$111 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 27, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

W Chicago - City Center

4 stars
172 West Adams Street, 172 West Adams Street, Chicago, IL 60603-3604
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
86 reviews
Great couple getaway

Friendly Staff, clean and spacious rooms. W Chicago city center is the place to stay! See full review

  • Maria Isabel
  • Jun 17, 2014
Great Time

Staff was wonderful - location was convient. Music for lobby was different but I'd recommend to any... See full review

  • Bus Traveler to Chicago
  • Mar 7, 2014
Beaux-arts glamour in the Loop

Awash in spotlights and marked by a big red W, this Loop hotel makes a fashionable statement in the Windy City. Fusing modern touches with classic Chicago architecture, the AAA four diamond property drips with drama. From the grand lobby boasting marble pillars and a vaulted ceiling, there's a sense of history at the W Chicago City Center with a nod to Chicago's role in modern architecture. Guest rooms ooze signature Starwood style, while a convenient location in the Financial District near theaters appeals to business and leisure travelers.

Highlights
  • Located in the heart of the Financial District
  • Close to landmarks like Willis Tower, theater district and the Art Institute
  • Urban chic guest rooms
  • DJ-driven bar and specialty cocktails in The Living Room Bar
  • 24-hour amenities like room service, a business center, SWEAT fitness center and a DVD library
Rooms

Jewel-toned colored accent pieces like purple chaises and red throw pillows contrast white walls and linens in minimalist studio and suite-sized guest rooms. Like all W properties, the rooms, which vary in layout depending on the floor, are stocked with standards like Bliss spa products and plump W feather beds with pillow-top mattresses. Crisp 350-count sheets and down comforters invite after a long day of business meetings. Suites mimic hip city apartments with wet bars, parlors and sleek 42-inch flat-screen TVs.

Features

The Living Room Bar skews to professionals who would rather people-watch and listen to the DJ set than spend an evening alone in their room. The bar, with a gold-leaf ceiling and ivory leather arm chairs, is the place to linger with a martini or consult your smartphone. Wireless access is free in the lobby.

Given its location near the Board of Trade and Chicago Mercantile Exchange, IPO, which stands for initial public offering, certainly deserves the award for best-named restaurant in Chicago. Flavorwise, expect contemporary dishes that trot the globe, including small plates such as seared scallops with chorizo, sofrito and chervil, plus chocolate and popcorn with peaches, mint, brown butter, corn sorbet and fleur de sel.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (18 miles)
  • Midway Airport (11 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Jackson to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Quincy/Wells to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (8 minutes)
Attractions
  • Chicago Board of Trade
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange
  • Loop
  • Cadillac Palace Theater
  • State Street
  • Jewelers Row
  • Millennium Park
Business
  • 10 function rooms covering 12,000 square feet
  • 24-hour business center with Mac and IBM computers, high-speed Internet access, copy, print, scan and faxing capabilities
  • Cisco TelePrescence Suite available for teleconferencing offsite employees around the world
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Meeting specialists to plan events
Policies and Fees
  • Starting 1 Jul, the hotel will charge parking fees as follows: $24 USD per two hours; $31 USD per six hours and $60 USD per 24 hours
  • The hotel does not accept guests below 21 years old.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Chicago - City Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

W Chicago - City Center Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Union Station: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Union Station: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.5 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.7 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 0.9 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.1 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 1.2 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.2 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1.4 mi

Dining

IPO
Hello, downtown decadence. Welcome to IPO, which boasts new urban cuisine and contemporary American flavors. With the Loop as its backdrop, it’s a favorite for the downtown 9-5 set and theater-goers.
The Living Room Bar
Not your ordinary living room. DJs, games, wireless high speed internet access, a colorful W Signature drink list, and full bottle service will keep you entertained for hours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (86)

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago - City Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
86 out of 86
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Naperville
Jul 5, 2008

W City Center

The W City Center location is ideal, a quick walk from Union Station. I had booked in so that I could have fun with friends in the city and not have to worry about trekking back to the suburbs late at night. I was surprised that for the price of room I paid for the room was the size of my cubicle at work. It was clean, with trendy design and yummy smelling organic soaps. The flat screen TV and IPOD docking station were a plus. The bed was soft and comfy, but the window looked out on a noisy alley so I couldn't open my window for fresh air while I slept. For a great location, a rocking lobby, overall friendliness of staff, this property was excellent. For quality of room for the money, you may want to haggle for an upgrade upon check-in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Walkable to State Street for some great shopping at Marshall Field's. Close to the Lake and Millenium Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young Lover
Business
Calumet City, IL
Jul 17, 2010

