$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 2, 2015 Check-out: Aug 3, 2015

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
View map of 644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
168 out of 168
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Jun 9, 2009

Nice experience!

Really great location, right by Navy Pier and walking distance to Magnificant Mile. Room service was really good and the staff was really friendly and helpful. The room had a great view of the lake and of Navy Pier. We could watch the fireworks from bed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami , Florida
Jun 8, 2009

Trendy, Windy and Cool

The ambiance was great the bar area and restaurant were spiced up with a live Dj ,, great crowd

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Northern Colorado
Jun 7, 2009

Excellent location on Navy Pier

Hotel overlooks the Navy Pier and is an easy 5 minute walk to take in the site. As with most W Hotels, be prepared for a chic, young crowd. We stayed because of the location, which didn't disappoint. We knew we would have to pay for parking since we had a rental car but weren't prepared for $48 per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a few restaraunts about two blocks from the hotel, including italian, japanese, steak and seafood and a breakfast cafe. We found lighter pub fare and a great salad menu at a place called Tim O'Toole's on the same strip. There are also Starbucks and Panera Bread shops within this walk if you are tired of higher prices.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
yusufu
Business
detroit mi
May 27, 2009

w lakeshore - unique and fun!

eclectic crowd, unique experience - i had never been to a "W" hotel before but I certainly will stay with them again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita, Kansas
May 26, 2009

Chicago - May 2009

The hotel was great, service was great and the price was right. The view was only of the next building - but at half the price well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bravehound
Business
Ottawa, ON
May 25, 2009

W Chicago - Lakeshore: great, per usual

Staff was great, as they always are at the W Hotels. Great fitness center, awesome location. Looking forward to using the pool but it was filled with lots of kids running crazy - wasn't expecting a little YMCA going on at the W :) Rest of the stay was top-notch.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the train from the airport to the Clark/Lake stop, then jump in a short cab to the hotel. Easiest way to get there and avoid traffic.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
michigan
May 25, 2009

W/Chicago

See above, They said they could not give us a lake view room even thought they were available because I booked with Orbits. I could have had it if I booked direct with them and not be charged 50$/ night. The conciere was excellant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Indiana Matt
Business
Indianapolis suburb, Indiana
May 23, 2009

Amazing view!!!

The views were amazing from the lakeview room we had. The room was more for couples as the bathroom was not very private but it was cool. Awesome beds and sheets and covers. The pool was good but a little chilly. The 33rd floor bar was good. Carly was an awesome bartender. The location was great for being downtown and right near the Navy Pier but not a lot of fun things to do at night by there. I would say a good 4 star hotel. Thanks. P.S. Parking is way overpriced at $48 a day!!! That's just not right!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Navy Pier

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nycubanpete
Business
New York, NY
May 16, 2009

Not up to W standards.....

Front desk staff with indifferent attitude....not all are aware of the hotel credit procedures. Room not up to par.....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis
May 15, 2009

not great for the price

no news paper even after several requests for three days. breakfast was not cooked, pancakes still had uncooked batter in the middle. waited for our car even after making the required phone call prior to departures.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Davin seafood was great

Back to menu Return to top