$180 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
241 reviews
Great hotel

Been to the W hotel several times and enjoy each visit. See full review

  • JCCC
  • Jul 2, 2014
W Chicago Lakeshore

I recommend W Hotel Lakeshore if you are active and fun loving people visiting in Chicago. W Hotel... See full review

  • rainonlake
  • Apr 5, 2014
Setting the standard for cool

Find lake views and a front-door beach at this fashionable Chicago hotel that oozes cool lounge appeal. When guests are not cooing over Lake Michigan or the light show at Navy Pier, the W Chicago - Lakeshore hotel captivates with extras like inventive Mediterranean cuisine at Wave, scenic cocktails from the 33rd floor at Whiskey Sky and luxe treatments at Bliss spa. Step outside onto Lake Michigan's shores, walk to Navy Pier or stroll along Chicago's lakefront path from this swank urban residence.

Highlights
  • At water's edge -- Lake Michigan and the beach sit outside the front door
  • City views and cocktails at Whiskey Sky nightclub, sleek urban dining at the Mediterranean-inspired Wave restaurant
  • Bliss Spa, a 9,600-square-foot oasis for pampering
  • Heated indoor pool with scenic lakefront views
  • AAA 2009 Diamond award winner features sultry, Zen-like rooms
Rooms
Inside the rooms at the W Chicago – Lakeshore hotel, guests find plush fabrics in deep shades of eggplant, chocolate and bright white, plus sweet extras like votive candles, CDs from the W library, 32-inch flat-screen TV and Bliss bath products. Wireless high-speed Internet access is available in guest rooms (fees apply).
Features

If the famed brownie bar inside Bliss Spa doesn't have you at hello, then the Triple Oxygen Facials or Blissages will. After relaxing and recharging, hit Wave for innovative cuisine or Whiskey Sky for signature cocktails and club beats in an intimate room featuring panoramic views.

Chic décor and city style at the lakefront hotel don't stop in design-savvy rooms. The W Chicago – Lakeshore hotel offers 15 meeting rooms, including a spectacular rooftop banquet room with slanted floor-to-ceiling windows. Take a dip in the hotel's heated pool perched above Lake Michigan or set out for a stroll along the water's edge. The W Chicago – Lakeshore hotel positions guests for a stylish Chicago experience.  

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (15.7 mi/25.7 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Blue Line (Chicago) (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (3.2 mi/5.2 km)

Attractions
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Lake Michigan (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Navy Pier (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Millennium Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Grant Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The Art Institute of Chicago (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 15 meeting rooms
  • Plasma screens, high-speed Internet, Wi-Fi, state-of-the-art audio/visual equipment
Policies and Fees
  • Starting 1 Jul, the hotel will charge parking fees as follows: $24 USD per two hours; $31 USD per six hours and $60 USD per 24 hours
  • The hotel does not accept guests below 21 years old.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

W Chicago Lakeshore Rooms

Fantastic Suite
The outrageous view of the city in this two bedroom suite lets you and your guests spy on the city from every angle. Socialize in the parlor's entertainment space, popping in a favorite flick on the living room's 32" TV. Or hand-pick a CD from the W library to set the mood while lounging on the sofa or the unique U-shaped chaise lounge.

Amenities

  • Heated pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Activities
Heated pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Wake-up service
Multilingual
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Boutiques
Porters
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
DVD player
Radio
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Chicago Lakeshore also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8939 -87.6156
Area served
.
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, Mile; Chicago OHare International Airport, (ORD), 18.00, Mile
Area description
City

Nearby points of interest

  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (241)

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
241 out of 241
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenn Marie
Crow n Point, Indiana
Jul 2, 2013

Great Place for 40th birthday

Summer in Chicago is awesome and our location couldn't have been better. We spent the weekend walking the lake front, through Grant Park, Millennium Park, and the famous Magnificent Mile. We had a lake front room with a spectacular view. It was perfect. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy, Chief Vacation Officer (CVO)
Galesburg, IL
Nov 14, 2010

