$197 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2014 Check-out: Aug 10, 2014

W Chicago - City Center

4 stars
172 West Adams Street, Chicago, IL 60603-3604
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
122 reviews
Great couple getaway

Friendly Staff, clean and spacious rooms. W Chicago city center is the place to stay! See full review

  • Maria Isabel
  • Jun 17, 2014
Great Time

Staff was wonderful - location was convient. Music for lobby was different but I'd recommend to any... See full review

  • Bus Traveler to Chicago
  • Mar 7, 2014
Beaux-arts glamour in the Loop

Awash in spotlights and marked by a big red W, this Loop hotel makes a fashionable statement in the Windy City. Fusing modern touches with classic Chicago architecture, the AAA four diamond property drips with drama. From the grand lobby boasting marble pillars and a vaulted ceiling, there's a sense of history at the W Chicago City Center with a nod to Chicago's role in modern architecture. Guest rooms ooze signature Starwood style, while a convenient location in the Financial District near theaters appeals to business and leisure travelers.

Highlights
  • Located in the heart of the Financial District
  • Close to landmarks like Willis Tower, theater district and the Art Institute
  • Urban chic guest rooms
  • DJ-driven bar and specialty cocktails in The Living Room Bar
  • 24-hour amenities like room service, a business center, SWEAT fitness center and a DVD library
Rooms

Jewel-toned colored accent pieces like purple chaises and red throw pillows contrast white walls and linens in minimalist studio and suite-sized guest rooms. Like all W properties, the rooms, which vary in layout depending on the floor, are stocked with standards like Bliss spa products and plump W feather beds with pillow-top mattresses. Crisp 350-count sheets and down comforters invite after a long day of business meetings. Suites mimic hip city apartments with wet bars, parlors and sleek 42-inch flat-screen TVs.

Features

The Living Room Bar skews to professionals who would rather people-watch and listen to the DJ set than spend an evening alone in their room. The bar, with a gold-leaf ceiling and ivory leather arm chairs, is the place to linger with a martini or consult your smartphone. Wireless access is free in the lobby.

Given its location near the Board of Trade and Chicago Mercantile Exchange, IPO, which stands for initial public offering, certainly deserves the award for best-named restaurant in Chicago. Flavorwise, expect contemporary dishes that trot the globe, including small plates such as seared scallops with chorizo, sofrito and chervil, plus chocolate and popcorn with peaches, mint, brown butter, corn sorbet and fleur de sel.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (18 miles)
  • Midway Airport (11 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Jackson to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Quincy/Wells to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (8 minutes)
Attractions
  • Chicago Board of Trade
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange
  • Loop
  • Cadillac Palace Theater
  • State Street
  • Jewelers Row
  • Millennium Park
Business
  • 10 function rooms covering 12,000 square feet
  • 24-hour business center with Mac and IBM computers, high-speed Internet access, copy, print, scan and faxing capabilities
  • Cisco TelePrescence Suite available for teleconferencing offsite employees around the world
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Meeting specialists to plan events
Policies and Fees
  • Starting 1 Jul, the hotel will charge parking fees as follows: $24 USD per two hours; $31 USD per six hours and $60 USD per 24 hours
  • The hotel does not accept guests below 21 years old.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8794 -87.6332
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 8.00, MI; Chicago O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 15.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Chicago - City Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

W Chicago - City Center Rooms

Wonderful
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Iron
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Union Station: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Union Station: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.5 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.7 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 0.9 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.1 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 1.2 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.2 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago - City Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Australia
Aug 5, 2010

Visit to the Windy City

We had a great time at the hotel our only suggestion would be information in the room for things to do in Chicago brochures etc we were only there 3 days so wanted to maximize what we saw and had to ask for information all other aspects of the stay were wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

When in Chicago get a $35 hop on hop off bus tour pass for 3 days then go to the water tower/tourist centre and plan the things you want to do in what order then getting around is easy and informative and all the attractions you wish to see are available

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 26, 2010

Great hotel, except for parking rates $$

Great hotel, but $51.00 for overnight parking is CRAZY! There is a self park lot just down the road that was $27.00

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park down the road for a much cheaper rate

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 26, 2010

Great hotel, except for parking rates $$

Great hotel, but $51.00 for overnight parking is CRAZY! There is a self park lot just down the road that was $27.00

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park down the road for a much cheaper rate

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young Lover
Calumet City, IL
Jul 17, 2010

Wow is spelled with a W for a reason

The hotel was very nice. The staff was good. And the location was amazing. I wanted to take my boyfriend to the Sears (or Willis if thats what you want to call it) Tower for his birthday. The hotel was located two blocks away and we just walked there. The Hotel is not that from the Loop where many stores and restaurants are located. We took the Bus to the Cheesecake Factory and we walked along Michigan Ave. We loved the location to say the least and not to mention the rooms were so intimate for a couple. If you want to take your significant other anywhere you should take them to the W hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young Lover
Calumet City, IL
Jul 17, 2010

