$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 25, 2014 Check-out: Dec 28, 2014

W Chicago - City Center

4 stars
172 West Adams Street, 172 West Adams Street, Chicago, IL 60603-3604
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
84 reviews
Great couple getaway

Friendly Staff, clean and spacious rooms. W Chicago city center is the place to stay! See full review

  • Maria Isabel
  • Jun 17, 2014
Great Time

Staff was wonderful - location was convient. Music for lobby was different but I'd recommend to any... See full review

  • Bus Traveler to Chicago
  • Mar 7, 2014
Beaux-arts glamour in the Loop

Awash in spotlights and marked by a big red W, this Loop hotel makes a fashionable statement in the Windy City. Fusing modern touches with classic Chicago architecture, the AAA four diamond property drips with drama. From the grand lobby boasting marble pillars and a vaulted ceiling, there's a sense of history at the W Chicago City Center with a nod to Chicago's role in modern architecture. Guest rooms ooze signature Starwood style, while a convenient location in the Financial District near theaters appeals to business and leisure travelers.

Highlights
  • Located in the heart of the Financial District
  • Close to landmarks like Willis Tower, theater district and the Art Institute
  • Urban chic guest rooms
  • DJ-driven bar and specialty cocktails in The Living Room Bar
  • 24-hour amenities like room service, a business center, SWEAT fitness center and a DVD library
Rooms

Jewel-toned colored accent pieces like purple chaises and red throw pillows contrast white walls and linens in minimalist studio and suite-sized guest rooms. Like all W properties, the rooms, which vary in layout depending on the floor, are stocked with standards like Bliss spa products and plump W feather beds with pillow-top mattresses. Crisp 350-count sheets and down comforters invite after a long day of business meetings. Suites mimic hip city apartments with wet bars, parlors and sleek 42-inch flat-screen TVs.

Features

The Living Room Bar skews to professionals who would rather people-watch and listen to the DJ set than spend an evening alone in their room. The bar, with a gold-leaf ceiling and ivory leather arm chairs, is the place to linger with a martini or consult your smartphone. Wireless access is free in the lobby.

Given its location near the Board of Trade and Chicago Mercantile Exchange, IPO, which stands for initial public offering, certainly deserves the award for best-named restaurant in Chicago. Flavorwise, expect contemporary dishes that trot the globe, including small plates such as seared scallops with chorizo, sofrito and chervil, plus chocolate and popcorn with peaches, mint, brown butter, corn sorbet and fleur de sel.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (18 miles)
  • Midway Airport (11 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Jackson to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Quincy/Wells to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (8 minutes)
Attractions
  • Chicago Board of Trade
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange
  • Loop
  • Cadillac Palace Theater
  • State Street
  • Jewelers Row
  • Millennium Park
Business
  • 10 function rooms covering 12,000 square feet
  • 24-hour business center with Mac and IBM computers, high-speed Internet access, copy, print, scan and faxing capabilities
  • Cisco TelePrescence Suite available for teleconferencing offsite employees around the world
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Meeting specialists to plan events
Policies and Fees
  • Starting 1 Jul, the hotel will charge parking fees as follows: $24 USD per two hours; $31 USD per six hours and $60 USD per 24 hours
  • The hotel does not accept guests below 21 years old.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Chicago - City Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

W Chicago - City Center Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Union Station: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Union Station: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.5 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.7 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 0.9 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.1 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 1.2 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.2 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1.4 mi

Dining

IPO
Hello, downtown decadence. Welcome to IPO, which boasts new urban cuisine and contemporary American flavors. With the Loop as its backdrop, it’s a favorite for the downtown 9-5 set and theater-goers.
The Living Room Bar
Not your ordinary living room. DJs, games, wireless high speed internet access, a colorful W Signature drink list, and full bottle service will keep you entertained for hours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago - City Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 84
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ALP83
Business
IL
Aug 23, 2009

DO NOT stay here!

I will preface this review by saying I am NOT a picky traveler. I have been all over the world and usually take the accomodations for what they are. The W claims to be a four star hotel with world class service and wonderful rooms. I beg to differ. I have stayed at hostels in developing countries that offer more comfortable surroundings. I will say, the staff is friendly, but that's where the positive comments end. We were first placed in a room on the 11th floor, right next to the fire escape. The lights in the room flickered, the bed was a full, it was dingy, and resembled a college dorm room (a bad one). All together disappointing. We called to the front desk to ask if they had something available that was slightly larger and less depressing. After 45 minutes, we got a call back from the front desk saying we were being moved to a "WONDERFUL king suite". We walked into our wonderful suite and couldn't help but laugh. The bed took up the entire room, and the bathroom was (and I'm not exaggerating) 4 x 6. Luckily, we are both small, because there is no possible way someone over 150lbs could fit in there. I struggled to walk in and close the door behind me. Honestly, I have never been so uncomfortable or felt more ripped off by a hotel. There are SO many better options in Chicago. Yes, the lobby is trendy and fun, but not worth it. Spend the extra $50 - $100 and stay elsewhere. You won't regret it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis
Dec 14, 2009

