$215 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 19, 2015 Check-out: Jun 21, 2015

W Chicago - City Center

4 stars
View map of 172 West Adams Street, 172 West Adams Street, Chicago, IL 60603-3604

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago - City Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sonz
Business
Madison, WI
May 2, 2011

Trendy Hot Spot

We were very impressed with both of our rooms. We had a "spectacular double" and a "spectacular king" and both were very nice. The decor is modern and the design of the room and its amenities are tailored to a young crowd (20's-30's) but the quality is excellent. The beds were very comfortable and the shower was quite satisfying. Both our rooms were large and had large bathrooms. Keep in mind as you plan what to pack that the hotel lobby can feel very clubby in the evening and you won't want to walk in wearing shorts or sweats. People at this hotel dress very well. We did not get to take advantage of the "Acura Service," but it sounded great. If you plan ahead, you can reserve the Acura drop-off service and someone will drive you from the hotel to any location within 5 miles for free in an Acura car. It fills up fast, however, so plan ahead. The hotel is in a great location in the Chicago loop and very close to Giordano's Pizza, the Sears tower, the Art Institute, Millenium Park, and plenty of starbucks, dunkin donuts, and argo tea's for breakfast. We had dinner a few blocks east at a German restaurant called the Berghoff, and it was very good. I highly recommend this hotel. It was very clean and comfortable, the staff was excellent, and it is in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the Acura drop-off service offered at the hotel. It is a free service that drops you off at any location within 5 miles of the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 17, 2009

Great location, great room

We travelled to Chicago for the first time this August and loved staying at the W on West Adams Street. The location was perfect for walking to Grant Park, Milennium Park and Art Institute with easy access to the El. We were able to arrive from Midway using the subway and literally walk to our hotel within minutes. The concierge was helpful in answering questions and we did not feel cramped in the room at all (we had a "wonderful" sized room) Loved the city information that was shown on the large flat screen TV. No complaints! (Great bath products too!!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karalyn
Business
Cleveland, OH
Mar 3, 2008

Wonderful staff, less than perfect location

This was my first time at any of the W hotel chains. The hotel was nice enough, but I was not blown away by any means. My room was average looking, but still clean and with plenty of toiletries. It was somewhat in the middle of nowhere, although it is walking distance to the Chicago Trolley's first stop and a $5-6 cab ride from Michigan Ave. The staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful; they alone would bring me back. I suppose I expected a tad more for the price considering there are many other options that are in a better location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
toffee
Business
MD
Aug 17, 2009

very good

I enjoyed the free wifi and location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis MN
Jul 5, 2011

comfy and classy!

Taste of Chicago! Close to everything you would want In Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jun 1, 2010

Spacious Room!

We typically stay at the W off of Lakeshore. However, we found the rooms in the W City Center to be huge, very nice and clean. The lobby wasn't as expansive as the Lakeshore location. However, it was still a nice area for drinks, relaxing or meeting friends. We'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Australia
Aug 5, 2010

Visit to the Windy City

We had a great time at the hotel our only suggestion would be information in the room for things to do in Chicago brochures etc we were only there 3 days so wanted to maximize what we saw and had to ask for information all other aspects of the stay were wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

When in Chicago get a $35 hop on hop off bus tour pass for 3 days then go to the water tower/tourist centre and plan the things you want to do in what order then getting around is easy and informative and all the attractions you wish to see are available

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 11, 2010

Very cool hotel

We stayed here after a work holiday party downtown and had a great time. Very hip, modern rooms w/ flat screen tv and cool lighting throughout the room. Rooms on the small side, but well appointed. The hotel lobby/bar is a great place to have a drink and people-watch too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 26, 2010

Great hotel, except for parking rates $$

Great hotel, but $51.00 for overnight parking is CRAZY! There is a self park lot just down the road that was $27.00

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park down the road for a much cheaper rate

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Picky Nicky
Business
Bay Area, California
Jun 12, 2014

Great location and cozy room!

Great location, easy access to subway and/or walking distance to attractions. I stayed here for a wedding and thought it was reasonably priced for a nice hotel in downtown Chicago. The room was beautiful. Only thing I'd note was that the basic room was a little small, but probably comparable to similar hotels. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The L is just a few minutes walk away!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top