Wow is spelled with a W for a reason

The hotel was very nice. The staff was good. And the location was amazing. I wanted to take my boyfriend to the Sears (or Willis if thats what you want to call it) Tower for his birthday. The hotel was located two blocks away and we just walked there. The Hotel is not that from the Loop where many stores and restaurants are located. We took the Bus to the Cheesecake Factory and we walked along Michigan Ave. We loved the location to say the least and not to mention the rooms were so intimate for a couple. If you want to take your significant other anywhere you should take them to the W hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Young person
Raleigh, NC
Jul 11, 2010

A complete review for a first timer

Basically you get a dorm room with a miniature bathroom. If you are of a large body size, you would have trouble maneuvering inside the standard ("Wonderful") room. It is advertised as a Botique hotel, but I would say it is like being in a "constant beer commercial". The lobby is interesting (nice change from the usual) but is mainly for a younger crowd. Older folks need not come to this hotel unless they want to be frustrated by sensory overload from music, blacklights and nightclub layout (even at 10am!). City noise like from the train could be bothersome...for us it was "ok" and not a problem. The valet service was phenomenal (expeditious and courteous). For our stay it was ALWAYS hard to find staff in the lobby for things like check-in/out and other room requests. A much better idea is to call them instead, even if you're sitting in the lobby! The people are definitely nice when you are able to find them. The room was small and unimpressive. Basic except for the 42inch TV/DVD/Safe which were useful amenities. I guess it was good for the downtown chicago location; plenty of resturaunts nearby but I recommend going near the lake shore side near the pier for better tourist activity. A business traveler would like the city center location. Comparing W city center vs. Lakeshore location...I would pick city center b/c of hotel itself, the lakeshore location for...location. Compared to other trips we've taken, this hotel was slightly better than 3 stars, definitely NOT a 4 star like we had anticipated. Would we stay here again? Probably not. Sorry. Maybe if the rooms were nicer/larger and staff easier to find in person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Food is always near by (walking distance for chain resturaunts and a few hometown ones). Shopping and attractions are better near the Navy Pier and Magnificent mile (take a cab). Segway tour is a MUST. Well worth the cost for us but research your choice of which company in advance, and book after checking the weather. You don't want to get rained on. Our experience was unbelievably awesome!

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Young person
Raleigh, NC
Jul 11, 2010

A complete review for a first timer

Basically you get a dorm room with a miniature bathroom. If you are of a large body size, you would have trouble maneuvering inside the standard ("Wonderful") room. It is advertised as a Botique hotel, but I would say it is like being in a "constant beer commercial". The lobby is interesting (nice change from the usual) but is mainly for a younger crowd. Older folks need not come to this hotel unless they want to be frustrated by sensory overload from music, blacklights and nightclub layout (even at 10am!). City noise like from the train could be bothersome...for us it was "ok" and not a problem. The valet service was phenomenal (expeditious and courteous). For our stay it was ALWAYS hard to find staff in the lobby for things like check-in/out and other room requests. A much better idea is to call them instead, even if you're sitting in the lobby! The people are definitely nice when you are able to find them. The room was small and unimpressive. Basic except for the 42inch TV/DVD/Safe which were useful amenities. I guess it was good for the downtown chicago location; plenty of resturaunts nearby but I recommend going near the lake shore side near the pier for better tourist activity. A business traveler would like the city center location. Comparing W city center vs. Lakeshore location...I would pick city center b/c of hotel itself, the lakeshore location for...location. Compared to other trips we've taken, this hotel was slightly better than 3 stars, definitely NOT a 4 star like we had anticipated. Would we stay here again? Probably not. Sorry. Maybe if the rooms were nicer/larger and staff easier to find in person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Food is always near by (walking distance for chain resturaunts and a few hometown ones). Shopping and attractions are better near the Navy Pier and Magnificent mile (take a cab). Segway tour is a MUST. Well worth the cost for us but research your choice of which company in advance, and book after checking the weather. You don't want to get rained on. Our experience was unbelievably awesome!

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Jul 10, 2010

Great Personnel & Slick Accomodations

perfect check in early too, liked all freindly staff dealt with, very honest conceriege, recs of food great as well and fantastic relaxing room,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Atlanta, GA
Jul 10, 2010

Great Personnel & Slick Accomodations

perfect check in early too, liked all freindly staff dealt with, very honest conceriege, recs of food great as well and fantastic relaxing room,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Valparaiso, IN
Jul 6, 2010

Excellent downtown hotel

I saw two Cubs games, two movies, and ate at some of my favorite restaurants. I love Petterino's!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel breakfasts were excellent.

Back to menu Return to top