$199 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 5, 2015 Check-out: Jul 6, 2015

W Chicago - City Center

4 stars
View map of 172 West Adams Street, 172 West Adams Street, Chicago, IL 60603-3604

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago - City Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Renee'
Business
Chicago, IL
May 8, 2009

Great location, great service

I had a wonderful experience from my check-in to my check -out. The service from the staff, to the bar to housekeeping was all great. I would definitely recommend and stay again myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Aug 9, 2010

''Fantastic''

Great attendance and staff are very professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Lexington, KY
Aug 30, 2010

Very pleased

The service, low light ambiance, theme, and architecture of the building are top notch. Loved how music in elevators changed to fit the time of day. We were booked in what turned out to probably (hopefully?) their smallest room- they were full, but said they could move us the next day, which is what happened. The new room was just fine, but you should be aware that they have at least 4 room layouts, not including any suites, etc. We met friends who had 2 other rooms, both bigger than our new room. The only other issue was the very cool temp. of the hallways ( I would guess in the low to mid 60's). Other than that, the experience was fantastic, and they serve a great breakfast (best french toast ever!) I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to my friends, and hope to try their other Chicago hotel in the future! Thanks W for a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bella Nolte- exquisite and the real deal

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GregI
Business
San Diego
Nov 22, 2011

W in Chicago

First off, realize there's 2 W's in Chicago. We made the mistake of thinking there was only 1, so half of our group was at the Lakeview location. This location is good, but compared to the other one, it's not even close. Ours was still nice and comfy, nice staff and very nice amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steveg
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Great Stay

Our room was a very comfortable and well appointed room. It was conveniently located and the complimentary limo was a pleasant surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KEG23
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Solid

This is the financial dsitrict W or "the W for old people'. That having been said, it has a hip vibe. The room was nice, although the view wasn't and the bathroom could have been better. The location is good for business on LaSalle st or an evening at the Opera.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trainguy
Business
Boston
May 29, 2012

W Hotel: good but in a deadzone on the weekend

Good hotel, close to Sears Tower & Millennium Park but neighborhood is dead on weekend. Doormen are not always present so luggage help is hit/miss. Lobby is insanely packed w furniture making luggage navigation a challenge. No restroom near bar/restaurant in lobby - its annoyingly upstairs but at least it is not nearly dark lobby restrooms in DC's W hotel! The elevators maintains W's annoying habit of requiring a key swipe to access your floor. Chicago W Staff is friendly but not nearly as outgoing as W staff in DC. Those folks are great! Guest Room has several power outlets and had fairly bright lighting finally! However the carpet is oddly rough and scratchy on bare feet. Beware that the clock radio iPhone dock doesn't actually charge 4G or 4S iPhones. The stepless shower isn't built correctly so like ones at the W in DC, anything on floor gets wet even 5-8 feet away...At least this had a curtain! Room was blessedly quiet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a cab to O'Hare

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrankJVC
Business
Santiago, Chile
Jul 8, 2012

It's a club? No an hotel

It was very good. At first,it looked like a club. But overall it's a great place to stay. it's right in the middle of the loop. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to the Magnificent Mile, or State St.

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Norte
Business
Santiago, Chile
Jul 25, 2012

Excellent location

Excellent location in the heart of The Loop. The decoration is a little unusual for a hotel, but it was a nice surprise. The room was clean and the staff was kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChuckP
Business
Los angeles
Aug 9, 2012

Nice property

The W Chicago has a great building and nice rooms. The fitness center was better than average. It seems like the staff is either lacking training or just losing their customer service excellence. What I mean by that is, I was actually challenged when waiting to check in at the front desk (standing there with my bags) "Do you have a question?" - I replied "no, I'm checking in" - like I was standing at a hotel front desk with bags waiting for a train? The hostess at the restaurant was clearly in a bad mood, which I'd prefer she was trained well enough not to make that obvious. She was sullen and bordering on rude. Overall it is still a nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top