$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 1, 2015 Check-out: Apr 4, 2015

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
View map of 644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
173 out of 173
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CALIFORNIA BARBIE
Business
ORANGE COUNTY, CA
Nov 1, 2012

how can you mess up "W"?

awsome cool vibe, modern touch. anything anytime. they always aim to please and never fall short. so pleased to be a gold SPG member and i encourage everyone to sign up! i brought a coworker and was confident she would be impressed and happy. the WAVE bar offered a gourmet twist on old favorite comfort foods like the 4 cheese grilled cheese and tomato soup. incredible! white smushy cheeses oozing from bread toasted in honey butter...the thick rich soup was fit to be found in the finest italian restaurants as a topping for pasta...unbelievable! i was stuffed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

NAVY PIER

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Dec 21, 2009

W Hotel Weekend Stay

The room was very small and not exceptionally clean. The view and the location of the hotel was superior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cocco Pazzo Cafe on St. Clair and Ontario Streets. Reasonable, and very flavorful Italian cuisine!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chulers
Business
Mesa, AZ
Dec 8, 2009

Hotel W Chicago

the first girl that gave us our room keys was very friendly, like you would expect from a "nicer" hotel. the rooms were smaller than i thought, i specified i wanted a king, but got 2 twin beds. when i called to see what happened they said the hotel was full and to try again the next day, then they hung up. no "i apologize for the inconvenience" "i will see what i can do" "i am very sorry, but i will let you know as soon as there is a king available" and even when i went up to the concierge (two days later) the lady had her chin in the palm of her hand leaning against the computer like she was falling asleep... when i walked up she looked at me without moving her head, just her eyes and she had a "what do you want" attitude. she was 1 out of 3 concierge ladies i would describe as trying to help instead of just kind of a whatever attitude. the two younger guys were very nice and very friendly and helpful and a nice break to the service i had been having. walls were pretty thin (its an old days inn) . maybe it was a bad weekend to be there but i was VERY disappointed with customer service. they DID make good mojitos though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

timothy o tooles

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake shore drive, Chicago
Nov 10, 2009

Expensive but is it worth it ?

It is an expensive hotel with a lake view but the bathrooms are small, calcium stains in the sink an d no hot water to take a shower. Wow, that really surprised me. When I called in to confirm the reservation, they told me that I have two rooms booked? But cleared the mistake after couple of calls. I still could not believe the stains in the bathroom and no hot water. I will never go back to this hotel or recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minneapolis, mn
Nov 3, 2009

A pretty decent place to stay

Had a nice time at the hotel for the most part. The room was really nice and very clean. The Acura program was great for complimentary one-way rides, but wasn't very well advertised. The one thing I would say is to call ahead and make sure that the W isn't hosting any parties that weekend. We were there over Halloween weekend and there were people yelling outside of our hotel room until almost 3:30 in the morning, with no one from the hotel managing the noise. It was not restful at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel offers free one-way rides to anywhere within a 5 mile radius through a program with Acura. Just make sure to make reservations and know about the operating hours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 2, 2009

This hotel stinks, not worth the price

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel because its close to Navy Pier, where we were taking an Odyssey cruise for his bday. The room was on the 16th floor with no view, just a beige wall in front of the window. But they rant and raved about their spectacular views! Yeah right, what a laugh and a half. Now granted, it was halloween night, but it was so noisy. The walls are PAPER THIN! We could hear everything the people next door were saying, on both sides. Someone was playing loud music above our floor and we could hear the bass through our pillow. I had one of the worst nights in a hotel I have ever, which is really sad, since I've stayed at hotels all over Europe (where customer service is not that great). We called the desk twice and they said both times, "we'll send up hotel security." Nothing ever happened. They didn't care. We will never recommend or stay in a W or related hotels again. For $237 total it was a true disappointment to say the least. We would have had better luck on a park bench.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seabrook NH
Sep 16, 2009

very over priced

food and drinks were very over priced. check in lines were very long with few people available to assist. Not enough elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many reasonably priced resturants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lansing, MI
Sep 2, 2009

The Best Way To Spend the Night

We came into town for a show, and the hotel was like home for the night. Service was great, the room was nice, location was great. The only thing I didn't like was that I thought we were getting a room with one king bed, but we got two double beds instead (I checked my Orbitz confirmation afterward and saw that it didn't really specify).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Navy Pier is right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul
Aug 17, 2009

air and water show vacation

Wow...we were right on Lake Shore Drive across the street from the air and water show. Thousands of people lined the streets and beaches for this fantastic event. It was fun just being part of it all and knowing we did not have to make a long trek home at the end of the day. We could have even seen the show from our room. A perfect weekend at the perfect hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tour guide for two days
Business
winston-salem, nc
Aug 13, 2009

modern and funky

hotel was very funky and modern. great lobby, and great rooms with good view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

good sushi right down street on ontario

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
moe11
Business
IN
Aug 12, 2009

Good view, Small rooms

Everything was great, but the rooms were smaller than I expected. The dinning was a Five Star rating. Over all the hotel location was great, just min. to the Navy Peir.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top