$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
View map of 644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 179
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tour guide for two days
Business
winston-salem, nc
Aug 13, 2009

modern and funky

hotel was very funky and modern. great lobby, and great rooms with good view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

good sushi right down street on ontario

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moe11
Business
IN
Aug 12, 2009

Good view, Small rooms

Everything was great, but the rooms were smaller than I expected. The dinning was a Five Star rating. Over all the hotel location was great, just min. to the Navy Peir.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 4, 2009

"Great hotel in a convenient location"

The staff was very helpful with booking a tour, giving directions, and recommending places to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Aug 3, 2009

Comfortable, trendy place to stay

This hotel is beautifully decorated. The lobby is always very lively. The elevators smell good. The bed is incredibly comfortable. There was no bathtub, only a shower. The negative aspects were that there was no coffee pot in the room (although there is complementary coffee in the lobby.) Also, the breakfast and all other food is VERY expensive. I guess they want you to get out and enjoy the food of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a short walk to the Navy Pier and do the architectural boat tour. Be sure to wear a hat!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Leavenworth, Kansas
Jul 27, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Loved the location of the hotel. Beautiful views on both sides. Walking distance to Navy Pier, downtown, close to water taxi pick-ups and eating establishment. The staff was very, very helpful, the hotel was beautiful. Not crazy about the restaurant so we just didn't eat there. We saw that there was a pool, just assumed there was a hot tub, which we would have loved to get into after a long day of walking. Very disappointed no hot tub. All in All we LOVED the Hotel and the Whole Trip. Thanks

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the Hotel Staff. They are great helpers. They have all the information you need or will find it for you. They were wonderful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Big Block Bill
Business
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Jul 26, 2009

Excellent views of Lake Michigan.

Venetian night boat parade & fire works on the lake front.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Navy pier @ you door steps!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pittsburgh, PA
Jul 15, 2009

Trendy Annoyance

If you're into the Navy Pier the W Lakeshore is in a great location...but the fun ends there. It's always busy and loud...in the lobby, in the elevator, in the rooms. The hotel has a very modern vibe which may be appealing to the eye but does nothing for the comfort of the customer. I stayed on the 16th floor and never once was there more than one elevator serving that floor (even though there were four available). For some reason there are shutters that open to the bathroom just in case your visitors want to peek in while you're taking care of business. And the cherry on the top was the 5:00 a.m. wakeup call that I received on my final morning there...even though I didn't request one. I barely received an apology.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
santa barbara
Jul 13, 2009

Loving the Chicago W-

Helpful concierge, fantastic food! We walked the 15 minutes to downtown with instructions from the concierge on where to go, where to eat, what to see...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis
Jul 13, 2009

Very Nice Hotel in great location

This hotel has a beautiful, sleek lobby and the rooms are wonderful as well. It even has rocking chairs that sit outside overlooking (a road) and then the lake. All of the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Their attitude was truly to provide anything we were needing/wanting to make our stay special. The location is wonderful as well with Michigan Ave. and many restaurants within walking distance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Try the restaurant "16" at the top of the Trump building. It is a very short cab ride away (could walk as well, but I had heels on) and the food was absolutely amazing. Very expensive, but well worth it!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Middletown, CT
Jun 30, 2009

Service and location - hard to beat!

We celebrated our 38th anniversary in Chicago. My wife had never been to the "windy city" so, staying at W Chicago Lakeshore made that experience much more enjoyable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

We walked to Sears Tower to take the Skywalk tour. We were disappointed to discover that the tours were cancelled because of high winds. We would recommend calling ahead.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top