W Chicago - City Center

4 stars
172 West Adams Street, Chicago, IL 60603-3604
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
122 reviews
Great couple getaway

Friendly Staff, clean and spacious rooms. W Chicago city center is the place to stay! See full review

  • Maria Isabel
  • Jun 17, 2014
Great Time

Staff was wonderful - location was convient. Music for lobby was different but I'd recommend to any... See full review

  • Bus Traveler to Chicago
  • Mar 7, 2014
Beaux-arts glamour in the Loop

Awash in spotlights and marked by a big red W, this Loop hotel makes a fashionable statement in the Windy City. Fusing modern touches with classic Chicago architecture, the AAA four diamond property drips with drama. From the grand lobby boasting marble pillars and a vaulted ceiling, there's a sense of history at the W Chicago City Center with a nod to Chicago's role in modern architecture. Guest rooms ooze signature Starwood style, while a convenient location in the Financial District near theaters appeals to business and leisure travelers.

Highlights
  • Located in the heart of the Financial District
  • Close to landmarks like Willis Tower, theater district and the Art Institute
  • Urban chic guest rooms
  • DJ-driven bar and specialty cocktails in The Living Room Bar
  • 24-hour amenities like room service, a business center, SWEAT fitness center and a DVD library
Rooms

Jewel-toned colored accent pieces like purple chaises and red throw pillows contrast white walls and linens in minimalist studio and suite-sized guest rooms. Like all W properties, the rooms, which vary in layout depending on the floor, are stocked with standards like Bliss spa products and plump W feather beds with pillow-top mattresses. Crisp 350-count sheets and down comforters invite after a long day of business meetings. Suites mimic hip city apartments with wet bars, parlors and sleek 42-inch flat-screen TVs.

Features

The Living Room Bar skews to professionals who would rather people-watch and listen to the DJ set than spend an evening alone in their room. The bar, with a gold-leaf ceiling and ivory leather arm chairs, is the place to linger with a martini or consult your smartphone. Wireless access is free in the lobby.

Given its location near the Board of Trade and Chicago Mercantile Exchange, IPO, which stands for initial public offering, certainly deserves the award for best-named restaurant in Chicago. Flavorwise, expect contemporary dishes that trot the globe, including small plates such as seared scallops with chorizo, sofrito and chervil, plus chocolate and popcorn with peaches, mint, brown butter, corn sorbet and fleur de sel.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (18 miles)
  • Midway Airport (11 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Jackson to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Quincy/Wells to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (8 minutes)
Attractions
  • Chicago Board of Trade
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange
  • Loop
  • Cadillac Palace Theater
  • State Street
  • Jewelers Row
  • Millennium Park
Business
  • 10 function rooms covering 12,000 square feet
  • 24-hour business center with Mac and IBM computers, high-speed Internet access, copy, print, scan and faxing capabilities
  • Cisco TelePrescence Suite available for teleconferencing offsite employees around the world
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Meeting specialists to plan events
Policies and Fees
  • Starting 1 Jul, the hotel will charge parking fees as follows: $24 USD per two hours; $31 USD per six hours and $60 USD per 24 hours
  • The hotel does not accept guests below 21 years old.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

W Chicago - City Center Rooms

Wonderful
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Iron
Ironing board

Hotel Map

41.8794 -87.6332
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 8.00, MI; Chicago O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 15.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Union Station: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Union Station: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.5 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.7 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 0.9 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.1 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 1.2 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.2 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago - City Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Trishlynn
Chicago, Illinois
Oct 13, 2013

Just not worth it

Just to sum it all up, I'll go about this chronologically. When we arrived in Chicago, and came to this hotel, we were first introduced to a scene that was meant to be taken as 'edgy' and 'nightclub'. This was alright, but that tolerance quickly faded as soon as we stepped into the elevator and took note of the unusual lights and cheap walls. This had a headache inducing effect. We had been told at the lobby that our two queen room had received an upgrade. So natural we were irritated to find that our "upgrade" had reduced our two queens to a single king. When we called to ask about switching back to our old room, they told us it was no longer available. This resulted in me sleeping on the short lounge chaise. Most of this would have been tolerable if it weren't for the fact that we were paying an exorbitant sum for what at best were mediocre accommodations. Another thing to note upon further exploration of the room showed that trash had been left on the floor, as well as a wet spot by the desk. The door handle of the sliding door bathroom also pulled right off, and showed a sticky residue which indicated that this was not the first time it had come off, not had anyone ever bothered to properly secure it. The handle of the bath plug also pulled straight off, which was irritating. Another note on the sheer cost, the cheapest item in terms of hotel food was $6. For airplane grade snacks. Do yourself a favor and don't go to this hotel. It's just not worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
designer
Des Moines, IA
Sep 26, 2013

