$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 22, 2014 Check-out: Aug 24, 2014

W Chicago - City Center

4 stars
172 West Adams Street, Chicago, IL 60603-3604
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
122 reviews
Great couple getaway

Friendly Staff, clean and spacious rooms. W Chicago city center is the place to stay! See full review

  • Maria Isabel
  • Jun 17, 2014
Great Time

Staff was wonderful - location was convient. Music for lobby was different but I'd recommend to any... See full review

  • Bus Traveler to Chicago
  • Mar 7, 2014
Beaux-arts glamour in the Loop

Awash in spotlights and marked by a big red W, this Loop hotel makes a fashionable statement in the Windy City. Fusing modern touches with classic Chicago architecture, the AAA four diamond property drips with drama. From the grand lobby boasting marble pillars and a vaulted ceiling, there's a sense of history at the W Chicago City Center with a nod to Chicago's role in modern architecture. Guest rooms ooze signature Starwood style, while a convenient location in the Financial District near theaters appeals to business and leisure travelers.

Highlights
  • Located in the heart of the Financial District
  • Close to landmarks like Willis Tower, theater district and the Art Institute
  • Urban chic guest rooms
  • DJ-driven bar and specialty cocktails in The Living Room Bar
  • 24-hour amenities like room service, a business center, SWEAT fitness center and a DVD library
Rooms

Jewel-toned colored accent pieces like purple chaises and red throw pillows contrast white walls and linens in minimalist studio and suite-sized guest rooms. Like all W properties, the rooms, which vary in layout depending on the floor, are stocked with standards like Bliss spa products and plump W feather beds with pillow-top mattresses. Crisp 350-count sheets and down comforters invite after a long day of business meetings. Suites mimic hip city apartments with wet bars, parlors and sleek 42-inch flat-screen TVs.

Features

The Living Room Bar skews to professionals who would rather people-watch and listen to the DJ set than spend an evening alone in their room. The bar, with a gold-leaf ceiling and ivory leather arm chairs, is the place to linger with a martini or consult your smartphone. Wireless access is free in the lobby.

Given its location near the Board of Trade and Chicago Mercantile Exchange, IPO, which stands for initial public offering, certainly deserves the award for best-named restaurant in Chicago. Flavorwise, expect contemporary dishes that trot the globe, including small plates such as seared scallops with chorizo, sofrito and chervil, plus chocolate and popcorn with peaches, mint, brown butter, corn sorbet and fleur de sel.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (18 miles)
  • Midway Airport (11 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (Jackson to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Quincy/Wells to Midway)
  • McCormick Place Convention Center (8 minutes)
Attractions
  • Chicago Board of Trade
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange
  • Loop
  • Cadillac Palace Theater
  • State Street
  • Jewelers Row
  • Millennium Park
Business
  • 10 function rooms covering 12,000 square feet
  • 24-hour business center with Mac and IBM computers, high-speed Internet access, copy, print, scan and faxing capabilities
  • Cisco TelePrescence Suite available for teleconferencing offsite employees around the world
  • Wi-Fi access
  • Meeting specialists to plan events
Policies and Fees
  • Starting 1 Jul, the hotel will charge parking fees as follows: $24 USD per two hours; $31 USD per six hours and $60 USD per 24 hours
  • The hotel does not accept guests below 21 years old.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

W Chicago - City Center Rooms

Wonderful
Description not provided

Amenities

  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Pet friendly
24 hour security
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Laundry service
Express check in
Express checkout
Childcare Service
Wake-up service
In-Room Safe
Shops/Commercial services
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Audio visual equipment
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Cordless phone
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Hairdryer in room
Fire alarm with light
Cribs available
Iron
Ironing board

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed W Chicago - City Center also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Hotel Map

41.8794 -87.6332
Nearby airports
Chicago Midway Airport, (MDW), 8.00, MI; Chicago O'Hare International Airport, (ORD), 15.00, MI;
Area description
Downtown

Nearby points of interest

  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Union Station: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.1 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.1 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.3 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • Opera House: 0.3 mi
  • City Hall: 0.3 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.3 mi
  • State Street: 0.3 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.4 mi
  • Union Station: 0.4 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.4 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.4 mi
  • Macys: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.4 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.5 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.5 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.5 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.6 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Marina City: 0.6 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.7 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.7 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.8 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.8 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.9 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 0.9 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.1 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 1.2 mi
  • Museum of Holography: 1.2 mi
  • UIC Pavilion: 1.2 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 1.2 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 1.3 mi
  • Seneca Park: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (122)

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago - City Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
122 out of 122
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
DC
Jul 31, 2009

heavy on hip, low on space

The room and bathroom were uncomfortably small. It was hard to turn around in the bathroom and the room gave me claustrophobia. Also, the BIG flat screen TV was on the side wall and the only way to watch it was to twist your neck sideways or sit sideways on the bed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Jul 19, 2009

Good Stay

This hotel is in a great location right in the loop next to the Sears Tower. Close to bus and train lines, lots of fun things to do, easy commute to both ball parks and navy pier. The rooms are very nice and very clean. The staff is a bit rude and act as if you are dumber than a rock. Out of towners beware. After check-in the trip was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

If you want great fun, take the short ride on the red line train to Addison and check out the strand of pubs and clubs. Much more exciting than staying in the loop. It only costs 2.25 to ride.

