$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 6, 2015 Check-out: Sep 8, 2015

W Chicago - City Center

4 stars
View map of 172 West Adams Street, 172 West Adams Street, Chicago, IL 60603-3604

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago - City Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
84 out of 84
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
GregI
Friends
San Diego
Nov 22, 2011

W in Chicago

First off, realize there's 2 W's in Chicago. We made the mistake of thinking there was only 1, so half of our group was at the Lakeview location. This location is good, but compared to the other one, it's not even close. Ours was still nice and comfy, nice staff and very nice amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MereMac
Friends
Kentucky, USA
Nov 20, 2011

Awesome weekend

Welcoming and easy! I loved the decor and the atmosphere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Take a taxi

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Minneapolis MN
Jul 5, 2011

comfy and classy!

Taste of Chicago! Close to everything you would want In Chicago!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
San Francisco, CA
Jun 27, 2011

Pretty good for the price

Despite the gimmicky nature of W Hotels in general, there are a lot of advantages. Well-situated in the middle of downtown Chicago, close to all major sights; would highly recommend to tourists. Staff are generally young and hip, but not necessarily knowledgeable. We got a good deal online so felt it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Convenient walk to everywhere.

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
sonz
Friends
Madison, WI
May 2, 2011

Trendy Hot Spot

We were very impressed with both of our rooms. We had a "spectacular double" and a "spectacular king" and both were very nice. The decor is modern and the design of the room and its amenities are tailored to a young crowd (20's-30's) but the quality is excellent. The beds were very comfortable and the shower was quite satisfying. Both our rooms were large and had large bathrooms. Keep in mind as you plan what to pack that the hotel lobby can feel very clubby in the evening and you won't want to walk in wearing shorts or sweats. People at this hotel dress very well. We did not get to take advantage of the "Acura Service," but it sounded great. If you plan ahead, you can reserve the Acura drop-off service and someone will drive you from the hotel to any location within 5 miles for free in an Acura car. It fills up fast, however, so plan ahead. The hotel is in a great location in the Chicago loop and very close to Giordano's Pizza, the Sears tower, the Art Institute, Millenium Park, and plenty of starbucks, dunkin donuts, and argo tea's for breakfast. We had dinner a few blocks east at a German restaurant called the Berghoff, and it was very good. I highly recommend this hotel. It was very clean and comfortable, the staff was excellent, and it is in a great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Use the Acura drop-off service offered at the hotel. It is a free service that drops you off at any location within 5 miles of the hotel!

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago,IL
Mar 20, 2011

Great Getaway With my Girlfriend

Hangout in Room. Room service. Its all good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
fl
Aug 29, 2010

Not too bad

Clean but too expensive. Very small room and batchroom.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

aquarium

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Chicago, Illinois
Aug 26, 2010

Nice Hotel

Just wasn't what I expected.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Go out to eat and drink,save some money.

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Keeter
Couples
Chicago, IL
Aug 24, 2010

Nice but noisy!!

The hotel is wonderful EXCEPT that it's right on the El train tracks! We were on the 20th floor, in room 2019, and it sounded like the train was right outside the window. The sound must be ricocheting off the other buildings. We were woken up several times during the night. Reminded me of that episode of I Love Lucy... Haha! Other than that the hotel is great! Nice rooms. Excellent staff. The bar is pricy! Weirdly enough, the same drinks are $2 cheaper at W Lakeshore. Cool feature is a partnership with Acura. You can schedule with the front desk for drop offs at locations around town instead of taking a cab. Probably saved $30 in cabs over the weekend. Bliss products in the bathrooms rocked!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Cibo Matto! Amazing Italian restaurant at The Wit. Also definitely go to their rooftop deck for before / after dinner drinks!

Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Australia
Aug 5, 2010

Visit to the Windy City

We had a great time at the hotel our only suggestion would be information in the room for things to do in Chicago brochures etc we were only there 3 days so wanted to maximize what we saw and had to ask for information all other aspects of the stay were wonderful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

When in Chicago get a $35 hop on hop off bus tour pass for 3 days then go to the water tower/tourist centre and plan the things you want to do in what order then getting around is easy and informative and all the attractions you wish to see are available

Back to menu Return to top