$189 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 7, 2015

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
View map of 644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
169 out of 169
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Lake shore drive, Chicago
Nov 10, 2009

Expensive but is it worth it ?

It is an expensive hotel with a lake view but the bathrooms are small, calcium stains in the sink an d no hot water to take a shower. Wow, that really surprised me. When I called in to confirm the reservation, they told me that I have two rooms booked? But cleared the mistake after couple of calls. I still could not believe the stains in the bathroom and no hot water. I will never go back to this hotel or recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
minneapolis, mn
Nov 3, 2009

A pretty decent place to stay

Had a nice time at the hotel for the most part. The room was really nice and very clean. The Acura program was great for complimentary one-way rides, but wasn't very well advertised. The one thing I would say is to call ahead and make sure that the W isn't hosting any parties that weekend. We were there over Halloween weekend and there were people yelling outside of our hotel room until almost 3:30 in the morning, with no one from the hotel managing the noise. It was not restful at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel offers free one-way rides to anywhere within a 5 mile radius through a program with Acura. Just make sure to make reservations and know about the operating hours.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago, IL
Nov 2, 2009

This hotel stinks, not worth the price

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel because its close to Navy Pier, where we were taking an Odyssey cruise for his bday. The room was on the 16th floor with no view, just a beige wall in front of the window. But they rant and raved about their spectacular views! Yeah right, what a laugh and a half. Now granted, it was halloween night, but it was so noisy. The walls are PAPER THIN! We could hear everything the people next door were saying, on both sides. Someone was playing loud music above our floor and we could hear the bass through our pillow. I had one of the worst nights in a hotel I have ever, which is really sad, since I've stayed at hotels all over Europe (where customer service is not that great). We called the desk twice and they said both times, "we'll send up hotel security." Nothing ever happened. They didn't care. We will never recommend or stay in a W or related hotels again. For $237 total it was a true disappointment to say the least. We would have had better luck on a park bench.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Seabrook NH
Sep 16, 2009

very over priced

food and drinks were very over priced. check in lines were very long with few people available to assist. Not enough elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many reasonably priced resturants within walking distance.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Lansing, MI
Sep 2, 2009

The Best Way To Spend the Night

We came into town for a show, and the hotel was like home for the night. Service was great, the room was nice, location was great. The only thing I didn't like was that I thought we were getting a room with one king bed, but we got two double beds instead (I checked my Orbitz confirmation afterward and saw that it didn't really specify).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Navy Pier is right across the street.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
St. Paul
Aug 17, 2009

air and water show vacation

Wow...we were right on Lake Shore Drive across the street from the air and water show. Thousands of people lined the streets and beaches for this fantastic event. It was fun just being part of it all and knowing we did not have to make a long trek home at the end of the day. We could have even seen the show from our room. A perfect weekend at the perfect hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tour guide for two days
Family
winston-salem, nc
Aug 13, 2009

modern and funky

hotel was very funky and modern. great lobby, and great rooms with good view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

good sushi right down street on ontario

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moe11
Family
IN
Aug 12, 2009

Good view, Small rooms

Everything was great, but the rooms were smaller than I expected. The dinning was a Five Star rating. Over all the hotel location was great, just min. to the Navy Peir.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 4, 2009

"Great hotel in a convenient location"

The staff was very helpful with booking a tour, giving directions, and recommending places to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Family
Houston, TX
Aug 3, 2009

Comfortable, trendy place to stay

This hotel is beautifully decorated. The lobby is always very lively. The elevators smell good. The bed is incredibly comfortable. There was no bathtub, only a shower. The negative aspects were that there was no coffee pot in the room (although there is complementary coffee in the lobby.) Also, the breakfast and all other food is VERY expensive. I guess they want you to get out and enjoy the food of the city.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a short walk to the Navy Pier and do the architectural boat tour. Be sure to wear a hat!

Back to menu Return to top