$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 4, 2015 Check-out: Apr 5, 2015

W Chicago - City Center

4 stars
View map of 172 West Adams Street, 172 West Adams Street, Chicago, IL 60603-3604

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago - City Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
91 out of 91
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jc4444
Chicago, IL, USA
Jul 11, 2012

Good Hotel

Great location and friendly staff. Would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sully27
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Nov 22, 2011

Tiny, tiny room

The hotel room was very tiny. Forget about sharing the bathroom with anyone else, let alone be comfortable in there by yourself. The hotel had a nice decor but that didn't make up for the room size. While staying there my boyfriend and I had breakfast in the adjoining restaurant. The food was good but don't get coffee in there, we got charged $8 for two cups of coffee. For that price I could have gone to Starbucks and at least gotten espresso. The Acura Experience was nice but it only takes you to your destination, it does not pick you up from there. This will definitely not be my first choice of places to stay when going back to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GregI
Business
San Diego
Nov 22, 2011

W in Chicago

First off, realize there's 2 W's in Chicago. We made the mistake of thinking there was only 1, so half of our group was at the Lakeview location. This location is good, but compared to the other one, it's not even close. Ours was still nice and comfy, nice staff and very nice amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MereMac
Business
Kentucky, USA
Nov 20, 2011

Awesome weekend

Welcoming and easy! I loved the decor and the atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a taxi

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
captjay21
Business
Dallas, TX, USA
Sep 27, 2011

Didnt clean my room!

The location was perfect! The amenities were lacking depth and not much room to move around in the hotel. Room was small but did the job, i would go back for the right deal!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Minneapolis MN
Jul 5, 2011

comfy and classy!

Taste of Chicago! Close to everything you would want In Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jun 27, 2011

Pretty good for the price

Despite the gimmicky nature of W Hotels in general, there are a lot of advantages. Well-situated in the middle of downtown Chicago, close to all major sights; would highly recommend to tourists. Staff are generally young and hip, but not necessarily knowledgeable. We got a good deal online so felt it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Convenient walk to everywhere.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sonz
Business
Madison, WI
May 2, 2011

Trendy Hot Spot

We were very impressed with both of our rooms. We had a "spectacular double" and a "spectacular king" and both were very nice. The decor is modern and the design of the room and its amenities are tailored to a young crowd (20's-30's) but the quality is excellent. The beds were very comfortable and the shower was quite satisfying. Both our rooms were large and had large bathrooms. Keep in mind as you plan what to pack that the hotel lobby can feel very clubby in the evening and you won't want to walk in wearing shorts or sweats. People at this hotel dress very well. We did not get to take advantage of the "Acura Service," but it sounded great. If you plan ahead, you can reserve the Acura drop-off service and someone will drive you from the hotel to any location within 5 miles for free in an Acura car. It fills up fast, however, so plan ahead. The hotel is in a great location in the Chicago loop and very close to Giordano's Pizza, the Sears tower, the Art Institute, Millenium Park, and plenty of starbucks, dunkin donuts, and argo tea's for breakfast. We had dinner a few blocks east at a German restaurant called the Berghoff, and it was very good. I highly recommend this hotel. It was very clean and comfortable, the staff was excellent, and it is in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the Acura drop-off service offered at the hotel. It is a free service that drops you off at any location within 5 miles of the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago,IL
Mar 20, 2011

Great Getaway With my Girlfriend

Hangout in Room. Room service. Its all good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Lexington, KY
Aug 30, 2010

Very pleased

The service, low light ambiance, theme, and architecture of the building are top notch. Loved how music in elevators changed to fit the time of day. We were booked in what turned out to probably (hopefully?) their smallest room- they were full, but said they could move us the next day, which is what happened. The new room was just fine, but you should be aware that they have at least 4 room layouts, not including any suites, etc. We met friends who had 2 other rooms, both bigger than our new room. The only other issue was the very cool temp. of the hallways ( I would guess in the low to mid 60's). Other than that, the experience was fantastic, and they serve a great breakfast (best french toast ever!) I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to my friends, and hope to try their other Chicago hotel in the future! Thanks W for a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bella Nolte- exquisite and the real deal

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fl
Aug 29, 2010

Not too bad

Clean but too expensive. Very small room and batchroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

aquarium

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top