Tiny Room

When the porter brought my luggage to the room my wife was in the bathroom. To my dismay I found out you can not open the room door with the bathroom door closed. So for 5 minutes I had to talk to the guy through the door to tell him I couldn't open the door due to my wife in the bathroom. The conversation sounded like a comedy routine. I have never been in a room that did not have a closet or a dresser. Where are you supposed to store your clothes? The lobby is beautiful and very trendy but I don't sleep in the lobby. Due to this I would not return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sully27
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Nov 22, 2011

Tiny, tiny room

The hotel room was very tiny. Forget about sharing the bathroom with anyone else, let alone be comfortable in there by yourself. The hotel had a nice decor but that didn't make up for the room size. While staying there my boyfriend and I had breakfast in the adjoining restaurant. The food was good but don't get coffee in there, we got charged $8 for two cups of coffee. For that price I could have gone to Starbucks and at least gotten espresso. The Acura Experience was nice but it only takes you to your destination, it does not pick you up from there. This will definitely not be my first choice of places to stay when going back to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dougie fresh of MN
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 5, 2012

Nice Weekend Away

The hotel was clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Bar was dismal on weekend. Location was a little far away from the action so lots of walking was involved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
grafguy86
Business
St. Louis, MO
Oct 23, 2012

Poor Room Value

I understand that this hotel is in downtown chicago, but the room was tiny, and looked no nicer than a Holiday Inn Express. Other rooms looked really cool and updated, but ours looked like it was stuck in the 90s...everything was tan/beige color. Overall poor value for the price you pay. Additionally a room was not available to us at check in and we had to wait 45 minutes to get a room. Luckily they gave us some free drink tickets so we had something to do while we waited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JaneDavid
Business
NYC
Nov 4, 2013

ok, but

Two compalints. First, was morning coffee. When it ran out on Saturday morning at 8:30am it took 20 minutes after stadff was told urn was empty before the urn was re-filled. One conciege is not enough at certian times. Otherwise, everything was fine but nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Keeter
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 24, 2010

Nice but noisy!!

The hotel is wonderful EXCEPT that it's right on the El train tracks! We were on the 20th floor, in room 2019, and it sounded like the train was right outside the window. The sound must be ricocheting off the other buildings. We were woken up several times during the night. Reminded me of that episode of I Love Lucy... Haha! Other than that the hotel is great! Nice rooms. Excellent staff. The bar is pricy! Weirdly enough, the same drinks are $2 cheaper at W Lakeshore. Cool feature is a partnership with Acura. You can schedule with the front desk for drop offs at locations around town instead of taking a cab. Probably saved $30 in cabs over the weekend. Bliss products in the bathrooms rocked!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cibo Matto! Amazing Italian restaurant at The Wit. Also definitely go to their rooftop deck for before / after dinner drinks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 26, 2010

Nice Hotel

Just wasn't what I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go out to eat and drink,save some money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
WV
Aug 16, 2009

W City Center

Very young professional oriented except for the cost. Small rooms but pet friendly. Expensive compared to other options nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Young person
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jul 11, 2010

A complete review for a first timer

Basically you get a dorm room with a miniature bathroom. If you are of a large body size, you would have trouble maneuvering inside the standard ("Wonderful") room. It is advertised as a Botique hotel, but I would say it is like being in a "constant beer commercial". The lobby is interesting (nice change from the usual) but is mainly for a younger crowd. Older folks need not come to this hotel unless they want to be frustrated by sensory overload from music, blacklights and nightclub layout (even at 10am!). City noise like from the train could be bothersome...for us it was "ok" and not a problem. The valet service was phenomenal (expeditious and courteous). For our stay it was ALWAYS hard to find staff in the lobby for things like check-in/out and other room requests. A much better idea is to call them instead, even if you're sitting in the lobby! The people are definitely nice when you are able to find them. The room was small and unimpressive. Basic except for the 42inch TV/DVD/Safe which were useful amenities. I guess it was good for the downtown chicago location; plenty of resturaunts nearby but I recommend going near the lake shore side near the pier for better tourist activity. A business traveler would like the city center location. Comparing W city center vs. Lakeshore location...I would pick city center b/c of hotel itself, the lakeshore location for...location. Compared to other trips we've taken, this hotel was slightly better than 3 stars, definitely NOT a 4 star like we had anticipated. Would we stay here again? Probably not. Sorry. Maybe if the rooms were nicer/larger and staff easier to find in person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Food is always near by (walking distance for chain resturaunts and a few hometown ones). Shopping and attractions are better near the Navy Pier and Magnificent mile (take a cab). Segway tour is a MUST. Well worth the cost for us but research your choice of which company in advance, and book after checking the weather. You don't want to get rained on. Our experience was unbelievably awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top