$163 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 28, 2015 Check-out: Aug 31, 2015

W Chicago - City Center

4 stars
View map of 172 West Adams Street, 172 West Adams Street, Chicago, IL 60603-3604

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago - City Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karalyn
Business
Cleveland, OH
Mar 3, 2008

Wonderful staff, less than perfect location

This was my first time at any of the W hotel chains. The hotel was nice enough, but I was not blown away by any means. My room was average looking, but still clean and with plenty of toiletries. It was somewhat in the middle of nowhere, although it is walking distance to the Chicago Trolley's first stop and a $5-6 cab ride from Michigan Ave. The staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful; they alone would bring me back. I suppose I expected a tad more for the price considering there are many other options that are in a better location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
toffee
Friends
MD
Aug 17, 2009

very good

I enjoyed the free wifi and location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Minneapolis MN
Jul 5, 2011

comfy and classy!

Taste of Chicago! Close to everything you would want In Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Indianapolis, IN
Jun 1, 2010

Spacious Room!

We typically stay at the W off of Lakeshore. However, we found the rooms in the W City Center to be huge, very nice and clean. The lobby wasn't as expansive as the Lakeshore location. However, it was still a nice area for drinks, relaxing or meeting friends. We'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Australia
Aug 5, 2010

Visit to the Windy City

We had a great time at the hotel our only suggestion would be information in the room for things to do in Chicago brochures etc we were only there 3 days so wanted to maximize what we saw and had to ask for information all other aspects of the stay were wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

When in Chicago get a $35 hop on hop off bus tour pass for 3 days then go to the water tower/tourist centre and plan the things you want to do in what order then getting around is easy and informative and all the attractions you wish to see are available

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago, IL
May 11, 2010

Very cool hotel

We stayed here after a work holiday party downtown and had a great time. Very hip, modern rooms w/ flat screen tv and cool lighting throughout the room. Rooms on the small side, but well appointed. The hotel lobby/bar is a great place to have a drink and people-watch too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 26, 2010

Great hotel, except for parking rates $$

Great hotel, but $51.00 for overnight parking is CRAZY! There is a self park lot just down the road that was $27.00

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park down the road for a much cheaper rate

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Picky Nicky
Couples
Bay Area, California
Jun 12, 2014

Great location and cozy room!

Great location, easy access to subway and/or walking distance to attractions. I stayed here for a wedding and thought it was reasonably priced for a nice hotel in downtown Chicago. The room was beautiful. Only thing I'd note was that the basic room was a little small, but probably comparable to similar hotels. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The L is just a few minutes walk away!

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
david2kawika
seattle, wa
Aug 1, 2014

w chicago

excellent location, fantastic staff but room was a bit smaller than expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

use the expertise of the concierge. they made the stay even more enjoyable.

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mocha girl
Couples
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 11, 2014

Wedding Weekend

I had a great time at the W Hotel. It was very trendy and right in the heart of everything. Word of advice do not rent a car... Just walk or taxi. Parking cost roughly $62.00 a night plus tipping the valet. The staff was friendly , the room was a hint small but nevertheless I would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top