$197 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 5, 2014

W Chicago - City Center

4 stars
172 West Adams Street, 172 West Adams Street, Chicago, IL 60603-3604
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
84 reviews
Great couple getaway

Friendly Staff, clean and spacious rooms. W Chicago city center is the place to stay! See full review

  • Maria Isabel
  • Jun 17, 2014
Great Time

Staff was wonderful - location was convient. Music for lobby was different but I'd recommend to any... See full review

  • Bus Traveler to Chicago
  • Mar 7, 2014
Beaux-arts glamour in the Loop

Awash in spotlights and marked by a big red W, this Loop hotel makes a fashionable statement in the Windy City. Fusing modern touches with classic Chicago architecture, the AAA four diamond property drips with drama. From the grand lobby boasting marble pillars and a vaulted ceiling, there's a sense of history at the W Chicago City Center with a nod to Chicago's role in modern architecture. Guest rooms ooze signature Starwood style, while a convenient location in the Financial District near theaters appeals to business and leisure travelers.

Highlights
  • Located in the heart of the Financial District
  • Close to landmarks like Willis Tower, theater district and the Art Institute
  • Urban chic guest rooms
  • DJ-driven bar and specialty cocktails in The Living Room Bar
  • 24-hour amenities like room service, a business center, SWEAT fitness center and a DVD library
Rooms

Jewel-toned colored accent pieces like purple chaises and red throw pillows contrast white walls and linens in minimalist studio and suite-sized guest rooms. Like all W properties, the rooms, which vary in layout depending on the floor, are stocked with standards like Bliss spa products and plump W feather beds with pillow-top mattresses. Crisp 350-count sheets and down comforters invite after a long day of business meetings. Suites mimic hip city apartments with wet bars, parlors and sleek 42-inch flat-screen TVs.

Features

The Living Room Bar skews to professionals who would rather people-watch and listen to the DJ set than spend an evening alone in their room. The bar, with a gold-leaf ceiling and ivory leather arm chairs, is the place to linger with a martini or consult your smartphone. Wireless access is free in the lobby.

Given its location near the Board of Trade and Chicago Mercantile Exchange, IPO, which stands for initial public offering, certainly deserves the award for best-named restaurant in Chicago. Flavorwise, expect contemporary dishes that trot the globe, including small plates such as seared scallops with chorizo, sofrito and chervil, plus chocolate and popcorn with peaches, mint, brown butter, corn sorbet and fleur de sel.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (18 miles)
  • Midway Airport (11 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Jackson to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Quincy/Wells to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (8 minutes)
Attractions
  • Chicago Board of Trade
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange
  • Loop
  • Cadillac Palace Theater
  • State Street
  • Jewelers Row
  • Millennium Park
Business
  • 10 function rooms covering 12,000 square feet
  • 24-hour business center with Mac and IBM computers, high-speed Internet access, copy, print, scan and faxing capabilities
  • Cisco TelePrescence Suite available for teleconferencing offsite employees around the world
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Meeting specialists to plan events
Policies and Fees
  • Starting 1 Jul, the hotel will charge parking fees as follows: $24 USD per two hours; $31 USD per six hours and $60 USD per 24 hours
  • The hotel does not accept guests below 21 years old.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8794 -87.6332
Area served
City Center
Nearby airports
O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 28.97, KM; Midway Airport, (MDW), 12.87, KM;
Area description
City Center, Urban

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Chicago - City Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

W Chicago - City Center Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Union Station: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Union Station: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.5 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.7 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 0.9 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.1 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 1.2 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.2 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1.4 mi

Dining

The Living Room Bar
Not your ordinary living room. DJs, games, wireless high speed internet access, a colorful W Signature drink list, and full bottle service will keep you entertained for hours.
IPO
Hello, downtown decadence. Welcome to IPO, which boasts new urban cuisine and contemporary American flavors. With the Loop as its backdrop, it’s a favorite for the downtown 9-5 set and theater-goers.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (84)

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago - City Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
EllaBella
Toronto, On
Sep 9, 2009

LOVE IT!

