$166 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

W Chicago - City Center

4 stars
View map of 172 West Adams Street, 172 West Adams Street, Chicago, IL 60603-3604

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago - City Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dougie fresh of MN
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 5, 2012

Nice Weekend Away

The hotel was clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Bar was dismal on weekend. Location was a little far away from the action so lots of walking was involved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chev trout
Business
Pittsburgh pa
Jun 12, 2012

Wasn't normal as my last

The room was nice staff was really nice but T was alittle diff then my other experiences in other W hotel but I can say that I enjoy the W experience so I'll be going to another on my next trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Clubs are nice

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
grafguy86
Business
St. Louis, MO
Oct 23, 2012

Poor Room Value

I understand that this hotel is in downtown chicago, but the room was tiny, and looked no nicer than a Holiday Inn Express. Other rooms looked really cool and updated, but ours looked like it was stuck in the 90s...everything was tan/beige color. Overall poor value for the price you pay. Additionally a room was not available to us at check in and we had to wait 45 minutes to get a room. Luckily they gave us some free drink tickets so we had something to do while we waited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JaneDavid
Business
NYC
Nov 4, 2013

ok, but

Two compalints. First, was morning coffee. When it ran out on Saturday morning at 8:30am it took 20 minutes after stadff was told urn was empty before the urn was re-filled. One conciege is not enough at certian times. Otherwise, everything was fine but nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
marifli 2
Business
clevalnd
May 26, 2014

room

For the price of this hotel they could of placed a coffee maker in the room. In addition some bigger bottles of shampoo/ condtitioner and a continental breakfast would of been nice. Otherwise I would recomend another hotel for less and better amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
uber business mom
Business
new york, ny
Sep 29, 2009

Great lobby, not so great rooms

I had a terrible time trying to access the free wireless in the lobby. Didn't work for me at all. Wound up having to pay from my room and even that was a more complicated process than it should of been. There was no dresser, and only a wee bit of closet space. We had a periodic loud bang in the bathroom that would wake you up. The staff was great, very attentive and eager to help. The housekeeping wasn't very thorough, they left half empty coffee cups in the room and soda cans. There was not enough space for 2 of us to eat in the room so room service was straight off the bed. I think this hotel is fine if you need a place to crash and party, but doesn't quite measure up for the business traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

second city

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Keeter
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 24, 2010

Nice but noisy!!

The hotel is wonderful EXCEPT that it's right on the El train tracks! We were on the 20th floor, in room 2019, and it sounded like the train was right outside the window. The sound must be ricocheting off the other buildings. We were woken up several times during the night. Reminded me of that episode of I Love Lucy... Haha! Other than that the hotel is great! Nice rooms. Excellent staff. The bar is pricy! Weirdly enough, the same drinks are $2 cheaper at W Lakeshore. Cool feature is a partnership with Acura. You can schedule with the front desk for drop offs at locations around town instead of taking a cab. Probably saved $30 in cabs over the weekend. Bliss products in the bathrooms rocked!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cibo Matto! Amazing Italian restaurant at The Wit. Also definitely go to their rooftop deck for before / after dinner drinks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 27, 2011

Pretty good for the price

Despite the gimmicky nature of W Hotels in general, there are a lot of advantages. Well-situated in the middle of downtown Chicago, close to all major sights; would highly recommend to tourists. Staff are generally young and hip, but not necessarily knowledgeable. We got a good deal online so felt it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Convenient walk to everywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr. Wm
Business
Birmingham, MI
Sep 4, 2009

W Chicago City Center

Nice staff, small rooms, 'trippy' atmosphere, very close the train - had a hard time with the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago Theatre

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 26, 2010

Nice Hotel

Just wasn't what I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go out to eat and drink,save some money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top