$174 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

W Chicago - City Center

4 stars
View map of 172 West Adams Street, 172 West Adams Street, Chicago, IL 60603-3604

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago - City Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChuckP
Business
Los angeles
Aug 9, 2012

Nice property

The W Chicago has a great building and nice rooms. The fitness center was better than average. It seems like the staff is either lacking training or just losing their customer service excellence. What I mean by that is, I was actually challenged when waiting to check in at the front desk (standing there with my bags) "Do you have a question?" - I replied "no, I'm checking in" - like I was standing at a hotel front desk with bags waiting for a train? The hostess at the restaurant was clearly in a bad mood, which I'd prefer she was trained well enough not to make that obvious. She was sullen and bordering on rude. Overall it is still a nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Norte
Business
Santiago, Chile
Jul 25, 2012

Excellent location

Excellent location in the heart of The Loop. The decoration is a little unusual for a hotel, but it was a nice surprise. The room was clean and the staff was kind.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jc4444
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Jul 11, 2012

Good Hotel

Great location and friendly staff. Would stay again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
FrankJVC
Business
Santiago, Chile
Jul 8, 2012

It's a club? No an hotel

It was very good. At first,it looked like a club. But overall it's a great place to stay. it's right in the middle of the loop. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to the Magnificent Mile, or State St.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dougie fresh of MN
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jul 5, 2012

Nice Weekend Away

The hotel was clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Bar was dismal on weekend. Location was a little far away from the action so lots of walking was involved.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Chev trout
Business
Pittsburgh pa
Jun 12, 2012

Wasn't normal as my last

The room was nice staff was really nice but T was alittle diff then my other experiences in other W hotel but I can say that I enjoy the W experience so I'll be going to another on my next trip

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

Clubs are nice

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Trainguy
Business
Boston
May 29, 2012

W Hotel: good but in a deadzone on the weekend

Good hotel, close to Sears Tower & Millennium Park but neighborhood is dead on weekend. Doormen are not always present so luggage help is hit/miss. Lobby is insanely packed w furniture making luggage navigation a challenge. No restroom near bar/restaurant in lobby - its annoyingly upstairs but at least it is not nearly dark lobby restrooms in DC's W hotel! The elevators maintains W's annoying habit of requiring a key swipe to access your floor. Chicago W Staff is friendly but not nearly as outgoing as W staff in DC. Those folks are great! Guest Room has several power outlets and had fairly bright lighting finally! However the carpet is oddly rough and scratchy on bare feet. Beware that the clock radio iPhone dock doesn't actually charge 4G or 4S iPhones. The stepless shower isn't built correctly so like ones at the W in DC, anything on floor gets wet even 5-8 feet away...At least this had a curtain! Room was blessedly quiet!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take a cab to O'Hare

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
jc4444
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Mar 16, 2012

Great place

This hotel is in great location. The price is a little high but its worth it

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
KEG23
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Feb 21, 2012

Solid

This is the financial dsitrict W or "the W for old people'. That having been said, it has a hip vibe. The room was nice, although the view wasn't and the bathroom could have been better. The location is good for business on LaSalle st or an evening at the Opera.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pete57
Business
Montreal
Feb 7, 2012

Fantastic Atmosphere/Staff

Loved our time at the W, will return one of these days, a nice relax atmosphere

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top