$192 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 24, 2014 Check-out: Oct 26, 2014

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
165 reviews
Great

Nice hotel loved my view would recommend this hotel to anyone See full review

  • Gambinokevin
  • Aug 28, 2014
Loved it!

Stayed the weekend at this hotel & loved it! Great location. See full review

  • Kar Bear from Canada
  • Jul 29, 2014
Setting the standard for cool

Find lake views and a front-door beach at this fashionable Chicago hotel that oozes cool lounge appeal. When guests are not cooing over Lake Michigan or the light show at Navy Pier, the W Chicago - Lakeshore hotel captivates with extras like inventive Mediterranean cuisine at Wave, scenic cocktails from the 33rd floor at Whiskey Sky and luxe treatments at Bliss spa. Step outside onto Lake Michigan's shores, walk to Navy Pier or stroll along Chicago's lakefront path from this swank urban residence.

Highlights
  • At water's edge -- Lake Michigan and the beach sit outside the front door
  • City views and cocktails at Whiskey Sky nightclub, sleek urban dining at the Mediterranean-inspired Wave restaurant
  • Bliss Spa, a 9,600-square-foot oasis for pampering
  • Heated indoor pool with scenic lakefront views
  • AAA 2009 Diamond award winner features sultry, Zen-like rooms
Rooms
Inside the rooms at the W Chicago – Lakeshore hotel, guests find plush fabrics in deep shades of eggplant, chocolate and bright white, plus sweet extras like votive candles, CDs from the W library, 32-inch flat-screen TV and Bliss bath products. Wireless high-speed Internet access is available in guest rooms (fees apply).
Features

If the famed brownie bar inside Bliss Spa doesn't have you at hello, then the Triple Oxygen Facials or Blissages will. After relaxing and recharging, hit Wave for innovative cuisine or Whiskey Sky for signature cocktails and club beats in an intimate room featuring panoramic views.

Chic décor and city style at the lakefront hotel don't stop in design-savvy rooms. The W Chicago – Lakeshore hotel offers 15 meeting rooms, including a spectacular rooftop banquet room with slanted floor-to-ceiling windows. Take a dip in the hotel's heated pool perched above Lake Michigan or set out for a stroll along the water's edge. The W Chicago – Lakeshore hotel positions guests for a stylish Chicago experience.  

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (15.7 mi/25.7 km)
  • Midway Airport (9.9 mi/16 km)
  • Blue Line (Chicago) (1.1 mi/1.8 km)
  • Orange Line (State/Lake) (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (3.2 mi/5.2 km)

Attractions
  • The Magnificent Mile (0.4 mi/0.6 km)
  • Lake Michigan (0.5 mi/0.8 km)
  • Navy Pier (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Millennium Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • Grant Park (1 mi/1.6 km)
  • The Art Institute of Chicago (1.2 mi/2 km)
Business
  • 15 meeting rooms
  • Plasma screens, high-speed Internet, Wi-Fi, state-of-the-art audio/visual equipment
Policies and Fees
  • Starting 1 Jul, the hotel will charge parking fees as follows: $24 USD per two hours; $31 USD per six hours and $60 USD per 24 hours
  • The hotel does not accept guests below 21 years old.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8939 -87.6156
Area served
.
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.00, Mile; Chicago OHare International Airport, (ORD), 18.00, Mile
Area description
City

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Chicago Lakeshore also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

W Chicago Lakeshore Rooms

Fantastic Suite
The outrageous view of the city in this two bedroom suite lets you and your guests spy on the city from every angle. Socialize in the parlor's entertainment space, popping in a favorite flick on the living room's 32" TV. Or hand-pick a CD from the W library to set the mood while lounging on the sofa or the unique U-shaped chaise lounge.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Pool
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Concierge desk
ATM/Cash machine
Wake-up service
Doorman
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
DVD player
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.2 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.4 mi
  • Children Museum: 0.4 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.5 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.5 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.5 mi
  • Navy Pier: 0.5 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.6 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.9 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.9 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Macys: 0.9 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.9 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 1 mi
  • State Street: 1 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Symphony Center: 1.1 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 1.1 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 1.3 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 1.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (165)

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
165 out of 165
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jenn Marie
Crow n Point, Indiana
Jul 2, 2013

Great Place for 40th birthday

Summer in Chicago is awesome and our location couldn't have been better. We spent the weekend walking the lake front, through Grant Park, Millennium Park, and the famous Magnificent Mile. We had a lake front room with a spectacular view. It was perfect. We would definitely stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa City, IA
Mar 7, 2010

W Hotel - Lake Shore

Great, it is an awesome hotel. Talk to the concierge and they will set you up with just about whatever you want for dinner, drinks, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Naha Restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 21, 2010

Upscale and Friendly Staff!