Wow is spelled with a W for a reason

The hotel was very nice. The staff was good. And the location was amazing. I wanted to take my boyfriend to the Sears (or Willis if thats what you want to call it) Tower for his birthday. The hotel was located two blocks away and we just walked there. The Hotel is not that from the Loop where many stores and restaurants are located. We took the Bus to the Cheesecake Factory and we walked along Michigan Ave. We loved the location to say the least and not to mention the rooms were so intimate for a couple. If you want to take your significant other anywhere you should take them to the W hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Valparaiso, IN
Jul 6, 2010

Excellent downtown hotel

I saw two Cubs games, two movies, and ate at some of my favorite restaurants. I love Petterino's!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel breakfasts were excellent.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles
Oct 19, 2008

My review of W Chicago - City Center

The location of the hotel is ideal. It is close to everything and within walking distance of major attractions and business. I did not like the size of the room or the ambience of the lobby. And I thought the food in the restaurant was too expensive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jad18
Business
Iowa City, Iowa
Jul 6, 2009

Overall pleased

Overall, we enjoyed the hotel. We stayed for the Taste of Chicago and a Cubs game. Close proximity to public transit was a plus and the hotel was clean. Very modern and a little dark for our tastes. Also, we had some noise from the El in our room. Nothing that my earplugs did not cancel out, but I could see it bothering some people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Aurora, IL
Jun 7, 2009

A Neat Place

We booked the hotel because we got a great rate for a 4 star hotel and don't have the chance to see that many stars very often. Our favorite thing about the hotel was the exceptional service provided by all of the staff. Absolutely outstanding and friendly - not forced - from check in to check out. There was a prom in the hotel that night so we expected some noise and that the staff would've had their hands full. Not true at all! We had ice brought to the room just minutes after calling for it (the machine on our floor wasn't working) and the rooms were very insulated so there was no noise. The room was pretty small but not unexpectedly so for the city and for the price. The bathroom was too small for anyone's comfort and would keep me from staying more than a night or two. Our friends' room down the hall just a bit had a larger bathroom so that would have solved my only real negative about the place. All in all, a very nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Jul 19, 2009

Good Stay

This hotel is in a great location right in the loop next to the Sears Tower. Close to bus and train lines, lots of fun things to do, easy commute to both ball parks and navy pier. The rooms are very nice and very clean. The staff is a bit rude and act as if you are dumber than a rock. Out of towners beware. After check-in the trip was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

If you want great fun, take the short ride on the red line train to Addison and check out the strand of pubs and clubs. Much more exciting than staying in the loop. It only costs 2.25 to ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sonz
Business
Madison, WI
May 2, 2011

Trendy Hot Spot

We were very impressed with both of our rooms. We had a "spectacular double" and a "spectacular king" and both were very nice. The decor is modern and the design of the room and its amenities are tailored to a young crowd (20's-30's) but the quality is excellent. The beds were very comfortable and the shower was quite satisfying. Both our rooms were large and had large bathrooms. Keep in mind as you plan what to pack that the hotel lobby can feel very clubby in the evening and you won't want to walk in wearing shorts or sweats. People at this hotel dress very well. We did not get to take advantage of the "Acura Service," but it sounded great. If you plan ahead, you can reserve the Acura drop-off service and someone will drive you from the hotel to any location within 5 miles for free in an Acura car. It fills up fast, however, so plan ahead. The hotel is in a great location in the Chicago loop and very close to Giordano's Pizza, the Sears tower, the Art Institute, Millenium Park, and plenty of starbucks, dunkin donuts, and argo tea's for breakfast. We had dinner a few blocks east at a German restaurant called the Berghoff, and it was very good. I highly recommend this hotel. It was very clean and comfortable, the staff was excellent, and it is in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the Acura drop-off service offered at the hotel. It is a free service that drops you off at any location within 5 miles of the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 17, 2009

Great location, great room

We travelled to Chicago for the first time this August and loved staying at the W on West Adams Street. The location was perfect for walking to Grant Park, Milennium Park and Art Institute with easy access to the El. We were able to arrive from Midway using the subway and literally walk to our hotel within minutes. The concierge was helpful in answering questions and we did not feel cramped in the room at all (we had a "wonderful" sized room) Loved the city information that was shown on the large flat screen TV. No complaints! (Great bath products too!!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Karalyn
Business
Cleveland, OH
Mar 3, 2008

Wonderful staff, less than perfect location

This was my first time at any of the W hotel chains. The hotel was nice enough, but I was not blown away by any means. My room was average looking, but still clean and with plenty of toiletries. It was somewhat in the middle of nowhere, although it is walking distance to the Chicago Trolley's first stop and a $5-6 cab ride from Michigan Ave. The staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful; they alone would bring me back. I suppose I expected a tad more for the price considering there are many other options that are in a better location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top