$182 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 8, 2015 Check-out: May 11, 2015

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
View map of 644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
174 out of 174
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.5

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Pa.
Jan 25, 2011

Hockey vacation in the windy city.

Staff was friendly, hotel clean and upscale. Good location for travel thruout the city. Bathrooms a little small, needed heater. Overall good time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hois
Business
Cleveland OH
Jan 18, 2011

The W Chicago - Navy Pier

Fairly quiet hotel until the wee hours of the weekend. Walls are definitely not soundproof & I was awakened by voices which sounded like they were in the room with me on both Friday & Saturday night. Staff was friendly & helpful, especially Lois. Hotel is a brief walk to Navy Pier or to stores on Michigan avenue.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The best ever breakfast was at Yokes - on the corner one block west & one block south

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
warsmed
Business
nashville, tn
Jan 17, 2011

w lakeshore

Good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Edina, Minnesota
Jan 10, 2011

Chi town

Great spot, awesome time, ideal location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cabs are easiest, especially in winter

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Oregon
Dec 21, 2010

Nice and great service.

I have stayed at this hotel several times, but was very disappointed that my package included free parking and two cocktails, which were not honored at the reception desk. Parking was $54/night. I feel some compensation is in order.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Dec 13, 2010

Nice hotel and location

When checking in, the person at the desk was very helpful with suggestions and recommendations. He also upgraded our room from 2 double beds to a king sized bed for no up-charge. The hotel is very clean and trendy. The room was nice with a comfy bed, the only complaint I had about the room was that the bathroom was lacking privacy. There was a sliding pocket door and a "window" between the bathroom and bedroom with wooden shutters that could be closed but they did not block out any sound or much light. Location was great and within walking distance of a lot of restaurants and shops. Unfortunately when we were there, the weather was not great so we did not get to do much sightseeing. The hotel has a program through Acura that if you want to go somewhere within 5 miles, they will drive you there at no charge. We would stay again and recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Amy, Chief Vacation Officer (CVO)
Business
Galesburg, IL
Nov 14, 2010

Bumpy family getaway

When we arrived at the W-Lakeshore Dr, Chicago, they found our reservation but it was for only one night. We had booked two nights through [...]. It took them a half hour to finally get us a room even though I had brought my copy of the [...] confirmation. At breakfast, my daughter had eggs and toast that came unbuttered - I requested butter - it didn't come - I waited 10 minutes before finally calling a waiter over and requesting new warm toast with butter. Our room key did not work - went to the front desk twice for that - it still never worked. We used my husband's and I made sure not to leave the room while he was out. For the vast amounts of money two nights cost us, I would have thought that things would go a little smoother and that the people who worked there would have cared a little more. Other than that, you really cannot beat the views, the ability to walk to the lake and Navy Pier, and the room was very nice. Despite some hiccups, we enjoyed ourselves immensely!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

To save money, take a short walk from the hotel and you'll find a ton of really neat, exotic or standard fare, and reasonably priced restaurants.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Antonio, TX
Oct 11, 2010

Good Hotel

Internet access is not included in the room rate and costs an additional ~$14.00 per day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Scottsdale AZ
Jul 24, 2010

Great Chicago spot

We have stayed @ the W in Chicago before. The service this trip was the best we have had. Can't beat the location!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

The city is at your doorstep @ the W.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
MIB
Business
Illinois
Jul 19, 2010

The good, the bad & the really ugly!

Upon arrival very unfriendly (only 1 person available)desk personnel, very chaotic, couldn't find a bellman to check our luggage, room was not ready. Very overpriced, terrible view, requested lake view, king size [...]! No upgrade available. Would never stay here again! Very noisy and full of partying kids. We are Starwood Preferred Gold & Centurian!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top