Highly recommend

Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Staff was efficient and friendly. Lots of people to hold doors, hail cabs, check in and a very good concierge. Location is excellent, mere blocks from Union Station, Art Institute and great shopping. Restaurants very close and Starbucks and drugstores within a block or less. Room was clean, very comfortable bed, temperature, lighting etc. I even searched for the tag on the pillows to see what brand they were and just orderd some for home! It was very small which for the most part I didn't mind. Bath was pretty tight and room 707 could use just one more towel bar. :) The decor for the entire hotel is very contemporary which is fine but I find all the colored dim lighting to be a bit much. Also not wild about the perfumed lobby. Please note that this is an older building and sound travels from hallway and adjacent rooms. No hotel is perfect and I expect other guests to do their part to be respectful of others in hotel. Hotel staff informed me that exterior rooms are noisier than interior rooms which was wonderful of them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
achris
Business
NYC
Apr 14, 2013

Elogent and comfortable

I dont stay at a W to get my but kissed. But i do enjoy having a great room and magnificeny ambiance in the lobby. The lobby really takes it to the next level. Fpr another great stay, this had every point gpog for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jwhi0207
Chicago, Illinois
Dec 3, 2012

Nice Rooms! Great Staff!

Rooms were great. Very clean. Only downfall was that the rooms were kind of small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
grafguy86
St. Louis, MO
Oct 23, 2012

Poor Room Value

I understand that this hotel is in downtown chicago, but the room was tiny, and looked no nicer than a Holiday Inn Express. Other rooms looked really cool and updated, but ours looked like it was stuck in the 90s...everything was tan/beige color. Overall poor value for the price you pay. Additionally a room was not available to us at check in and we had to wait 45 minutes to get a room. Luckily they gave us some free drink tickets so we had something to do while we waited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ReviewerGuyEspecial
middletown, new jersey
Aug 31, 2012

Good for center City or if you have somewhere to go outside of Chicago

Hotel is a 5 min walk from Union Station, so if your stay in Chicago involves going/seeing anyone outside of downtown, its very convenient to the Metra. Otherwise the the hotel is usual W experience... no great views in this one, but comfortable bed, good multimedia options in the room. But also as with the W...no free Wi-Fi - they really need to change that policy, its becoming a bigger reason not to choose a W hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lucyg
zimbabwe
Aug 22, 2012

Great night away!

We didn't spend much time in the hotel but were able to walk outside and have a wonderful time in downtown Chicago so easily. The concierge and all staff were so helpful, and we enjoyed several meals, shopping, and sites so easily! The room is small, but it feels absolutely worth the cost based on location and modernity. Recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChuckP
Business
Los angeles
Aug 9, 2012

Nice property

The W Chicago has a great building and nice rooms. The fitness center was better than average. It seems like the staff is either lacking training or just losing their customer service excellence. What I mean by that is, I was actually challenged when waiting to check in at the front desk (standing there with my bags) "Do you have a question?" - I replied "no, I'm checking in" - like I was standing at a hotel front desk with bags waiting for a train? The hostess at the restaurant was clearly in a bad mood, which I'd prefer she was trained well enough not to make that obvious. She was sullen and bordering on rude. Overall it is still a nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Norte
Business
Santiago, Chile
Jul 25, 2012

Excellent location

Excellent location in the heart of The Loop. The decoration is a little unusual for a hotel, but it was a nice surprise. The room was clean and the staff was kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jc4444
Chicago, IL, USA
Jul 11, 2012

Good Hotel

Great location and friendly staff. Would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top