$118 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 28, 2014 Check-out: Dec 31, 2014

W Chicago - City Center

4 stars
172 West Adams Street, 172 West Adams Street, Chicago, IL 60603-3604
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
87 reviews
Great couple getaway

Friendly Staff, clean and spacious rooms. W Chicago city center is the place to stay! See full review

  • Maria Isabel
  • Jun 17, 2014
Great Time

Staff was wonderful - location was convient. Music for lobby was different but I'd recommend to any... See full review

  • Bus Traveler to Chicago
  • Mar 7, 2014
Beaux-arts glamour in the Loop

Awash in spotlights and marked by a big red W, this Loop hotel makes a fashionable statement in the Windy City. Fusing modern touches with classic Chicago architecture, the AAA four diamond property drips with drama. From the grand lobby boasting marble pillars and a vaulted ceiling, there's a sense of history at the W Chicago City Center with a nod to Chicago's role in modern architecture. Guest rooms ooze signature Starwood style, while a convenient location in the Financial District near theaters appeals to business and leisure travelers.

Highlights
  • Located in the heart of the Financial District
  • Close to landmarks like Willis Tower, theater district and the Art Institute
  • Urban chic guest rooms
  • DJ-driven bar and specialty cocktails in The Living Room Bar
  • 24-hour amenities like room service, a business center, SWEAT fitness center and a DVD library
Rooms

Jewel-toned colored accent pieces like purple chaises and red throw pillows contrast white walls and linens in minimalist studio and suite-sized guest rooms. Like all W properties, the rooms, which vary in layout depending on the floor, are stocked with standards like Bliss spa products and plump W feather beds with pillow-top mattresses. Crisp 350-count sheets and down comforters invite after a long day of business meetings. Suites mimic hip city apartments with wet bars, parlors and sleek 42-inch flat-screen TVs.

Features

The Living Room Bar skews to professionals who would rather people-watch and listen to the DJ set than spend an evening alone in their room. The bar, with a gold-leaf ceiling and ivory leather arm chairs, is the place to linger with a martini or consult your smartphone. Wireless access is free in the lobby.

Given its location near the Board of Trade and Chicago Mercantile Exchange, IPO, which stands for initial public offering, certainly deserves the award for best-named restaurant in Chicago. Flavorwise, expect contemporary dishes that trot the globe, including small plates such as seared scallops with chorizo, sofrito and chervil, plus chocolate and popcorn with peaches, mint, brown butter, corn sorbet and fleur de sel.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (18 miles)
  • Midway Airport (11 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Jackson to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Quincy/Wells to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (8 minutes)
Attractions
  • Chicago Board of Trade
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange
  • Loop
  • Cadillac Palace Theater
  • State Street
  • Jewelers Row
  • Millennium Park
Business
  • 10 function rooms covering 12,000 square feet
  • 24-hour business center with Mac and IBM computers, high-speed Internet access, copy, print, scan and faxing capabilities
  • Cisco TelePrescence Suite available for teleconferencing offsite employees around the world
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Meeting specialists to plan events
Policies and Fees
  • Starting 1 Jul, the hotel will charge parking fees as follows: $24 USD per two hours; $31 USD per six hours and $60 USD per 24 hours
  • The hotel does not accept guests below 21 years old.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Chicago - City Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

W Chicago - City Center Rooms

Standard
The Amenities listed in this description represent the amenities available in all guest rooms in the hotel

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Activities
Exercise gym
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Services
Business center
Guest laundromat
Security
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Parking
Room
Safe
Telephone
AM/FM alarm clock
Mini bar
Hairdryer in room
Cribs available
Iron
Smoke detectors

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Union Station: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Union Station: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.5 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.7 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 0.9 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.1 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 1.2 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.2 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1.4 mi

Dining

IPO
Hello, downtown decadence. Welcome to IPO, which boasts new urban cuisine and contemporary American flavors. With the Loop as its backdrop, it’s a favorite for the downtown 9-5 set and theater-goers.
The Living Room Bar
Not your ordinary living room. DJs, games, wireless high speed internet access, a colorful W Signature drink list, and full bottle service will keep you entertained for hours.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (87)

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago - City Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
87 out of 87
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.6

79% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bonita Lee
Business
Chicago
Apr 30, 2014

