$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 9, 2015 Check-out: May 10, 2015

W Chicago - City Center

4 stars
View map of 172 West Adams Street, 172 West Adams Street, Chicago, IL 60603-3604

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago - City Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
92 out of 92
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jc4444
Chicago, IL, USA
Jul 11, 2012

Good Hotel

Great location and friendly staff. Would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fl
Aug 29, 2010

Not too bad

Clean but too expensive. Very small room and batchroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

aquarium

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 26, 2010

Nice Hotel

Just wasn't what I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go out to eat and drink,save some money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Keeter
Business
Chicago, IL
Aug 24, 2010

Nice but noisy!!

The hotel is wonderful EXCEPT that it's right on the El train tracks! We were on the 20th floor, in room 2019, and it sounded like the train was right outside the window. The sound must be ricocheting off the other buildings. We were woken up several times during the night. Reminded me of that episode of I Love Lucy... Haha! Other than that the hotel is great! Nice rooms. Excellent staff. The bar is pricy! Weirdly enough, the same drinks are $2 cheaper at W Lakeshore. Cool feature is a partnership with Acura. You can schedule with the front desk for drop offs at locations around town instead of taking a cab. Probably saved $30 in cabs over the weekend. Bliss products in the bathrooms rocked!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cibo Matto! Amazing Italian restaurant at The Wit. Also definitely go to their rooftop deck for before / after dinner drinks!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
CA
Aug 9, 2010

''Fantastic''

Great attendance and staff are very professional.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Australia
Aug 5, 2010

Visit to the Windy City

We had a great time at the hotel our only suggestion would be information in the room for things to do in Chicago brochures etc we were only there 3 days so wanted to maximize what we saw and had to ask for information all other aspects of the stay were wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

When in Chicago get a $35 hop on hop off bus tour pass for 3 days then go to the water tower/tourist centre and plan the things you want to do in what order then getting around is easy and informative and all the attractions you wish to see are available

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 26, 2010

Great hotel, except for parking rates $$

Great hotel, but $51.00 for overnight parking is CRAZY! There is a self park lot just down the road that was $27.00

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park down the road for a much cheaper rate

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young Lover
Business
Calumet City, IL
Jul 17, 2010

Wow is spelled with a W for a reason

The hotel was very nice. The staff was good. And the location was amazing. I wanted to take my boyfriend to the Sears (or Willis if thats what you want to call it) Tower for his birthday. The hotel was located two blocks away and we just walked there. The Hotel is not that from the Loop where many stores and restaurants are located. We took the Bus to the Cheesecake Factory and we walked along Michigan Ave. We loved the location to say the least and not to mention the rooms were so intimate for a couple. If you want to take your significant other anywhere you should take them to the W hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Young person
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jul 11, 2010

A complete review for a first timer

Basically you get a dorm room with a miniature bathroom. If you are of a large body size, you would have trouble maneuvering inside the standard ("Wonderful") room. It is advertised as a Botique hotel, but I would say it is like being in a "constant beer commercial". The lobby is interesting (nice change from the usual) but is mainly for a younger crowd. Older folks need not come to this hotel unless they want to be frustrated by sensory overload from music, blacklights and nightclub layout (even at 10am!). City noise like from the train could be bothersome...for us it was "ok" and not a problem. The valet service was phenomenal (expeditious and courteous). For our stay it was ALWAYS hard to find staff in the lobby for things like check-in/out and other room requests. A much better idea is to call them instead, even if you're sitting in the lobby! The people are definitely nice when you are able to find them. The room was small and unimpressive. Basic except for the 42inch TV/DVD/Safe which were useful amenities. I guess it was good for the downtown chicago location; plenty of resturaunts nearby but I recommend going near the lake shore side near the pier for better tourist activity. A business traveler would like the city center location. Comparing W city center vs. Lakeshore location...I would pick city center b/c of hotel itself, the lakeshore location for...location. Compared to other trips we've taken, this hotel was slightly better than 3 stars, definitely NOT a 4 star like we had anticipated. Would we stay here again? Probably not. Sorry. Maybe if the rooms were nicer/larger and staff easier to find in person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Food is always near by (walking distance for chain resturaunts and a few hometown ones). Shopping and attractions are better near the Navy Pier and Magnificent mile (take a cab). Segway tour is a MUST. Well worth the cost for us but research your choice of which company in advance, and book after checking the weather. You don't want to get rained on. Our experience was unbelievably awesome!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 10, 2010

Great Personnel & Slick Accomodations

perfect check in early too, liked all freindly staff dealt with, very honest conceriege, recs of food great as well and fantastic relaxing room,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Valparaiso, IN
Jul 6, 2010

Excellent downtown hotel

I saw two Cubs games, two movies, and ate at some of my favorite restaurants. I love Petterino's!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel breakfasts were excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top