$179 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 24, 2015 Check-out: May 26, 2015

W Chicago - City Center

4 stars
View map of 172 West Adams Street, 172 West Adams Street, Chicago, IL 60603-3604

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for W Chicago - City Center

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
99 out of 99
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dshajkjfsa
Business
Illinois
Dec 2, 2013

European Style Hotel

Hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. The hotel is very trendy, but it was almost a little too "clubby" for me. The room was clean and well decorated, but the rooms were quite small like european hotel rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
JaneDavid
Business
NYC
Nov 4, 2013

ok, but

Two compalints. First, was morning coffee. When it ran out on Saturday morning at 8:30am it took 20 minutes after stadff was told urn was empty before the urn was re-filled. One conciege is not enough at certian times. Otherwise, everything was fine but nothing special.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Trishlynn
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Oct 13, 2013

Just not worth it

Just to sum it all up, I'll go about this chronologically. When we arrived in Chicago, and came to this hotel, we were first introduced to a scene that was meant to be taken as 'edgy' and 'nightclub'. This was alright, but that tolerance quickly faded as soon as we stepped into the elevator and took note of the unusual lights and cheap walls. This had a headache inducing effect. We had been told at the lobby that our two queen room had received an upgrade. So natural we were irritated to find that our "upgrade" had reduced our two queens to a single king. When we called to ask about switching back to our old room, they told us it was no longer available. This resulted in me sleeping on the short lounge chaise. Most of this would have been tolerable if it weren't for the fact that we were paying an exorbitant sum for what at best were mediocre accommodations. Another thing to note upon further exploration of the room showed that trash had been left on the floor, as well as a wet spot by the desk. The door handle of the sliding door bathroom also pulled right off, and showed a sticky residue which indicated that this was not the first time it had come off, not had anyone ever bothered to properly secure it. The handle of the bath plug also pulled straight off, which was irritating. Another note on the sheer cost, the cheapest item in terms of hotel food was $6. For airplane grade snacks. Do yourself a favor and don't go to this hotel. It's just not worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
designer
Business
Des Moines, IA
Sep 26, 2013

Highly recommend

Really enjoyed my stay at this hotel. Staff was efficient and friendly. Lots of people to hold doors, hail cabs, check in and a very good concierge. Location is excellent, mere blocks from Union Station, Art Institute and great shopping. Restaurants very close and Starbucks and drugstores within a block or less. Room was clean, very comfortable bed, temperature, lighting etc. I even searched for the tag on the pillows to see what brand they were and just orderd some for home! It was very small which for the most part I didn't mind. Bath was pretty tight and room 707 could use just one more towel bar. :) The decor for the entire hotel is very contemporary which is fine but I find all the colored dim lighting to be a bit much. Also not wild about the perfumed lobby. Please note that this is an older building and sound travels from hallway and adjacent rooms. No hotel is perfect and I expect other guests to do their part to be respectful of others in hotel. Hotel staff informed me that exterior rooms are noisier than interior rooms which was wonderful of them.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
achris
Business
NYC
Apr 14, 2013

Elogent and comfortable

I dont stay at a W to get my but kissed. But i do enjoy having a great room and magnificeny ambiance in the lobby. The lobby really takes it to the next level. Fpr another great stay, this had every point gpog for it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
jwhi0207
Business
Chicago, Illinois
Dec 3, 2012

Nice Rooms! Great Staff!

Rooms were great. Very clean. Only downfall was that the rooms were kind of small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
grafguy86
Business
St. Louis, MO
Oct 23, 2012

Poor Room Value

I understand that this hotel is in downtown chicago, but the room was tiny, and looked no nicer than a Holiday Inn Express. Other rooms looked really cool and updated, but ours looked like it was stuck in the 90s...everything was tan/beige color. Overall poor value for the price you pay. Additionally a room was not available to us at check in and we had to wait 45 minutes to get a room. Luckily they gave us some free drink tickets so we had something to do while we waited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ReviewerGuyEspecial
Business
middletown, new jersey
Aug 31, 2012

Good for center City or if you have somewhere to go outside of Chicago

Hotel is a 5 min walk from Union Station, so if your stay in Chicago involves going/seeing anyone outside of downtown, its very convenient to the Metra. Otherwise the the hotel is usual W experience... no great views in this one, but comfortable bed, good multimedia options in the room. But also as with the W...no free Wi-Fi - they really need to change that policy, its becoming a bigger reason not to choose a W hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lucyg
Business
zimbabwe
Aug 22, 2012

Great night away!

We didn't spend much time in the hotel but were able to walk outside and have a wonderful time in downtown Chicago so easily. The concierge and all staff were so helpful, and we enjoyed several meals, shopping, and sites so easily! The room is small, but it feels absolutely worth the cost based on location and modernity. Recommend!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of W Chicago - City Center

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChuckP
Business
Los angeles
Aug 9, 2012

Nice property

The W Chicago has a great building and nice rooms. The fitness center was better than average. It seems like the staff is either lacking training or just losing their customer service excellence. What I mean by that is, I was actually challenged when waiting to check in at the front desk (standing there with my bags) "Do you have a question?" - I replied "no, I'm checking in" - like I was standing at a hotel front desk with bags waiting for a train? The hostess at the restaurant was clearly in a bad mood, which I'd prefer she was trained well enough not to make that obvious. She was sullen and bordering on rude. Overall it is still a nice place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top