$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
167 reviews
Great

Nice hotel loved my view would recommend this hotel to anyone See full review

  • Gambinokevin
  • Aug 28, 2014
Loved it!

Stayed the weekend at this hotel & loved it! Great location. See full review

  • Kar Bear from Canada
  • Jul 29, 2014
Setting the standard for cool

Find lake views and a front-door beach at this fashionable Chicago hotel that oozes cool lounge appeal. When guests are not cooing over Lake Michigan or the light show at Navy Pier, the W Chicago - Lakeshore hotel captivates with extras like inventive Mediterranean cuisine at Wave, scenic cocktails from the 33rd floor at Whiskey Sky and luxe treatments at Bliss spa. Step outside onto Lake Michigan's shores, walk to Navy Pier or stroll along Chicago's lakefront path from this swank urban residence.

Highlights
  • At water's edge -- Lake Michigan and the beach sit outside the front door
  • City views and cocktails at Whiskey Sky nightclub, sleek urban dining at the Mediterranean-inspired Wave restaurant
  • Bliss Spa, a 9,600-square-foot oasis for pampering
  • Heated indoor pool with scenic lakefront views
  • AAA 2009 Diamond award winner features sultry, Zen-like rooms
Rooms
Inside the rooms at the W Chicago – Lakeshore hotel, guests find plush fabrics in deep shades of eggplant, chocolate and bright white, plus sweet extras like votive candles, CDs from the W library, 32-inch flat-screen TV and Bliss bath products. Wireless high-speed Internet access is available in guest rooms (fees apply).
Features

If the famed brownie bar inside Bliss Spa doesn't have you at hello, then the Triple Oxygen Facials or Blissages will. After relaxing and recharging, hit Wave for innovative cuisine or Whiskey Sky for signature cocktails and club beats in an intimate room featuring panoramic views.

Chic décor and city style at the lakefront hotel don't stop in design-savvy rooms. The W Chicago – Lakeshore hotel offers 15 meeting rooms, including a spectacular rooftop banquet room with slanted floor-to-ceiling windows. Take a dip in the hotel's heated pool perched above Lake Michigan or set out for a stroll along the water's edge. The W Chicago – Lakeshore hotel positions guests for a stylish Chicago experience.  

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (15.7 mi/25.7 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Blue Line (Chicago) (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (3.2 mi/5.2 km)

Attractions
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Lake Michigan (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Navy Pier (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Millennium Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Grant Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The Art Institute of Chicago (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 15 meeting rooms
  • Plasma screens, high-speed Internet, Wi-Fi, state-of-the-art audio/visual equipment
Policies and Fees
  • Starting 1 Jul, the hotel will charge parking fees as follows: $24 USD per two hours; $31 USD per six hours and $60 USD per 24 hours
  • The hotel does not accept guests below 21 years old.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Chicago Lakeshore also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

W Chicago Lakeshore Rooms

Fantastic Suite
The outrageous view of the city in this two bedroom suite lets you and your guests spy on the city from every angle. Socialize in the parlor's entertainment space, popping in a favorite flick on the living room's 32" TV. Or hand-pick a CD from the W library to set the mood while lounging on the sofa or the unique U-shaped chaise lounge.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (167)

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
167 out of 167
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tuber Sweet
Business
Moline
Jun 30, 2014

Birthday extravaganza

Overall we had a wonderful experience! The room was small and basic, not what I expected for a suite. The staff was friendly at check-in but not quick when we requested glasses.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Use the UBER app for cabs, car and limo service! Super convenient

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SL Omaha
Business
Omaha, NE
Jun 16, 2014

Fantastic View, Ordinary Room

The View was fantastic of Lake Michigan and proximity to Navy Pier great! The flip side is that the rooms lacked common sense designs that were inconvenient. Examples: No place to hang your towels during or after a shower; lack of privacy when in bathroom from anyone else in room; no 'night' light so as not to disturb anyone else in room at night when using bathroom #frosted window in bathroom to bedroom#. I could go on and on about these items as it appears they focused on the 'design' rather then common sense.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mickey511
Business
nyc, ny
May 9, 2014

w lake shore

Major renovations, constructions, incl lobby, front entrance significantly compromising appearance and entrance./exit

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
midwest traveler 123
Business
midwest
Apr 29, 2014

not what i expected.

