$203 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 4, 2014

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
164 reviews
Great

Nice hotel loved my view would recommend this hotel to anyone See full review

  • Gambinokevin
  • Aug 28, 2014
Loved it!

Stayed the weekend at this hotel & loved it! Great location. See full review

  • Kar Bear from Canada
  • Jul 29, 2014
The W Chicago - Lakeshore offers a birds-eye (think seagull) view of things. Situated along Lake Shore Drive near the Navy Pier, it's the only hotel in Chicago directly overlooking Lake Michigan, and also provides easy access to the beach itself. So bring your flip-flops (weather permitting) and after you've hit the beach, head for home (that's us). The W Chicago - Lakeshore surrounds guests with impeccable service and distinctive style. From the luxurious down-stuffed beds in each of our 520 deluxe guest rooms and suites, to the versatile meeting spaces equipped with the latest technological wizardry, and High Speed Internet Access in all guest and meeting rooms, we've overlooked nothing. Relax in our soothing, Zen-like Living Room. Head for the roof-top lounge to drink in astonishing lake and city views and sizzling nightlife. Enjoy an intimate dinner for two at our signature restaurant. Or retreat to your spacious room, fully-stocked with every comfort, including our own W "Munchie" box, a snacker's utopia. And if you need anything else, our Whatever/Whenever desk is on duty 24/7. Whether you're here for business or pleasure, we're prepared to help you enjoy the best of both worlds. And with a prime lake view location, we're convenient to the best of everything in the city, from the festivities of Navy Pier to the premiere shopping of Michigan Avenue. Have a blast!

Hotel Map

41.8939 -87.6156
Area served
.
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, Mile; Chicago OHare International Airport, (ORD), 18.00, Mile
Area description
City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Chicago Lakeshore also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

W Chicago Lakeshore Rooms

Fantastic Suite
The outrageous view of the city in this two bedroom suite lets you and your guests spy on the city from every angle. Socialize in the parlor's entertainment space, popping in a favorite flick on the living room's 32" TV. Or hand-pick a CD from the W library to set the mood while lounging on the sofa or the unique U-shaped chaise lounge.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (164)

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
164 out of 164
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
threegoofygirls
minneapolis, minnesota
Aug 7, 2013

A perfect girls getaway

From the moment we arrived (early I might add) we were so well taken care of by the staff that we were able to jump right into our weekend away. The concierge, Acura driver, front desk, bar, spa, Wave staff and especially the security guard Darreyl (who found and sent our cellphone back to us) were amazing!! If the people make the place than look no further. Thank you Hotel W Lakeshore for a great Chicago impression.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
midwest traveler 123
Business
midwest
Apr 29, 2014

not what i expected.

The entrance was under construction.Interested path to temporary check in desk. Thursday nite there was a sorority party on the 33 floor. (difficult to get through small area from elevator to outside, the party with music to my room)No bath/shower only. Bar and resturant small space.Too, bad they had not moved this. I ended up leaving a day early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hubbards bar/resturant. Staff is great. Hopefully you will enjoy it as must as I did.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tim Travel's
Miami,FL
Apr 22, 2014

Enjoy

The room was nice the staff was average at best, the location was very centrally located from miracle mile and walking distance to navy pier. I would recommend this hotel. Parking is a fortune!!! $69 a day that's a problem..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChicagoShaun
Salt Lake City, Utah
Apr 15, 2014

Renovations...

Clean, safe, and a good location. They should have told me the lobby was under a huge renovation. That's why I got such a good deal ($147/night with taxes and fees). It didn't look like they were going to finish soon. They said my room had been recently renovated but it wasn't anything special. Worst of all- no queen beds. My "double" room had two full beds. It was the cheapest place I could find, but when I saw a four star rating I thought I was getting a steal that ended up being a regular place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Charleston for the weeken
Chapel Hill, NC
Apr 8, 2014

Not a 4-star experience.

We were not aware that the hotel was under construction. I would have appreciated being told so, but I guess they know many people wouldn't book it. Also, room was never cleaned very good. We had to ask for more shampoo. Bar staff downstairs wasn't very friendly. And way too trendy for our taste! The carpet almost make me go into a seizure. That being said, the room was gorgeous, and we had an amazing view of Lake Michigan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Chicago Institute of Art is amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
adambomb
Business
New York, NY, USA
Apr 8, 2014

CLOSEST TO NAVY PIER - BUSINESS

Although the hotel was under renovation during my stay the staff was friendly and accommodating. I believe its one of the closest hotels to the Navy Pier and wasn't too bad of a walk even from the extreme east wing of the convention hall. Nice and new modern rooms made the stay that much more pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rainonlake
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 5, 2014

W Chicago Lakeshore

I recommend W Hotel Lakeshore if you are active and fun loving people visiting in Chicago. W Hotel is about not only superb location but also nice staffs and valet service. Two thumbs up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to Navy Pier where you can make wonderful memories with your love ones. Don't forget Ohio Street Beach and Olive Park to visit if you are there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pookster12
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 23, 2014

Construction Ruined this Trip….Avoid until Summer 2014

I have stayed at the W several times before and I absolutely love it! The hotel is great, the staff friendly, scene is wonderful, and during the summer months its perfectly situated on the lake with great views. The decor and style is always what draws me here. However, during this stay I was greatly disappointed in all of the construction taking place. The lobby is gone, the restaurant/bar and receptionist have been placed into a back room with horrible lightening and decor during the renovation. There is no food or drinks, unless you want to order something and sit while construction goes on in a basement with no windows. Despite what floor I was on, it sounded as if the the floor or roof was being jumped, drilled, bulldozed into at all times throughout the day. I complained to the receptionists and asked what time this would end and she simply stated, "The noise will be done at 5:30 and start back at 9am tomorrow." That's it, no sorry for the inconvenience, no discount, no free drinks, meal, nothing!!! She acted like this was normal and that I should be ok with the fact that I was paying full-price for the winter season, yet couldn't even sit in my room without hearing a wall being torn down in the hotel. I couldn't relax at all and left my hotel to venture out into the negative temperatures on the streets. It was a horrible stay. Would I stay here again, NO! Which is very sad, because I have recommended this place to so many people and I myself continue to return, yet the lack of empathy or understanding for guests paying for construction is ridiculous. I could have paid less money at several other hotels, closer to Michigan Ave or the hospitals I was interviewing at, and had no noise or construction disturbances. Very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Elizabeth Evelyn Bev
Chicago
Jan 11, 2014

W lakeshore

The rooms desperately need to be redone! We were actually really surprised.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Michigan avenue

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Nicole28
FL
Jan 4, 2014

Chic, modern interior with GREAT views of lake & pier

King suite on 32nd floor overlooking the lake & pier. Modern amenities and nice bathroom (open walk in shower, no tub; always seems more fancy that way!). The bed and pillows were actually a bit too soft, but obviously that's a personal preference. The physical location of the hotel seemed to be in the "better/more safe" side of town. The only drawback to that is that a minimum 5 minute walk is required to get to any real points of interest; more likely a taxi is needed. The walk isn't so bad, but we went in the middle of winter! Again, our bad! Overall fantastic. Will definitely stayin other W Hotels!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Zingerlinger
Indiana
Jan 2, 2014

Wish I could get my money back

The place was outdated, cold and way overpriced. My wife and I ate lunch at the bar, had a few drinks and it cost over $100.00. The wife was still hungry afterwards and she eats like a bird. We also had to deal with the doors opening all the time for check-ins. I am from Colorado and have a high tolerance for the cold, didn't know if my wife was going to make it. Next time will go somewhere warm for Newyears.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search