W hotel

Love it! And would recommend for others go stay. However, when we got there, the water pipes weren't working and the guest service guy upgraded us to. Bigger suite, and also provided water bottles for us.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Yogi Mama
Business
Cincinnati, OH
Apr 28, 2014

Beautiful, Trendy Hotel - check in rough, rooms small

We stayed at the W for weekend getaway. We arrived early at 130pm and were told the room was not ready but they took our cellphone number and promised to call as soon as the room was ready - 3pm at the very latest. By 530, we still received no phone call & we tried to call the hotel but no answer. Upon returning, a very large group arrived - apparently they forgot to call us? They said all they had left were small cozy rooms even though we purchased a larger Wonderful rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bus Traveler to Chicago
Business
Chicago
Mar 7, 2014

Great Time

Staff was wonderful - location was convient. Music for lobby was different but I'd recommend to any business traveler

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Andonis
Business
Boston
Jan 22, 2014

Weekend Winter Getaway

Location was perfect a quick walk from the Willis Tower and a few blocks away from Millenium Park. It was a pleasent stay, the staff was very friendly and the concierge were the most helpful. I look forward to returning again preferably in the summertime!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
slowlaneswimmer
Business
Cleveland, Ohio
Dec 18, 2013

Excellent service

The service at this hotel is phenomenal. The concierge helped me schedule some services, and I made extensive use of room service. I also ate at the restaurant several times. The staff was wonderful. The room was also very well set up and comfortable. This is the second time I've stayed there and I really like it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dshajkjfsa
Business
Illinois
Dec 2, 2013

European Style Hotel

Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is very trendy, but it was almost a little too "clubby" for me. The room was clean and well decorated, but the rooms were quite small like european hotel rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JaneDavid
Business
NYC
Nov 4, 2013

ok, but

Two compalints. First, was morning coffee. When it ran out on Saturday morning at 8:30am it took 20 minutes after stadff was told urn was empty before the urn was re-filled. One conciege is not enough at certian times. Otherwise, everything was fine but nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Trishlynn
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Oct 13, 2013

Just not worth it

Just to sum it all up, I'll go about this chronologically. When we arrived in Chicago, and came to this hotel, we were first introduced to a scene that was meant to be taken as 'edgy' and 'nightclub'. This was alright, but that tolerance quickly faded as soon as we stepped into the elevator and took note of the unusual lights and cheap walls. This had a headache inducing effect. We had been told at the lobby that our two queen room had received an upgrade. So natural we were irritated to find that our "upgrade" had reduced our two queens to a single king. When we called to ask about switching back to our old room, they told us it was no longer available. This resulted in me sleeping on the short lounge chaise. Most of this would have been tolerable if it weren't for the fact that we were paying an exorbitant sum for what at best were mediocre accommodations. Another thing to note upon further exploration of the room showed that trash had been left on the floor, as well as a wet spot by the desk. The door handle of the sliding door bathroom also pulled right off, and showed a sticky residue which indicated that this was not the first time it had come off, not had anyone ever bothered to properly secure it. The handle of the bath plug also pulled straight off, which was irritating. Another note on the sheer cost, the cheapest item in terms of hotel food was $6. For airplane grade snacks. Do yourself a favor and don't go to this hotel. It's just not worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
designer
Business
Des Moines, IA
Sep 26, 2013

Highly recommend

Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Staff was efficient and friendly. Lots of people to hold doors, hail cabs, check in and a very good concierge. Location is excellent, mere blocks from Union Station, Art Institute and great shopping. Restaurants very close and Starbucks and drugstores within a block or less. Room was clean, very comfortable bed, temperature, lighting etc. I even searched for the tag on the pillows to see what brand they were and just orderd some for home! It was very small which for the most part I didn't mind. Bath was pretty tight and room 707 could use just one more towel bar. :) The decor for the entire hotel is very contemporary which is fine but I find all the colored dim lighting to be a bit much. Also not wild about the perfumed lobby. Please note that this is an older building and sound travels from hallway and adjacent rooms. No hotel is perfect and I expect other guests to do their part to be respectful of others in hotel. Hotel staff informed me that exterior rooms are noisier than interior rooms which was wonderful of them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
achris
Business
NYC
Apr 14, 2013

Elogent and comfortable

I dont stay at a W to get my but kissed. But i do enjoy having a great room and magnificeny ambiance in the lobby. The lobby really takes it to the next level. Fpr another great stay, this had every point gpog for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top