$197 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 3, 2015 Check-out: Aug 4, 2015

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
View map of 644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
168 out of 168
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
HUNTINGTON BEACH, CA
Jun 7, 2010

W LAKESHORE

Everyhting was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Cub Fan for a Day
Business
Phoenix, Arizona
Jun 3, 2010

Friendly, helpful staff

Across the street from Navy Pier, park and beach; Close to several restaurants and bars; Short taxi ride north to Wrigley Stadium or south to McComick Place, Field Museum,Shedd Aquarium and downtown.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
foreverfit
Business
Stlouis Mo
May 31, 2010

Simply the worst experience ever

Requested King size room, [...] gave us a double bed. The rooms had stains all over the sheets, service was incredibly slow, food came out cold several times. Security tried to break into our room, staff was not helpfull. Only good thing about this hotel is the lakefront view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Elgin, Il
May 2, 2010

Birthday Trip

We had a wonderful time . We did a all-day tour of Chicago, Had dinner and danced on the dinner cruise on the Navy Pier cruiser Odyssey beautiful ship. Just a few blocks from the hotel. The hotel is close to everything you need to enjoy Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
detroit,mi
Apr 4, 2010

shopping trip

the w hotel is by far one of the best hotels i stayed in! Great customer service, clean and quiet rooms

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

michigan avenue is 3-5 blocks away!!! everything is at your convience if you love to shop however chicago sales tax is over 10 percent so make sure u bring lots of cash

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portage IN
Mar 14, 2010

Title is correct

Check in was speedy and a good experience. The room while not dirty was anything but clean. Gift/welcome basket missing from room. Very noisy guests next door, walls appeared paper thin. Have stayed at this location before this is why we went back, not a good experience this time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Iowa City, IA
Mar 7, 2010

W Hotel - Lake Shore

Great, it is an awesome hotel. Talk to the concierge and they will set you up with just about whatever you want for dinner, drinks, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Naha Restaurant

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
Feb 21, 2010

Upscale and Friendly Staff!

Right from the time we arrived we were greeted with very friendly staff. The decor in the lobby and the room was very upscale. Our room was clean and had an incredible view of lake Michigan and Navy Pier. The down side was that the bathroom had a sliding door that had a gap in it as well as a window in the bathroom wall facing the living area that only had wood shutters on it. This was not very private when sharing a room with 3 other people! The pool was kind of small and had no hot tub. the Bliss spa had great services although they were sort of pricey for what you got. Overall a great experience!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are a few great restaurants a few blocks west for breakfast, lunch and dinner. They offer really great prices and excellent food and serving sizes!

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
chulers
Business
Mesa, AZ
Dec 8, 2009

Hotel W Chicago

the first girl that gave us our room keys was very friendly, like you would expect from a "nicer" hotel. the rooms were smaller than i thought, i specified i wanted a king, but got 2 twin beds. when i called to see what happened they said the hotel was full and to try again the next day, then they hung up. no "i apologize for the inconvenience" "i will see what i can do" "i am very sorry, but i will let you know as soon as there is a king available" and even when i went up to the concierge (two days later) the lady had her chin in the palm of her hand leaning against the computer like she was falling asleep... when i walked up she looked at me without moving her head, just her eyes and she had a "what do you want" attitude. she was 1 out of 3 concierge ladies i would describe as trying to help instead of just kind of a whatever attitude. the two younger guys were very nice and very friendly and helpful and a nice break to the service i had been having. walls were pretty thin (its an old days inn) . maybe it was a bad weekend to be there but i was VERY disappointed with customer service. they DID make good mojitos though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

timothy o tooles

Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lake shore drive, Chicago
Nov 10, 2009

Expensive but is it worth it ?

It is an expensive hotel with a lake view but the bathrooms are small, calcium stains in the sink an d no hot water to take a shower. Wow, that really surprised me. When I called in to confirm the reservation, they told me that I have two rooms booked? But cleared the mistake after couple of calls. I still could not believe the stains in the bathroom and no hot water. I will never go back to this hotel or recommend it to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top