$234 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 2, 2015 Check-out: Jul 3, 2015

W Chicago - City Center

4 stars
View map of 172 West Adams Street, 172 West Adams Street, Chicago, IL 60603-3604

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago - City Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
100 out of 100
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Jul 26, 2010

Great hotel, except for parking rates $$

Great hotel, but $51.00 for overnight parking is CRAZY! There is a self park lot just down the road that was $27.00

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Park down the road for a much cheaper rate

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Young Lover
Business
Calumet City, IL
Jul 17, 2010

Wow is spelled with a W for a reason

The hotel was very nice. The staff was good. And the location was amazing. I wanted to take my boyfriend to the Sears (or Willis if thats what you want to call it) Tower for his birthday. The hotel was located two blocks away and we just walked there. The Hotel is not that from the Loop where many stores and restaurants are located. We took the Bus to the Cheesecake Factory and we walked along Michigan Ave. We loved the location to say the least and not to mention the rooms were so intimate for a couple. If you want to take your significant other anywhere you should take them to the W hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Young person
Business
Raleigh, NC
Jul 11, 2010

A complete review for a first timer

Basically you get a dorm room with a miniature bathroom. If you are of a large body size, you would have trouble maneuvering inside the standard ("Wonderful") room. It is advertised as a Botique hotel, but I would say it is like being in a "constant beer commercial". The lobby is interesting (nice change from the usual) but is mainly for a younger crowd. Older folks need not come to this hotel unless they want to be frustrated by sensory overload from music, blacklights and nightclub layout (even at 10am!). City noise like from the train could be bothersome...for us it was "ok" and not a problem. The valet service was phenomenal (expeditious and courteous). For our stay it was ALWAYS hard to find staff in the lobby for things like check-in/out and other room requests. A much better idea is to call them instead, even if you're sitting in the lobby! The people are definitely nice when you are able to find them. The room was small and unimpressive. Basic except for the 42inch TV/DVD/Safe which were useful amenities. I guess it was good for the downtown chicago location; plenty of resturaunts nearby but I recommend going near the lake shore side near the pier for better tourist activity. A business traveler would like the city center location. Comparing W city center vs. Lakeshore location...I would pick city center b/c of hotel itself, the lakeshore location for...location. Compared to other trips we've taken, this hotel was slightly better than 3 stars, definitely NOT a 4 star like we had anticipated. Would we stay here again? Probably not. Sorry. Maybe if the rooms were nicer/larger and staff easier to find in person.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Food is always near by (walking distance for chain resturaunts and a few hometown ones). Shopping and attractions are better near the Navy Pier and Magnificent mile (take a cab). Segway tour is a MUST. Well worth the cost for us but research your choice of which company in advance, and book after checking the weather. You don't want to get rained on. Our experience was unbelievably awesome!

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Jul 10, 2010

Great Personnel & Slick Accomodations

perfect check in early too, liked all freindly staff dealt with, very honest conceriege, recs of food great as well and fantastic relaxing room,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Valparaiso, IN
Jul 6, 2010

Excellent downtown hotel

I saw two Cubs games, two movies, and ate at some of my favorite restaurants. I love Petterino's!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Hotel breakfasts were excellent.

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis, IN
Jun 1, 2010

Spacious Room!

We typically stay at the W off of Lakeshore. However, we found the rooms in the W City Center to be huge, very nice and clean. The lobby wasn't as expansive as the Lakeshore location. However, it was still a nice area for drinks, relaxing or meeting friends. We'd stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chicago, IL
May 11, 2010

Very cool hotel

We stayed here after a work holiday party downtown and had a great time. Very hip, modern rooms w/ flat screen tv and cool lighting throughout the room. Rooms on the small side, but well appointed. The hotel lobby/bar is a great place to have a drink and people-watch too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Carlos The P.M.
Business
South burbs of chicago
Feb 16, 2010

Best Stay ever

First class service all the way, couldn't ask for anything better

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indianapolis
Dec 14, 2009

Tiny Room

When the porter brought my luggage to the room my wife was in the bathroom. To my dismay I found out you can not open the room door with the bathroom door closed. So for 5 minutes I had to talk to the guy through the door to tell him I couldn't open the door due to my wife in the bathroom. The conversation sounded like a comedy routine. I have never been in a room that did not have a closet or a dresser. Where are you supposed to store your clothes? The lobby is beautiful and very trendy but I don't sleep in the lobby. Due to this I would not return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KMul
Business
Suburbs of Chicago
Dec 13, 2009

Modern Marvel

[...] The room was comfortable and it was a great time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top