Right from the time we arrived we were greeted with very friendly staff. The decor in the lobby and the room was very upscale. Our room was clean and had an incredible view of lake Michigan and Navy Pier. The down side was that the bathroom had a sliding door that had a gap in it as well as a window in the bathroom wall facing the living area that only had wood shutters on it. This was not very private when sharing a room with 3 other people! The pool was kind of small and had no hot tub. the Bliss spa had great services although they were sort of pricey for what you got. Overall a great experience!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a few great restaurants a few blocks west for breakfast, lunch and dinner. They offer really great prices and excellent food and serving sizes!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Dec 21, 2009

W Hotel Weekend Stay

The room was very small and not exceptionally clean. The view and the location of the hotel was superior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cocco Pazzo Cafe on St. Clair and Ontario Streets. Reasonable, and very flavorful Italian cuisine!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chulers
Business
Mesa, AZ
Dec 8, 2009

Hotel W Chicago

the first girl that gave us our room keys was very friendly, like you would expect from a "nicer" hotel. the rooms were smaller than i thought, i specified i wanted a king, but got 2 twin beds. when i called to see what happened they said the hotel was full and to try again the next day, then they hung up. no "i apologize for the inconvenience" "i will see what i can do" "i am very sorry, but i will let you know as soon as there is a king available" and even when i went up to the concierge (two days later) the lady had her chin in the palm of her hand leaning against the computer like she was falling asleep... when i walked up she looked at me without moving her head, just her eyes and she had a "what do you want" attitude. she was 1 out of 3 concierge ladies i would describe as trying to help instead of just kind of a whatever attitude. the two younger guys were very nice and very friendly and helpful and a nice break to the service i had been having. walls were pretty thin (its an old days inn) . maybe it was a bad weekend to be there but i was VERY disappointed with customer service. they DID make good mojitos though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

timothy o tooles

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake shore drive, Chicago
Nov 10, 2009

Expensive but is it worth it ?

It is an expensive hotel with a lake view but the bathrooms are small, calcium stains in the sink an d no hot water to take a shower. Wow, that really surprised me. When I called in to confirm the reservation, they told me that I have two rooms booked? But cleared the mistake after couple of calls. I still could not believe the stains in the bathroom and no hot water. I will never go back to this hotel or recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
minneapolis, mn
Nov 3, 2009

A pretty decent place to stay

Had a nice time at the hotel for the most part. The room was really nice and very clean. The Acura program was great for complimentary one-way rides, but wasn't very well advertised. The one thing I would say is to call ahead and make sure that the W isn't hosting any parties that weekend. We were there over Halloween weekend and there were people yelling outside of our hotel room until almost 3:30 in the morning, with no one from the hotel managing the noise. It was not restful at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The hotel offers free one-way rides to anywhere within a 5 mile radius through a program with Acura. Just make sure to make reservations and know about the operating hours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Nov 2, 2009

This hotel stinks, not worth the price

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel because its close to Navy Pier, where we were taking an Odyssey cruise for his bday. The room was on the 16th floor with no view, just a beige wall in front of the window. But they rant and raved about their spectacular views! Yeah right, what a laugh and a half. Now granted, it was halloween night, but it was so noisy. The walls are PAPER THIN! We could hear everything the people next door were saying, on both sides. Someone was playing loud music above our floor and we could hear the bass through our pillow. I had one of the worst nights in a hotel I have ever, which is really sad, since I've stayed at hotels all over Europe (where customer service is not that great). We called the desk twice and they said both times, "we'll send up hotel security." Nothing ever happened. They didn't care. We will never recommend or stay in a W or related hotels again. For $237 total it was a true disappointment to say the least. We would have had better luck on a park bench.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seabrook NH
Sep 16, 2009

very over priced

food and drinks were very over priced. check in lines were very long with few people available to assist. Not enough elevators.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many reasonably priced resturants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lansing, MI
Sep 2, 2009

The Best Way To Spend the Night

We came into town for a show, and the hotel was like home for the night. Service was great, the room was nice, location was great. The only thing I didn't like was that I thought we were getting a room with one king bed, but we got two double beds instead (I checked my Orbitz confirmation afterward and saw that it didn't really specify).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Navy Pier is right across the street.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Paul
Aug 17, 2009

air and water show vacation

Wow...we were right on Lake Shore Drive across the street from the air and water show. Thousands of people lined the streets and beaches for this fantastic event. It was fun just being part of it all and knowing we did not have to make a long trek home at the end of the day. We could have even seen the show from our room. A perfect weekend at the perfect hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top