Bumpy family getaway

When we arrived at the W-Lakeshore Dr, Chicago, they found our reservation but it was for only one night. We had booked two nights through [...]. It took them a half hour to finally get us a room even though I had brought my copy of the [...] confirmation. At breakfast, my daughter had eggs and toast that came unbuttered - I requested butter - it didn't come - I waited 10 minutes before finally calling a waiter over and requesting new warm toast with butter. Our room key did not work - went to the front desk twice for that - it still never worked. We used my husband's and I made sure not to leave the room while he was out. For the vast amounts of money two nights cost us, I would have thought that things would go a little smoother and that the people who worked there would have cared a little more. Other than that, you really cannot beat the views, the ability to walk to the lake and Navy Pier, and the room was very nice. Despite some hiccups, we enjoyed ourselves immensely!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

To save money, take a short walk from the hotel and you'll find a ton of really neat, exotic or standard fare, and reasonably priced restaurants.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Oct 11, 2010

Good Hotel

Internet access is not included in the room rate and costs an additional ~$14.00 per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Antonio, TX
Oct 11, 2010

Good Hotel

Internet access is not included in the room rate and costs an additional ~$14.00 per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Scottsdale AZ
Jul 24, 2010

Great Chicago spot

We have stayed @ the W in Chicago before. The service this trip was the best we have had. Can't beat the location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The city is at your doorstep @ the W.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Scottsdale AZ
Jul 24, 2010

Great Chicago spot

We have stayed @ the W in Chicago before. The service this trip was the best we have had. Can't beat the location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The city is at your doorstep @ the W.

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MIB
Illinois
Jul 19, 2010

The good, the bad & the really ugly!

Upon arrival very unfriendly (only 1 person available)desk personnel, very chaotic, couldn't find a bellman to check our luggage, room was not ready. Very overpriced, terrible view, requested lake view, king size [...]! No upgrade available. Would never stay here again! Very noisy and full of partying kids. We are Starwood Preferred Gold & Centurian!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MIB
Illinois
Jul 19, 2010

The good, the bad & the really ugly!

Upon arrival very unfriendly (only 1 person available)desk personnel, very chaotic, couldn't find a bellman to check our luggage, room was not ready. Very overpriced, terrible view, requested lake view, king size [...]! No upgrade available. Would never stay here again! Very noisy and full of partying kids. We are Starwood Preferred Gold & Centurian!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lmark33322
Chicago, IL
Jul 8, 2010

W Chicago - Lakeshore

We stayed in the basic room and I think wen't in with to high of expectations because of seeing the other rooms available. The basic room was nice and original, but was thinking it would have had more of the WOW factor. Overall the room was very nice though. The wait for elevators was usually long, prices for the snack in the room were rediculously high, pool was smaller than expected, and the bar on the 33rd was small. The bar was dark and cozy looking, but if you didn't get there first you had to stand in the middle of the room.The hotel also billed my credit card even after I've paid through [...](the full amount).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lmark33322
Chicago, IL
Jul 8, 2010

W Chicago - Lakeshore

We stayed in the basic room and I think wen't in with to high of expectations because of seeing the other rooms available. The basic room was nice and original, but was thinking it would have had more of the WOW factor. Overall the room was very nice though. The wait for elevators was usually long, prices for the snack in the room were rediculously high, pool was smaller than expected, and the bar on the 33rd was small. The bar was dark and cozy looking, but if you didn't get there first you had to stand in the middle of the room.The hotel also billed my credit card even after I've paid through [...](the full amount).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Indiana
Jun 27, 2010

Kat

Navy Pier, parks, Michigan Ave are all just steps away. Spend the extra money for a lake view room - awesome. Whiskey Sky is small and intimate.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Navy Pier has it all.

Back to menu Return to top