$146 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2014 Check-out: May 12, 2014

W Chicago - City Center

4 stars
172 West Adams Street, Chicago, IL 60603-3604
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
75 reviews
Great Time

Staff was wonderful - location was convient. Music for lobby was different but I'd recommend to any... See full review

  • Bus Traveler to Chicago
  • Mar 7, 2014
Elogent and comfortable

I dont stay at a W to get my but kissed. But i do enjoy having a great room and magnificeny... See full review

  • achris
  • Apr 14, 2013
Beaux-arts glamour in the Loop

Awash in spotlights and marked by a big red W, this Loop hotel makes a fashionable statement in the Windy City. Fusing modern touches with classic Chicago architecture, the AAA four diamond property drips with drama. From the grand lobby boasting marble pillars and a vaulted ceiling, there's a sense of history at the W Chicago City Center with a nod to Chicago's role in modern architecture. Guest rooms ooze signature Starwood style, while a convenient location in the Financial District near theaters appeals to business and leisure travelers.

Highlights
  • Located in the heart of the Financial District
  • Close to landmarks like Willis Tower, theater district and the Art Institute
  • Urban chic guest rooms
  • DJ-driven bar and specialty cocktails in The Living Room Bar
  • 24-hour amenities like room service, a business center, SWEAT fitness center and a DVD library
Rooms

Jewel-toned colored accent pieces like purple chaises and red throw pillows contrast white walls and linens in minimalist studio and suite-sized guest rooms. Like all W properties, the rooms, which vary in layout depending on the floor, are stocked with standards like Bliss spa products and plump W feather beds with pillow-top mattresses. Crisp 350-count sheets and down comforters invite after a long day of business meetings. Suites mimic hip city apartments with wet bars, parlors and sleek 42-inch flat-screen TVs.

Features

The Living Room Bar skews to professionals who would rather people-watch and listen to the DJ set than spend an evening alone in their room. The bar, with a gold-leaf ceiling and ivory leather arm chairs, is the place to linger with a martini or consult your smartphone. Wireless access is free in the lobby.

Given its location near the Board of Trade and Chicago Mercantile Exchange, IPO, which stands for initial public offering, certainly deserves the award for best-named restaurant in Chicago. Flavorwise, expect contemporary dishes that trot the globe, including small plates such as seared scallops with chorizo, sofrito and chervil, plus chocolate and popcorn with peaches, mint, brown butter, corn sorbet and fleur de sel.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (18 miles)
  • Midway Airport (11 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Jackson to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Quincy/Wells to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (8 minutes)
Attractions
  • Chicago Board of Trade
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange
  • Loop
  • Cadillac Palace Theater
  • State Street
  • Jewelers Row
  • Millennium Park
Business
  • 10 function rooms covering 12,000 square feet
  • 24-hour business center with Mac and IBM computers, high-speed Internet access, copy, print, scan and faxing capabilities
  • Cisco TelePrescence Suite available for teleconferencing offsite employees around the world
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Meeting specialists to plan events
Policies and Fees
  • Starting 1 Jul, the hotel will charge parking fees as follows: $24 USD per two hours; $31 USD per six hours and $60 USD per 24 hours
  • The hotel does not accept guests below 21 years old.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

W Chicago - City Center Rooms

Wonderful
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Chicago - City Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8794 -87.6332
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 8.00, MI; Chicago O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 15.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Union Station: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Union Station: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.5 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.7 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 0.9 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.1 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 1.2 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.2 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago - City Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Naperville
Jul 5, 2008

W City Center

The W City Center location is ideal, a quick walk from Union Station. I had booked in so that I could have fun with friends in the city and not have to worry about trekking back to the suburbs late at night. I was surprised that for the price of room I paid for the room was the size of my cubicle at work. It was clean, with trendy design and yummy smelling organic soaps. The flat screen TV and IPOD docking station were a plus. The bed was soft and comfy, but the window looked out on a noisy alley so I couldn't open my window for fresh air while I slept. For a great location, a rocking lobby, overall friendliness of staff, this property was excellent. For quality of room for the money, you may want to haggle for an upgrade upon check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walkable to State Street for some great shopping at Marshall Field's. Close to the Lake and Millenium Park.

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
Karalyn
Business
Cleveland, OH
Mar 3, 2008

Wonderful staff, less than perfect location

This was my first time at any of the W hotel chains. The hotel was nice enough, but I was not blown away by any means. My room was average looking, but still clean and with plenty of toiletries. It was somewhat in the middle of nowhere, although it is walking distance to the Chicago Trolley's first stop and a $5-6 cab ride from Michigan Ave. The staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful; they alone would bring me back. I suppose I expected a tad more for the price considering there are many other options that are in a better location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Aug 26, 2007

My review of W Chicago City Center

The W was a great hotel. Awesome atmosphere if you like pretty modern decor. The bed was very comfertable I'll slept very well. Usually I dont in hotels. If you are looking for a spot for a great location this is a great one. We were down for my birthday and the cab rides were not far from many of the main clubs. It is great for shopping as well. Overall it was a pleasent stay, the only negative I would have to say is that the rooms are quite small. But if you are there for only one or two nights it's bareable!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
Aug 13, 2007

Sheek but small

It's a W so it's not that bad...But a two things kept bothering me. In the restroom, when sitting on the toilet, the counter top for the vanity hung over the toilet so far I had to run sideways to sit down, and my left shoulder caught the corner of it as i was standing a few times, you had to turn sideways to get up too. In the middle of the night it got in the way. I'm grateful for the airconditioner due to Chicago was experiencing hot weather, but the unit in the room was so loud. When it was running you couldn't hear the tv, or really talk on the phone until it turned off. The unit hung from the ceiling and was quite large for a room that was small. That's all. I will stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

you're in the heart of downtown. Enjoy it!!!

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
USA
Jul 22, 2007

Excellent stay!!

The W Chicago Loop was awesome! The staff was very helpful and the accomodations were more than we expected. The contemporary feel of the hotel was like nothing that I have experienced. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed that I have ever slept in! We had gone to Chicago to see Wicked and the hotel was centrally located to the theatres and great shopping, as well as Grant Park! I definitely recommend W Chicago to anyone interested in a great hotel!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

W Chicago is located very near great shopping both on Michigan Avenue and State Street!

Back to menu Return to top