$166 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

W Chicago - City Center

4 stars
View map of 172 West Adams Street, 172 West Adams Street, Chicago, IL 60603-3604

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago - City Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 19, 2008

My review of W Chicago - City Center

The location of the hotel is ideal. It is close to everything and within walking distance of major attractions and business. I did not like the size of the room or the ambience of the lobby. And I thought the food in the restaurant was too expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jad18
Business
Iowa City, Iowa
Jul 6, 2009

Overall pleased

Overall, we enjoyed the hotel. We stayed for the Taste of Chicago and a Cubs game. Close proximity to public transit was a plus and the hotel was clean. Very modern and a little dark for our tastes. Also, we had some noise from the El in our room. Nothing that my earplugs did not cancel out, but I could see it bothering some people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aurora, IL
Jun 7, 2009

A Neat Place

We booked the hotel because we got a great rate for a 4 star hotel and don't have the chance to see that many stars very often. Our favorite thing about the hotel was the exceptional service provided by all of the staff. Absolutely outstanding and friendly - not forced - from check in to check out. There was a prom in the hotel that night so we expected some noise and that the staff would've had their hands full. Not true at all! We had ice brought to the room just minutes after calling for it (the machine on our floor wasn't working) and the rooms were very insulated so there was no noise. The room was pretty small but not unexpectedly so for the city and for the price. The bathroom was too small for anyone's comfort and would keep me from staying more than a night or two. Our friends' room down the hall just a bit had a larger bathroom so that would have solved my only real negative about the place. All in all, a very nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Jul 19, 2009

Good Stay

This hotel is in a great location right in the loop next to the Sears Tower. Close to bus and train lines, lots of fun things to do, easy commute to both ball parks and navy pier. The rooms are very nice and very clean. The staff is a bit rude and act as if you are dumber than a rock. Out of towners beware. After check-in the trip was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

If you want great fun, take the short ride on the red line train to Addison and check out the strand of pubs and clubs. Much more exciting than staying in the loop. It only costs 2.25 to ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sonz
Business
Madison, WI
May 2, 2011

Trendy Hot Spot

We were very impressed with both of our rooms. We had a "spectacular double" and a "spectacular king" and both were very nice. The decor is modern and the design of the room and its amenities are tailored to a young crowd (20's-30's) but the quality is excellent. The beds were very comfortable and the shower was quite satisfying. Both our rooms were large and had large bathrooms. Keep in mind as you plan what to pack that the hotel lobby can feel very clubby in the evening and you won't want to walk in wearing shorts or sweats. People at this hotel dress very well. We did not get to take advantage of the "Acura Service," but it sounded great. If you plan ahead, you can reserve the Acura drop-off service and someone will drive you from the hotel to any location within 5 miles for free in an Acura car. It fills up fast, however, so plan ahead. The hotel is in a great location in the Chicago loop and very close to Giordano's Pizza, the Sears tower, the Art Institute, Millenium Park, and plenty of starbucks, dunkin donuts, and argo tea's for breakfast. We had dinner a few blocks east at a German restaurant called the Berghoff, and it was very good. I highly recommend this hotel. It was very clean and comfortable, the staff was excellent, and it is in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the Acura drop-off service offered at the hotel. It is a free service that drops you off at any location within 5 miles of the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 17, 2009

Great location, great room

We travelled to Chicago for the first time this August and loved staying at the W on West Adams Street. The location was perfect for walking to Grant Park, Milennium Park and Art Institute with easy access to the El. We were able to arrive from Midway using the subway and literally walk to our hotel within minutes. The concierge was helpful in answering questions and we did not feel cramped in the room at all (we had a "wonderful" sized room) Loved the city information that was shown on the large flat screen TV. No complaints! (Great bath products too!!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karalyn
Business
Cleveland, OH
Mar 3, 2008

Wonderful staff, less than perfect location

This was my first time at any of the W hotel chains. The hotel was nice enough, but I was not blown away by any means. My room was average looking, but still clean and with plenty of toiletries. It was somewhat in the middle of nowhere, although it is walking distance to the Chicago Trolley's first stop and a $5-6 cab ride from Michigan Ave. The staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful; they alone would bring me back. I suppose I expected a tad more for the price considering there are many other options that are in a better location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
toffee
Business
MD
Aug 17, 2009

very good

I enjoyed the free wifi and location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis MN
Jul 5, 2011

comfy and classy!

Taste of Chicago! Close to everything you would want In Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jun 1, 2010

Spacious Room!

We typically stay at the W off of Lakeshore. However, we found the rooms in the W City Center to be huge, very nice and clean. The lobby wasn't as expansive as the Lakeshore location. However, it was still a nice area for drinks, relaxing or meeting friends. We'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top