$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jun 5, 2015 Check-out: Jun 7, 2015

W Chicago - City Center

4 stars
View map of 172 West Adams Street, 172 West Adams Street, Chicago, IL 60603-3604

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago - City Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mocha girl
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 11, 2014

Wedding Weekend

I had a great time at the W Hotel. It was very trendy and right in the heart of everything. Word of advice do not rent a car... Just walk or taxi. Parking cost roughly $62.00 a night plus tipping the valet. The staff was friendly , the room was a hint small but nevertheless I would definitely stay there again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
david2kawika
Business
seattle, wa
Aug 1, 2014

w chicago

excellent location, fantastic staff but room was a bit smaller than expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

use the expertise of the concierge. they made the stay even more enjoyable.

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Unhappy W City Center
Business
Toronto
Jul 7, 2014

Not Worth the Money At All!

We were in a very small room that not even a person who went alone could pass their shadow in. It was VErrrryyyy disappointing. Not the room that I saw when I initially booked so this was very misleading. The staff was so kind and very helpful (mostly the valet staff, other than that we were highly disappointed in our stay at this hotel and the room we were given at the price that we paid that we will NEVER return and do not encourage others to visit this hotel either. I had read this same disappointment in other reviews but thought we would still go and find out for ourselves. Sorry to say that the reviews that were not very positive were very spot on. A big disappointment. Our best part of the stay was being away from the hotel, even at night and enjoying downtown Chicago. Please suggest other worthwhile Chicago hotels to visit as we would like to go back, just not to the W city center hotel. I wonder if the W lakeshore hotel is the same?? Forgot to mention that the bathroom was so small that we literally stepped out of the bathtub and stepped right into the toilet, to give you an idea of the size. Thoroughly disappointed and believe we deserve to have our money back for being mislead on the type of luxury room that we were to receive.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Maria Isabel
Business
Bronx, NY
Jun 17, 2014

Great couple getaway

Friendly Staff, clean and spacious rooms. W Chicago city center is the place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Picky Nicky
Business
Bay Area, California
Jun 12, 2014

Great location and cozy room!

Great location, easy access to subway and/or walking distance to attractions. I stayed here for a wedding and thought it was reasonably priced for a nice hotel in downtown Chicago. The room was beautiful. Only thing I'd note was that the basic room was a little small, but probably comparable to similar hotels. Would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The L is just a few minutes walk away!

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
marifli 2
Business
clevalnd
May 26, 2014

room

For the price of this hotel they could of placed a coffee maker in the room. In addition some bigger bottles of shampoo/ condtitioner and a continental breakfast would of been nice. Otherwise I would recomend another hotel for less and better amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bonita Lee
Business
Chicago
Apr 30, 2014

W hotel

Love it! And would recommend for others go stay. However, when we got there, the water pipes weren't working and the guest service guy upgraded us to. Bigger suite, and also provided water bottles for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yogi Mama
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Apr 28, 2014

Beautiful, Trendy Hotel - check in rough, rooms small

We stayed at the W for weekend getaway. We arrived early at 130pm and were told the room was not ready but they took our cellphone number and promised to call as soon as the room was ready - 3pm at the very latest. By 530, we still received no phone call & we tried to call the hotel but no answer. Upon returning, a very large group arrived - apparently they forgot to call us? They said all they had left were small cozy rooms even though we purchased a larger Wonderful rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bus Traveler to Chicago
Business
Chicago
Mar 7, 2014

Great Time

Staff was wonderful - location was convient. Music for lobby was different but I'd recommend to any business traveler

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andonis
Business
Boston
Jan 22, 2014

Weekend Winter Getaway

Location was perfect a quick walk from the Willis Tower and a few blocks away from Millenium Park. It was a pleasent stay, the staff was very friendly and the concierge were the most helpful. I look forward to returning again preferably in the summertime!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top