I recommend W Hotel Lakeshore if you are active and fun loving people visiting in Chicago. W Hotel is about not only superb location but also nice staffs and valet service. Two thumbs up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to Navy Pier where you can make wonderful memories with your love ones. Don't forget Ohio Street Beach and Olive Park to visit if you are there.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pookster12
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 23, 2014

Construction Ruined this Trip….Avoid until Summer 2014

I have stayed at the W several times before and I absolutely love it! The hotel is great, the staff friendly, scene is wonderful, and during the summer months its perfectly situated on the lake with great views. The decor and style is always what draws me here. However, during this stay I was greatly disappointed in all of the construction taking place. The lobby is gone, the restaurant/bar and receptionist have been placed into a back room with horrible lightening and decor during the renovation. There is no food or drinks, unless you want to order something and sit while construction goes on in a basement with no windows. Despite what floor I was on, it sounded as if the the floor or roof was being jumped, drilled, bulldozed into at all times throughout the day. I complained to the receptionists and asked what time this would end and she simply stated, "The noise will be done at 5:30 and start back at 9am tomorrow." That's it, no sorry for the inconvenience, no discount, no free drinks, meal, nothing!!! She acted like this was normal and that I should be ok with the fact that I was paying full-price for the winter season, yet couldn't even sit in my room without hearing a wall being torn down in the hotel. I couldn't relax at all and left my hotel to venture out into the negative temperatures on the streets. It was a horrible stay. Would I stay here again, NO! Which is very sad, because I have recommended this place to so many people and I myself continue to return, yet the lack of empathy or understanding for guests paying for construction is ridiculous. I could have paid less money at several other hotels, closer to Michigan Ave or the hospitals I was interviewing at, and had no noise or construction disturbances. Very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Elizabeth Evelyn Bev
Couples
Chicago
Jan 11, 2014

W lakeshore

The rooms desperately need to be redone! We were actually really surprised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Michigan avenue

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicole28
Couples
FL
Jan 4, 2014

Chic, modern interior with GREAT views of lake & pier

King suite on 32nd floor overlooking the lake & pier. Modern amenities and nice bathroom (open walk in shower, no tub; always seems more fancy that way!). The bed and pillows were actually a bit too soft, but obviously that's a personal preference. The physical location of the hotel seemed to be in the "better/more safe" side of town. The only drawback to that is that a minimum 5 minute walk is required to get to any real points of interest; more likely a taxi is needed. The walk isn't so bad, but we went in the middle of winter! Again, our bad! Overall fantastic. Will definitely stayin other W Hotels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top