The entrance was under construction.Interested path to temporary check in desk. Thursday nite there was a sorority party on the 33 floor. (difficult to get through small area from elevator to outside, the party with music to my room)No bath/shower only. Bar and resturant small space.Too, bad they had not moved this. I ended up leaving a day early.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hubbards bar/resturant. Staff is great. Hopefully you will enjoy it as must as I did.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tim Travel's
Business
Miami,FL
Apr 22, 2014

Enjoy

The room was nice the staff was average at best, the location was very centrally located from miracle mile and walking distance to navy pier. I would recommend this hotel. Parking is a fortune!!! $69 a day that's a problem..

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
ChicagoShaun
Business
Salt Lake City, Utah
Apr 15, 2014

Renovations...

Clean, safe, and a good location. They should have told me the lobby was under a huge renovation. That's why I got such a good deal ($147/night with taxes and fees). It didn't look like they were going to finish soon. They said my room had been recently renovated but it wasn't anything special. Worst of all- no queen beds. My "double" room had two full beds. It was the cheapest place I could find, but when I saw a four star rating I thought I was getting a steal that ended up being a regular place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
adambomb
Business
New York, NY, USA
Apr 8, 2014

CLOSEST TO NAVY PIER - BUSINESS

Although the hotel was under renovation during my stay the staff was friendly and accommodating. I believe its one of the closest hotels to the Navy Pier and wasn't too bad of a walk even from the extreme east wing of the convention hall. Nice and new modern rooms made the stay that much more pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Charleston for the weeken
Business
Chapel Hill, NC
Apr 8, 2014

Not a 4-star experience.

We were not aware that the hotel was under construction. I would have appreciated being told so, but I guess they know many people wouldn't book it. Also, room was never cleaned very good. We had to ask for more shampoo. Bar staff downstairs wasn't very friendly. And way too trendy for our taste! The carpet almost make me go into a seizure. That being said, the room was gorgeous, and we had an amazing view of Lake Michigan.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Chicago Institute of Art is amazing.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
rainonlake
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Apr 5, 2014

W Chicago Lakeshore

I recommend W Hotel Lakeshore if you are active and fun loving people visiting in Chicago. W Hotel is about not only superb location but also nice staffs and valet service. Two thumbs up!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to Navy Pier where you can make wonderful memories with your love ones. Don't forget Ohio Street Beach and Olive Park to visit if you are there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Pookster12
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jan 23, 2014

Construction Ruined this Trip….Avoid until Summer 2014

I have stayed at the W several times before and I absolutely love it! The hotel is great, the staff friendly, scene is wonderful, and during the summer months its perfectly situated on the lake with great views. The decor and style is always what draws me here. However, during this stay I was greatly disappointed in all of the construction taking place. The lobby is gone, the restaurant/bar and receptionist have been placed into a back room with horrible lightening and decor during the renovation. There is no food or drinks, unless you want to order something and sit while construction goes on in a basement with no windows. Despite what floor I was on, it sounded as if the the floor or roof was being jumped, drilled, bulldozed into at all times throughout the day. I complained to the receptionists and asked what time this would end and she simply stated, "The noise will be done at 5:30 and start back at 9am tomorrow." That's it, no sorry for the inconvenience, no discount, no free drinks, meal, nothing!!! She acted like this was normal and that I should be ok with the fact that I was paying full-price for the winter season, yet couldn't even sit in my room without hearing a wall being torn down in the hotel. I couldn't relax at all and left my hotel to venture out into the negative temperatures on the streets. It was a horrible stay. Would I stay here again, NO! Which is very sad, because I have recommended this place to so many people and I myself continue to return, yet the lack of empathy or understanding for guests paying for construction is ridiculous. I could have paid less money at several other hotels, closer to Michigan Ave or the hospitals I was interviewing at, and had no noise or construction disturbances. Very disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top