$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2015 Check-out: Aug 10, 2015

W Chicago - City Center

4 stars
View map of 172 West Adams Street, 172 West Adams Street, Chicago, IL 60603-3604

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago - City Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrankJVC
Business
Santiago, Chile
Jul 8, 2012

It's a club? No an hotel

It was very good. At first,it looked like a club. But overall it's a great place to stay. it's right in the middle of the loop. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to the Magnificent Mile, or State St.

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dougie fresh of MN
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 5, 2012

Nice Weekend Away

The hotel was clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Bar was dismal on weekend. Location was a little far away from the action so lots of walking was involved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chev trout
Business
Pittsburgh pa
Jun 12, 2012

Wasn't normal as my last

The room was nice staff was really nice but T was alittle diff then my other experiences in other W hotel but I can say that I enjoy the W experience so I'll be going to another on my next trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Clubs are nice

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trainguy
Business
Boston
May 29, 2012

W Hotel: good but in a deadzone on the weekend

Good hotel, close to Sears Tower & Millennium Park but neighborhood is dead on weekend. Doormen are not always present so luggage help is hit/miss. Lobby is insanely packed w furniture making luggage navigation a challenge. No restroom near bar/restaurant in lobby - its annoyingly upstairs but at least it is not nearly dark lobby restrooms in DC's W hotel! The elevators maintains W's annoying habit of requiring a key swipe to access your floor. Chicago W Staff is friendly but not nearly as outgoing as W staff in DC. Those folks are great! Guest Room has several power outlets and had fairly bright lighting finally! However the carpet is oddly rough and scratchy on bare feet. Beware that the clock radio iPhone dock doesn't actually charge 4G or 4S iPhones. The stepless shower isn't built correctly so like ones at the W in DC, anything on floor gets wet even 5-8 feet away...At least this had a curtain! Room was blessedly quiet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a cab to O'Hare

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jc4444
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 16, 2012

Great place

This hotel is in great location. The price is a little high but its worth it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KEG23
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Solid

This is the financial dsitrict W or "the W for old people'. That having been said, it has a hip vibe. The room was nice, although the view wasn't and the bathroom could have been better. The location is good for business on LaSalle st or an evening at the Opera.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pete57
Business
Montreal
Feb 7, 2012

Fantastic Atmosphere/Staff

Loved our time at the W, will return one of these days, a nice relax atmosphere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steveg
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Jan 17, 2012

Great Stay

Our room was a very comfortable and well appointed room. It was conveniently located and the complimentary limo was a pleasant surprise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
HOLLY WOOD
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jan 2, 2012

COUPLE RETREAT

5 STAR SERVICE ALL THE WAY FROM THE TIME WE PULLED UP TO THE FRONT DOOR.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

RUTHCHRIS STEAKHOUSE

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sully27
Business
Milwaukee, WI, USA
Nov 22, 2011

Tiny, tiny room

The hotel room was very tiny. Forget about sharing the bathroom with anyone else, let alone be comfortable in there by yourself. The hotel had a nice decor but that didn't make up for the room size. While staying there my boyfriend and I had breakfast in the adjoining restaurant. The food was good but don't get coffee in there, we got charged $8 for two cups of coffee. For that price I could have gone to Starbucks and at least gotten espresso. The Acura Experience was nice but it only takes you to your destination, it does not pick you up from there. This will definitely not be my first choice of places to stay when going back to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top