$166 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

W Chicago - City Center

4 stars
View map of 172 West Adams Street, 172 West Adams Street, Chicago, IL 60603-3604

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago - City Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Renee'
Business
Chicago, IL
May 8, 2009

Great location, great service

I had a wonderful experience from my check-in to my check -out. The service from the staff, to the bar to housekeeping was all great. I would definitely recommend and stay again myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Anchorage
Dec 19, 2008

Tiny room

The price was fine. Location was perfect. Room was tiny and bathroom minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 19, 2008

My review of W Chicago - City Center

The location of the hotel is ideal. It is close to everything and within walking distance of major attractions and business. I did not like the size of the room or the ambience of the lobby. And I thought the food in the restaurant was too expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Greenfield
Sep 21, 2008

Fabulous!

The W Chicago is an incrediable hotel. You only need to think of something you want and they will have it for you before you finish asking. The rooms are luxurious. The hotel is a two block walk from the train and if you prefer a taxi they'll have one for you in a minute. Great staff - very friendly and professional. The conceirge service is there for your every need with wonderful suggestions for restraunts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The train is a two block walk from the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Aug 31, 2008

A nice hotel in Chicago

Like all of the W hotels we have stayed at, this is one is very hip, pleasant and well run. The staff is excellent, low-key and friendly. The hotel is very convenient, smack in the middle of the Loop business district. Although the more touristy areas such as the Magnificent Mile and North River neighborhoods are a bit of hike or require a short taxi ride, the beautiful Millenium Park is just a 10-15 minute walk. The rooms are typical for a W - small but very modern. Only caveat: most don't have views - if that's what you want - and the nearby CTA elevated trains on Wells Street can be noisy at night; try to have a room on the east side of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Yolk at 11th Street & South Michigan Ave. (1120 S. Michigan Ave.) for great and relatively inexpensive breakfasts and brunches.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plymouth, MN
Jul 27, 2008

Nice Option

The W City Center is not as nice as the Lakeshore, but was a good overall value. We enjoyed being close to shopping on State St. and the rooms were nice. Was a little far from Michigan Ave. and the food at Whiskey Blue was awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

State St. Sears Tower and wacker 7 block to lake

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naperville
Jul 5, 2008

W City Center

The W City Center location is ideal, a quick walk from Union Station. I had booked in so that I could have fun with friends in the city and not have to worry about trekking back to the suburbs late at night. I was surprised that for the price of room I paid for the room was the size of my cubicle at work. It was clean, with trendy design and yummy smelling organic soaps. The flat screen TV and IPOD docking station were a plus. The bed was soft and comfy, but the window looked out on a noisy alley so I couldn't open my window for fresh air while I slept. For a great location, a rocking lobby, overall friendliness of staff, this property was excellent. For quality of room for the money, you may want to haggle for an upgrade upon check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walkable to State Street for some great shopping at Marshall Field's. Close to the Lake and Millenium Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karalyn
Business
Cleveland, OH
Mar 3, 2008

Wonderful staff, less than perfect location

This was my first time at any of the W hotel chains. The hotel was nice enough, but I was not blown away by any means. My room was average looking, but still clean and with plenty of toiletries. It was somewhat in the middle of nowhere, although it is walking distance to the Chicago Trolley's first stop and a $5-6 cab ride from Michigan Ave. The staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful; they alone would bring me back. I suppose I expected a tad more for the price considering there are many other options that are in a better location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 26, 2007

My review of W Chicago City Center

The W was a great hotel. Awesome atmosphere if you like pretty modern decor. The bed was very comfertable I'll slept very well. Usually I dont in hotels. If you are looking for a spot for a great location this is a great one. We were down for my birthday and the cab rides were not far from many of the main clubs. It is great for shopping as well. Overall it was a pleasent stay, the only negative I would have to say is that the rooms are quite small. But if you are there for only one or two nights it's bareable!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Aug 13, 2007

Sheek but small

It's a W so it's not that bad...But a two things kept bothering me. In the restroom, when sitting on the toilet, the counter top for the vanity hung over the toilet so far I had to run sideways to sit down, and my left shoulder caught the corner of it as i was standing a few times, you had to turn sideways to get up too. In the middle of the night it got in the way. I'm grateful for the airconditioner due to Chicago was experiencing hot weather, but the unit in the room was so loud. When it was running you couldn't hear the tv, or really talk on the phone until it turned off. The unit hung from the ceiling and was quite large for a room that was small. That's all. I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

you're in the heart of downtown. Enjoy it!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top