$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

W Chicago - City Center

4 stars
View map of 172 West Adams Street, 172 West Adams Street, Chicago, IL 60603-3604

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago - City Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Schaumburg, IL
Nov 30, 2009

Short but Sweet Stay

May friend came in from Texas to do some Black Friday shopping in Chicago. Having stayed at many W's throughout the states, I found this one has risen to the top. Loved the location. It was in the heart of the city, but away from the hustle an bustle of all the shoppers. We got a Wonderful room that was very spacious to hold all of the bargains we found on Michigan Ave. Upon entering the hotel we were over come with a cozy feeling. The lobby was just fab. There are board games (checkers & chess) to play which was a great touch. The room was very clean with positive statements displayed. The view was just of office buildings all around, but this did not take away from the hotel. I would stay here again in a heart beat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You must go to the Willis Tower aka The Sears Tower to walk out in the over the ledge box to get a beautiful view of Chicago.

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Single
New Jersey
Nov 10, 2009

Beautiful lobby, ok room!

For the money it wasn't worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
uber business mom
Business
new york, ny
Sep 29, 2009

Great lobby, not so great rooms

I had a terrible time trying to access the free wireless in the lobby. Didn't work for me at all. Wound up having to pay from my room and even that was a more complicated process than it should of been. There was no dresser, and only a wee bit of closet space. We had a periodic loud bang in the bathroom that would wake you up. The staff was great, very attentive and eager to help. The housekeeping wasn't very thorough, they left half empty coffee cups in the room and soda cans. There was not enough space for 2 of us to eat in the room so room service was straight off the bed. I think this hotel is fine if you need a place to crash and party, but doesn't quite measure up for the business traveler.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

second city

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EllaBella
Couples
Toronto, On
Sep 9, 2009

LOVE IT!

Overall, it was just a superior experience. They always bump you to a better room if one is available (at least in my experience.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr. Wm
Single
Birmingham, MI
Sep 4, 2009

W Chicago City Center

Nice staff, small rooms, 'trippy' atmosphere, very close the train - had a hard time with the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Single

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago Theatre

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ALP83
Couples
IL
Aug 23, 2009

DO NOT stay here!

I will preface this review by saying I am NOT a picky traveler. I have been all over the world and usually take the accomodations for what they are. The W claims to be a four star hotel with world class service and wonderful rooms. I beg to differ. I have stayed at hostels in developing countries that offer more comfortable surroundings. I will say, the staff is friendly, but that's where the positive comments end. We were first placed in a room on the 11th floor, right next to the fire escape. The lights in the room flickered, the bed was a full, it was dingy, and resembled a college dorm room (a bad one). All together disappointing. We called to the front desk to ask if they had something available that was slightly larger and less depressing. After 45 minutes, we got a call back from the front desk saying we were being moved to a "WONDERFUL king suite". We walked into our wonderful suite and couldn't help but laugh. The bed took up the entire room, and the bathroom was (and I'm not exaggerating) 4 x 6. Luckily, we are both small, because there is no possible way someone over 150lbs could fit in there. I struggled to walk in and close the door behind me. Honestly, I have never been so uncomfortable or felt more ripped off by a hotel. There are SO many better options in Chicago. Yes, the lobby is trendy and fun, but not worth it. Spend the extra $50 - $100 and stay elsewhere. You won't regret it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Boston, MA
Aug 17, 2009

Great location, great room

We travelled to Chicago for the first time this August and loved staying at the W on West Adams Street. The location was perfect for walking to Grant Park, Milennium Park and Art Institute with easy access to the El. We were able to arrive from Midway using the subway and literally walk to our hotel within minutes. The concierge was helpful in answering questions and we did not feel cramped in the room at all (we had a "wonderful" sized room) Loved the city information that was shown on the large flat screen TV. No complaints! (Great bath products too!!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
toffee
Friends
MD
Aug 17, 2009

very good

I enjoyed the free wifi and location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
WV
Aug 16, 2009

W City Center

Very young professional oriented except for the cost. Small rooms but pet friendly. Expensive compared to other options nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Jul 31, 2009

heavy on hip, low on space

The room and bathroom were uncomfortably small. It was hard to turn around in the bathroom and the room gave me claustrophobia. Also, the BIG flat screen TV was on the side wall and the only way to watch it was to twist your neck sideways or sit sideways on the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top