$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

W Chicago Lakeshore

4 stars
View map of 644 North Lake Shore Drive, Chicago, IL 60611-3017

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago Lakeshore

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
179 out of 179
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alex787
Shaker Hts
Nov 18, 2013

W Stay

Very good say, restaurant could have a better menu however.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
AMills
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Aug 29, 2011

Great location

Not the most updated W; but nonetheless, a fantastic location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
John67778990
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Aug 22, 2011

cubs/cards in Chicago

It was ordinary nothing great but nothing bad. The other W is far superior in chicago, The location is not as good either. I would not stay at this hotel again bottom line. The staff is also incompetent. I went shopping on michigan Ave and went to the cubs/cards baseball game.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

stay at the other W in Chicago

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Las Vegas
Jul 30, 2011

Location is everything !

It was a great bargain ! right on the lake ! staff was great and excellent free car service by Acura! wonderful view of the lake from our room. Only negative thing was they nickle and dime you to use the business room. Would definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Jul 19, 2011

Great location

Very lively hotel in great part of town. Easily can walk to Navy Pier, Ohio St beach, Michigan avenue. Close to 2 really good breakfast places. Did not try hotel restaurant. Desk and concierge were extremely helpful, friendly, efficient. Overall vibe of the hotel was excellent: most staff and guests were neat, young, energetic. Very lively lobby scene. Easy to get cabs. room was not the Four Seasons, but decor was up to date and modern. Room was clean. Bathroom excellent. Decent size flat screen TV and wireless internet. Gym average, but all equipment seemed new and well maintained. Indoor pool looked OK but did not use it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jul 15, 2011

Everything I Needed

After a tough flight/schedule getting into Chicago, arriving at The W was just what I needed. The atmosphere and the people set things right and before too long I was relaxed and ready to take in the sites and sounds of the city. The W on Lakeshore is located within walking distance of Rush St. and the Navy Pier, and the view from the 26th floor was awesome from both sides of the building - my room looked out over the city, and while waiting for the elevators you get an awesome view of the pier with its ferris wheel and other oddities. After I was settled, I walked to Hugo's Frog Bar on Rush and took in a fantastic meal while watching the MLB home run derby - Big Papi and Gonzalez were in contention until Cano broke it open. The steak was OUTSTANDING and the service was great. Definitely needed the walk back to the hotel after that. All in all, great experience at The W.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Just walk to Rush and you'll have plenty of dining and drinking choices.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Switzerland
Jul 12, 2011

W Chicago

I was not disappointed. Friendly and helpful staff. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Eastern Pennsylvania
Jun 24, 2011

One Night in Chicago

We were in Chicago for my daughter's graduation from her medical residency. The festivities were to take place at the W, so we thought it would be good to stay at the same place. The location is convenient to many of the city attractions and right across from Navy Pier. Everything about it is pricey, but the standard of service was excellent. Our room was comfortable with a city view. The food at the celebration dinner was average at best. Surprising that the standard of quality of everything else didn't spill over to the food. The view was fabulous from the 33rd floor dining room.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Unless you are on an unlimited expense account, find local restaurants with more ambiance and better food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Memphis, TN
Jun 21, 2011

A Must Stay At Again

The room was awesome, we loved the bathroom and the view was breathe taken. The fireworks felts as though I was watching them upfront and in personal. The location was very good for doing any thing and everything you wanted to do. The staff was friendly and courteous. The 33rd floor was the bomb. My stay was Tony da Tiger Great!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

catch a cab do not rent a car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Phoenix, AZ
May 14, 2011

Hip, Fun, great location

We were in Chicago for an event at Navy Pier. We thought the hotel was closer to the pier but we needed to take a cab to the ballroom, around $10, not bad. Worth it as we were in heels ;-) The hotel staff was very friendly ans concierge provided great recommendations. Nice hip crowd. Close to Mich and Rush, Would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

ENO wine bar on the magnificent mile. Great abstract selections. Super fresh cheeses and delicious charcuterie. YUM. Nice ambience as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Madrid, Spain
Apr 22, 2011

Very nice price-quality hotel

The images shown on the website are not fair, the room is much better to what can be thought through the pics

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

You have to go to Premium Outlet, 45min by car.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top