$126 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 18, 2014 Check-out: Apr 21, 2014

W Chicago - City Center

4 stars
172 West Adams Street, Chicago, IL 60603-3604
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
75 reviews
Great Time

Staff was wonderful - location was convient. Music for lobby was different but I'd recommend to any... See full review

  • Bus Traveler to Chicago
  • Mar 7, 2014
Elogent and comfortable

I dont stay at a W to get my but kissed. But i do enjoy having a great room and magnificeny... See full review

  • achris
  • Apr 14, 2013
Beaux-arts glamour in the Loop

Awash in spotlights and marked by a big red W, this Loop hotel makes a fashionable statement in the Windy City. Fusing modern touches with classic Chicago architecture, the AAA four diamond property drips with drama. From the grand lobby boasting marble pillars and a vaulted ceiling, there's a sense of history at the W Chicago City Center with a nod to Chicago's role in modern architecture. Guest rooms ooze signature Starwood style, while a convenient location in the Financial District near theaters appeals to business and leisure travelers.

Highlights
  • Located in the heart of the Financial District
  • Close to landmarks like Willis Tower, theater district and the Art Institute
  • Urban chic guest rooms
  • DJ-driven bar and specialty cocktails in The Living Room Bar
  • 24-hour amenities like room service, a business center, SWEAT fitness center and a DVD library
Rooms

Jewel-toned colored accent pieces like purple chaises and red throw pillows contrast white walls and linens in minimalist studio and suite-sized guest rooms. Like all W properties, the rooms, which vary in layout depending on the floor, are stocked with standards like Bliss spa products and plump W feather beds with pillow-top mattresses. Crisp 350-count sheets and down comforters invite after a long day of business meetings. Suites mimic hip city apartments with wet bars, parlors and sleek 42-inch flat-screen TVs.

Features

The Living Room Bar skews to professionals who would rather people-watch and listen to the DJ set than spend an evening alone in their room. The bar, with a gold-leaf ceiling and ivory leather arm chairs, is the place to linger with a martini or consult your smartphone. Wireless access is free in the lobby.

Given its location near the Board of Trade and Chicago Mercantile Exchange, IPO, which stands for initial public offering, certainly deserves the award for best-named restaurant in Chicago. Flavorwise, expect contemporary dishes that trot the globe, including small plates such as seared scallops with chorizo, sofrito and chervil, plus chocolate and popcorn with peaches, mint, brown butter, corn sorbet and fleur de sel.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (18 miles)
  • Midway Airport (11 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Jackson to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Quincy/Wells to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (8 minutes)
Attractions
  • Chicago Board of Trade
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange
  • Loop
  • Cadillac Palace Theater
  • State Street
  • Jewelers Row
  • Millennium Park
Business
  • 10 function rooms covering 12,000 square feet
  • 24-hour business center with Mac and IBM computers, high-speed Internet access, copy, print, scan and faxing capabilities
  • Cisco TelePrescence Suite available for teleconferencing offsite employees around the world
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Meeting specialists to plan events
Policies and Fees
  • Starting 1 Jul, the hotel will charge parking fees as follows: $24 USD per two hours; $31 USD per six hours and $60 USD per 24 hours
  • The hotel does not accept guests below 21 years old.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

W Chicago - City Center Rooms

Wonderful
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Chicago - City Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8794 -87.6332
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 8.00, MI; Chicago O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 15.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Union Station: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Union Station: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.5 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.7 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 0.9 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.1 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 1.2 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.2 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (75)

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago - City Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
75 out of 75
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
jad18
Iowa City, Iowa
Jul 6, 2009

Overall pleased

Overall, we enjoyed the hotel. We stayed for the Taste of Chicago and a Cubs game. Close proximity to public transit was a plus and the hotel was clean. Very modern and a little dark for our tastes. Also, we had some noise from the El in our room. Nothing that my earplugs did not cancel out, but I could see it bothering some people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Aurora, IL
Jun 7, 2009

A Neat Place

We booked the hotel because we got a great rate for a 4 star hotel and don't have the chance to see that many stars very often. Our favorite thing about the hotel was the exceptional service provided by all of the staff. Absolutely outstanding and friendly - not forced - from check in to check out. There was a prom in the hotel that night so we expected some noise and that the staff would've had their hands full. Not true at all! We had ice brought to the room just minutes after calling for it (the machine on our floor wasn't working) and the rooms were very insulated so there was no noise. The room was pretty small but not unexpectedly so for the city and for the price. The bathroom was too small for anyone's comfort and would keep me from staying more than a night or two. Our friends' room down the hall just a bit had a larger bathroom so that would have solved my only real negative about the place. All in all, a very nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
Carlnchicago
Dallas, TExas
May 9, 2009

Great Trip

The HOtel was great, but did not appear to be finished yet, still under construction. No Ice maker in the Ice room. but great room at a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
30's Traveler
Miami, FL
May 9, 2009

EL every 15 minutes request high room

The W Chicago had a fantastic lobby with a nice and knowledgeable staff. The rooms were cool and ultra modern. The El passed too close (every 20 minutes) to my room and was unfortunately quite loud. The DVD/TV connections did not work either, I was told that new flatscreens were recently installed. The valet of over $50 a day is a complete ripoff considering downtown weekend street parking is free. The staff was all very accommodating and helpful. Great Hummus appetizer at the bar.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
Renee'
Business
Chicago, IL
May 8, 2009

Great location, great service

I had a wonderful experience from my check-in to my check -out. The service from the staff, to the bar to housekeeping was all great. I would definitely recommend and stay again myself.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
Anonymous
Business
Anchorage
Dec 19, 2008

Tiny room

The price was fine. Location was perfect. Room was tiny and bathroom minute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 19, 2008

My review of W Chicago - City Center

The location of the hotel is ideal. It is close to everything and within walking distance of major attractions and business. I did not like the size of the room or the ambience of the lobby. And I thought the food in the restaurant was too expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Business
Greenfield
Sep 21, 2008

Fabulous!

The W Chicago is an incrediable hotel. You only need to think of something you want and they will have it for you before you finish asking. The rooms are luxurious. The hotel is a two block walk from the train and if you prefer a taxi they'll have one for you in a minute. Great staff - very friendly and professional. The conceirge service is there for your every need with wonderful suggestions for restraunts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The train is a two block walk from the hotel

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
New York
Aug 31, 2008

A nice hotel in Chicago

Like all of the W hotels we have stayed at, this is one is very hip, pleasant and well run. The staff is excellent, low-key and friendly. The hotel is very convenient, smack in the middle of the Loop business district. Although the more touristy areas such as the Magnificent Mile and North River neighborhoods are a bit of hike or require a short taxi ride, the beautiful Millenium Park is just a 10-15 minute walk. The rooms are typical for a W - small but very modern. Only caveat: most don't have views - if that's what you want - and the nearby CTA elevated trains on Wells Street can be noisy at night; try to have a room on the east side of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to Yolk at 11th Street & South Michigan Ave. (1120 S. Michigan Ave.) for great and relatively inexpensive breakfasts and brunches.

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
Plymouth, MN
Jul 27, 2008

Nice Option

The W City Center is not as nice as the Lakeshore, but was a good overall value. We enjoyed being close to shopping on State St. and the rooms were nice. Was a little far from Michigan Ave. and the food at Whiskey Blue was awful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

State St. Sears Tower and wacker 7 block to lake

Back to menu Return to top