$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

2 stars
65 East Harrison, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
334 reviews
Great Hotel

The hotel design is gorgeous, the room was exceedingly comfortable, and the staff was friendly as... See full review

  • TravelforPleasure
  • Jun 11, 2014
Perfect Location

I chose this hotel for it's location and had a really good deal. Hotel was better than I expected.... See full review

  • dddd79
  • Apr 18, 2014
Standard hotel near major downtown attractions

Built in 1928 as the Harrison Hotel, this South Loop hotel, now a Travelodge property caters to budget travelers looking for convenient access to Grant Park, Millennium Park and the Loop. Just off the Magnificent Mile, the non-smoking Travelodge Hotel features a business center, two onsite restaurants, double, king and king-suite rooms. Standard amenities include free high-speed Internet, 24-hour guest services and an in-room coffee maker with complimentary coffee.

Highlights
  • Convenient South Loop location just off the Magnificent Mile
  • Budget and kid-friendly lodging--children 16 and under stay free
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Shuttle service via GO Airport Express (fees apply)
  • Indoor and outdoor parking (fees apply)
Rooms
Carpeted rooms at the Travelodge Hotel sport city views and come in king, king-suite or double layouts. Patterned bedspreads coordinate with drapes, framed prints, wood nightstands and drawers. Free high-speed Internet is available in all rooms.
Features

Travelers can make reservations online at GO Airport Express for limousine or sedan services to and from O'Hare International and Midway Airports. Shuttles and private car transfers are available seven days a week, 365 a year.  For travelers' convenience, gratuity and fuel surcharges are built into the price.

All guests enjoy free high-speed Internet access and a South Loop location just off the Magnificent Mile. Families enjoy value as children 16 and under stay free. The Travelodge also has a business center.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (18 miles)
  • Midway Airport (11 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (LaSalle to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway)
  •  McCormick Place Convention Center (6 minutes)
Attractions
  • Grant Park
  • Millennium Park
  • Art Institute
  • Soldier Field
  • Magnificent Mile
  • Jewelers Row
  • Financial District
  • Loop
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in
  • Indoor and outdoor parking fees apply

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.2 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (334)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
41 out of 334
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.5
Room comfort:
3.3
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.4

63% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
TaeOC
Business
Tempe, AZ
Nov 10, 2014

Pretty good

Not bad hotel. Close to Soldier Field. Felt like I was in the Blues Brothers as the L train is pretty close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Love Liam
Business
Saint Louis
Aug 25, 2014

Price high for value and service received

The building is very old - the halls are not air conditioned and there is a note on the elevator doors requesting that not more than 7 people occupy it at one time. When I checked out the front desk staff asked if I needed a taxi. I said I did and a man sitting in the lobby got up and showed me to a very nice van parked in front of the hotel. Foolish me, I assumed I was getting a complimentary ride to my destination. There were no markings on the van to indicate it was a taxi or owned by Travelodge but the staff member called the driver by name and the driver was in a uniform. After driving for a few minutes I was informed what the price of the ride would be. It was $2 more than what I paid to get to the Travelodge. Held captive-not pleased. My room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. Had to cut my shower short because the tub was not draining. The tub was still full of water in the morning.Since there was an ice bucket in my room I jumped to the conclusion that there was an ice machine near by. Walked the entire floor, couldn't locate an ice machine. Called the front desk, was told it was near the elevators. Not on my floor. When I inquired about a place to get something to eat I was referred to a restaurant next door - period. The suggested restaurant was rather expensive so I walked a little further and found several other dining options. Would not stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LinguisticsTeacher
Business
New York
Nov 25, 2013

Overall, it was good for the price.

Overall, the hotel was good for the price. I would stay in the same hotel if I have tight budget in the future.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
T. O.
Business
Germany
Oct 11, 2013

Chicago, Chicago, that toddeling town

Check in very efficient and fast, a bit friendlier would be better. Check out time 7 am !!! No breakfast. Small rooms, vintage building, a little overdone, but at a great Chicago downtown location in the loop.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Galant
Business
Puerto Rico
Sep 15, 2013

A Smart Deal

Located in the heart of Chicago Downtown, 5 minutes walking from Millenium Park, 7 minutes from Willis Tower, metro at the corner. good sleeping quality. Ask for a room away from the elevators and the trains. Elevators slow. But location compensate. Shopping, drugstores, fast food, you name it. Everything at your hand. From the airport, take the blue line to city, stop at Jackson, down the escalators, take the red line to Ashland/63, stop at Harrison, the hotel is 100 meters away from you. By train $2.25. Returning is easy also. Take red line to Hoiward, stop at Jackson, upo the stairs, take the blue Line to Ohare, you are done, for $2.25. Is 45 minutes trip from airport by metro. I recommend this hotel. Is my second time there. And I will return again. Thank you Watson, for the great room 825.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask for a room away from elevators and trains if you are a light sleeper like me. There is a safe in each room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
howharp
Business
chihcago, Illinois
Aug 22, 2013

disappointed

I was not satisfied with my experience I love the room I had the king size bed with, kitchenette, bathroom really nice separate living room area, for the price no meals that was disappointed I could have went to a much better hotel and received breakfast for the price I paid trying to get a cab the next morning to get to union station to catch my train back home no assistance I had to walk and a stranger helped me because of the size of my luggage cab drivers thought I was going to O'Hara airport and refused to service me shame on them they missed out on a great tip. the room like I said was decent but for the price how I was treated was unacceptable I will try not to ever book that hotel for my stay in Chicago again but my reason for being in The city was a great experience but I wouldn't recommend anyone stay there unless it was a last resort and they were in desperate need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Southern Ohio
Business
ohio
Jun 26, 2013

Good Place

The Staff was very courteous and pleasant. Room a little noisy on the "L" side. A great place for ordinary folk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

close to Bus and Subway

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fellow traveler 1
Business
Wisconsin
Mar 24, 2013

Problems

This Hotel was built in 1928 and shows it. The only desk clerk on duty could not find my reservation and so after some delay waiting to confirm my reservation even though I showed her a printed copy of the reservation, I was finally allowed to put the room on my credit card. There was only one slow elevator working in the building. The halls were dated and unattractive. When I finally got my room it was large and clean with refrigerator and good TV. However the elevated train runs right by the hotel and is quite loud at night. Parking is $36 per night extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mohammadwisc
Business
Madison,WI
Dec 22, 2012

Nice!

The hotel itself, its location, staff, cleanness and facilities are very good. However, its price is not that cheap! It does not include breakfast, lunch or dinner! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Only 5 miles away from downtown!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LastStance
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 11, 2012

Cheap comfortal well-located

Was surprised by how perfectly competent the room was (and right in downtown at that). I would've loved thicker pillows and the desk people freely admitted that the key cards get demagnetized really easily, but other than that it was everything I could've hoped for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Well you're right in downtown for the love of god. Millennium Parkand the Art Institute are five minutes and adjacent to one another. Epic Burger on State was great for fast non-Fast food and I plan on taking my last chance to eat Sal Malnatti's and Chicago deep dish before I leave tomorrow. SM's also on State and the two restaurants were even closer than the other destination's I mentioned; one very old and the other very new. Just like the other pair of places

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top