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Detroit, MI
Jul 19, 2009

Good Stay

This hotel is in a great location right in the loop next to the Sears Tower. Close to bus and train lines, lots of fun things to do, easy commute to both ball parks and navy pier. The rooms are very nice and very clean. The staff is a bit rude and act as if you are dumber than a rock. Out of towners beware. After check-in the trip was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

If you want great fun, take the short ride on the red line train to Addison and check out the strand of pubs and clubs. Much more exciting than staying in the loop. It only costs 2.25 to ride.

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Jul 9, 2009

So Chic

The rooms were very chic, but rather small! The staff was very accommodating and helpful in meeting our needs from telling us the best restaurants to visit to the best tours to visit around the city. The restaurant was wonderful for dinner and breakfast!!! They have the BEST garlic bread I've ever had. They also have a nontraditional tiramisu that is to die for. Even their sorbet was tasty and very original! For breakfast, their french toast with vanilla butter and chicken sausage was wonderful. I was very surprised to find that their room service did not live up to the same expectations. This location is close to the Sears Tower, Grant Park, and many other sights in Chicago. I would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Charlotte, NC
Jul 9, 2009

So Chic

The rooms were very chic, but rather small! The staff was very accommodating and helpful in meeting our needs from telling us the best restaurants to visit to the best tours to visit around the city. The restaurant was wonderful for dinner and breakfast!!! They have the BEST garlic bread I've ever had. They also have a nontraditional tiramisu that is to die for. Even their sorbet was tasty and very original! For breakfast, their french toast with vanilla butter and chicken sausage was wonderful. I was very surprised to find that their room service did not live up to the same expectations. This location is close to the Sears Tower, Grant Park, and many other sights in Chicago. I would definitely stay here again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jad18
Iowa City, Iowa
Jul 6, 2009

Overall pleased

Overall, we enjoyed the hotel. We stayed for the Taste of Chicago and a Cubs game. Close proximity to public transit was a plus and the hotel was clean. Very modern and a little dark for our tastes. Also, we had some noise from the El in our room. Nothing that my earplugs did not cancel out, but I could see it bothering some people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jad18
Iowa City, Iowa
Jul 6, 2009

Overall pleased

Overall, we enjoyed the hotel. We stayed for the Taste of Chicago and a Cubs game. Close proximity to public transit was a plus and the hotel was clean. Very modern and a little dark for our tastes. Also, we had some noise from the El in our room. Nothing that my earplugs did not cancel out, but I could see it bothering some people.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Aurora, IL
Jun 7, 2009

A Neat Place

We booked the hotel because we got a great rate for a 4 star hotel and don't have the chance to see that many stars very often. Our favorite thing about the hotel was the exceptional service provided by all of the staff. Absolutely outstanding and friendly - not forced - from check in to check out. There was a prom in the hotel that night so we expected some noise and that the staff would've had their hands full. Not true at all! We had ice brought to the room just minutes after calling for it (the machine on our floor wasn't working) and the rooms were very insulated so there was no noise. The room was pretty small but not unexpectedly so for the city and for the price. The bathroom was too small for anyone's comfort and would keep me from staying more than a night or two. Our friends' room down the hall just a bit had a larger bathroom so that would have solved my only real negative about the place. All in all, a very nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Aurora, IL
Jun 7, 2009

A Neat Place

We booked the hotel because we got a great rate for a 4 star hotel and don't have the chance to see that many stars very often. Our favorite thing about the hotel was the exceptional service provided by all of the staff. Absolutely outstanding and friendly - not forced - from check in to check out. There was a prom in the hotel that night so we expected some noise and that the staff would've had their hands full. Not true at all! We had ice brought to the room just minutes after calling for it (the machine on our floor wasn't working) and the rooms were very insulated so there was no noise. The room was pretty small but not unexpectedly so for the city and for the price. The bathroom was too small for anyone's comfort and would keep me from staying more than a night or two. Our friends' room down the hall just a bit had a larger bathroom so that would have solved my only real negative about the place. All in all, a very nice place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Carlnchicago
Dallas, TExas
May 9, 2009

Great Trip

The HOtel was great, but did not appear to be finished yet, still under construction. No Ice maker in the Ice room. but great room at a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top