Overall, it was just a superior experience. They always bump you to a better room if one is available (at least in my experience.)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr. Wm
Birmingham, MI
Sep 4, 2009

W Chicago City Center

Nice staff, small rooms, 'trippy' atmosphere, very close the train - had a hard time with the noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

Chicago Theatre

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ALP83
IL
Aug 23, 2009

DO NOT stay here!

I will preface this review by saying I am NOT a picky traveler. I have been all over the world and usually take the accomodations for what they are. The W claims to be a four star hotel with world class service and wonderful rooms. I beg to differ. I have stayed at hostels in developing countries that offer more comfortable surroundings. I will say, the staff is friendly, but that's where the positive comments end. We were first placed in a room on the 11th floor, right next to the fire escape. The lights in the room flickered, the bed was a full, it was dingy, and resembled a college dorm room (a bad one). All together disappointing. We called to the front desk to ask if they had something available that was slightly larger and less depressing. After 45 minutes, we got a call back from the front desk saying we were being moved to a "WONDERFUL king suite". We walked into our wonderful suite and couldn't help but laugh. The bed took up the entire room, and the bathroom was (and I'm not exaggerating) 4 x 6. Luckily, we are both small, because there is no possible way someone over 150lbs could fit in there. I struggled to walk in and close the door behind me. Honestly, I have never been so uncomfortable or felt more ripped off by a hotel. There are SO many better options in Chicago. Yes, the lobby is trendy and fun, but not worth it. Spend the extra $50 - $100 and stay elsewhere. You won't regret it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Aug 17, 2009

Great location, great room

We travelled to Chicago for the first time this August and loved staying at the W on West Adams Street. The location was perfect for walking to Grant Park, Milennium Park and Art Institute with easy access to the El. We were able to arrive from Midway using the subway and literally walk to our hotel within minutes. The concierge was helpful in answering questions and we did not feel cramped in the room at all (we had a "wonderful" sized room) Loved the city information that was shown on the large flat screen TV. No complaints! (Great bath products too!!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
toffee
MD
Aug 17, 2009

very good

I enjoyed the free wifi and location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
WV
Aug 16, 2009

W City Center

Very young professional oriented except for the cost. Small rooms but pet friendly. Expensive compared to other options nearby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Jul 31, 2009

heavy on hip, low on space

The room and bathroom were uncomfortably small. It was hard to turn around in the bathroom and the room gave me claustrophobia. Also, the BIG flat screen TV was on the side wall and the only way to watch it was to twist your neck sideways or sit sideways on the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Jul 19, 2009

Good Stay

This hotel is in a great location right in the loop next to the Sears Tower. Close to bus and train lines, lots of fun things to do, easy commute to both ball parks and navy pier. The rooms are very nice and very clean. The staff is a bit rude and act as if you are dumber than a rock. Out of towners beware. After check-in the trip was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

If you want great fun, take the short ride on the red line train to Addison and check out the strand of pubs and clubs. Much more exciting than staying in the loop. It only costs 2.25 to ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Jul 9, 2009

So Chic

The rooms were very chic, but rather small! The staff was very accommodating and helpful in meeting our needs from telling us the best restaurants to visit to the best tours to visit around the city. The restaurant was wonderful for dinner and breakfast!!! They have the BEST garlic bread I've ever had. They also have a nontraditional tiramisu that is to die for. Even their sorbet was tasty and very original! For breakfast, their french toast with vanilla butter and chicken sausage was wonderful. I was very surprised to find that their room service did not live up to the same expectations. This location is close to the Sears Tower, Grant Park, and many other sights in Chicago. I would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jad18
Iowa City, Iowa
Jul 6, 2009

Overall pleased

Overall, we enjoyed the hotel. We stayed for the Taste of Chicago and a Cubs game. Close proximity to public transit was a plus and the hotel was clean. Very modern and a little dark for our tastes. Also, we had some noise from the El in our room. Nothing that my earplugs did not cancel out, but I could see it bothering some people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search