$101 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 29, 2014 Check-out: Oct 31, 2014

Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

2 stars
65 East Harrison, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
331 reviews
Great Hotel

The hotel design is gorgeous, the room was exceedingly comfortable, and the staff was friendly as... See full review

  • TravelforPleasure
  • Jun 11, 2014
Perfect Location

I chose this hotel for it's location and had a really good deal. Hotel was better than I expected.... See full review

  • dddd79
  • Apr 18, 2014
Standard hotel near major downtown attractions

Built in 1928 as the Harrison Hotel, this South Loop hotel, now a Travelodge property caters to budget travelers looking for convenient access to Grant Park, Millennium Park and the Loop. Just off the Magnificent Mile, the non-smoking Travelodge Hotel features a business center, two onsite restaurants, double, king and king-suite rooms. Standard amenities include free high-speed Internet, 24-hour guest services and an in-room coffee maker with complimentary coffee.

Highlights
  • Convenient South Loop location just off the Magnificent Mile
  • Budget and kid-friendly lodging--children 16 and under stay free
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Shuttle service via GO Airport Express (fees apply)
  • Indoor and outdoor parking (fees apply)
Rooms
Carpeted rooms at the Travelodge Hotel sport city views and come in king, king-suite or double layouts. Patterned bedspreads coordinate with drapes, framed prints, wood nightstands and drawers. Free high-speed Internet is available in all rooms.
Features

Travelers can make reservations online at GO Airport Express for limousine or sedan services to and from O'Hare International and Midway Airports. Shuttles and private car transfers are available seven days a week, 365 a year.  For travelers' convenience, gratuity and fuel surcharges are built into the price.

All guests enjoy free high-speed Internet access and a South Loop location just off the Magnificent Mile. Families enjoy value as children 16 and under stay free. The Travelodge also has a business center.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (18 miles)
  • Midway Airport (11 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (LaSalle to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway)
  •  McCormick Place Convention Center (6 minutes)
Attractions
  • Grant Park
  • Millennium Park
  • Art Institute
  • Soldier Field
  • Magnificent Mile
  • Jewelers Row
  • Financial District
  • Loop
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in
  • Indoor and outdoor parking fees apply

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8744 -87.6255
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.2 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (331)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
331 out of 331
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Sypherj
Business
Chicago, IL
May 27, 2009

Good Location, Bad Hotel

When I first entered the hotel, I noticed a weird smell. My bed had a wet spot on it. Got up graded, but the room was so small. The TV was missing the remote. The room needed a paint job. Long story short, One of my worse hotel experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Austin TX
Jun 22, 2009

Old, dirty, nasty Not very safe feeling

Very old rip off! They dont even tell you that parking is not included and that it is $36 a night! For that price you can stay at a much nicer hotel and not feel like you are staying in a abandoned building! Not to mention that most of the information in the room is on how to stay safe in your room, like lock the door, use the peep hole, dont leave valuables in your room and dont tell people where you are staying. Makes you feel nice and safe right! Never STAY HERE AND DONT TRUST [...] PICTURES!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
milton fl
Jul 9, 2010

chicago

not a well placed hotel not worth the money paid

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

finding a place to park was bad

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Businesswoman
Business
Florianopolis, Brazil
Oct 19, 2010

Not very good experience!

We came here for business and did a little of tourism as well. The very first day I arrived in the hotel I saw bad bugs on the bed sheets, and got many skin allergies and scratches and marks from them. The bed cover was very dirty. The housekeeping service was not good. The hotel staff and employees were very nice and helpful though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Opera for dining!!! Outstanding environment, food and staff!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Charlie's Mom
Business
Milwaukee, WI
Feb 21, 2011

Wouldn't go back.

The service was helpful and friendly at the front desk, but once in our room, it was loud, only moderately clean and very old. Old is ok but the person in the room next to us talked so loud, late into the night and early morning and the walls are very thin, we didn't get much sleep. We also heard the CTA running all night. It's right next to the hotel. No water pressure in the shower. Wasn't given wash cloths on the second day. Would not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
clmx
Business
mexico
Nov 16, 2011

horrible experience

We had to change our room twice, so we got to see 3 rooms in the hotel. Rooms are not clean, furniture is old, and carpet is stained. First room, horrible mattress and dirty. Second room, no hot water. Third room, noisy, but managed to stay there. I'd rather pay USD30 more for a better room in another hotel. This hotel is not worth the price. Staff VERY rude. Elevators, VERY slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ontheroad...again
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Tired

I needed this hotel in a pinch when my normal hotel in Chicago was full. I can't say I recommend it. The staff was very helpful finding me an early check-in (9:00 AM) but the hotel is in need of a facelift in a big way. Small rooms....very tight hallways...corners and dimly lit halls (I would not want to stay here as an unaccompanied woman)...tired furniture...all in all not a great place. I do however recommend the Thai restaurant tied to the hotel. The food was very good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ocphotog5675
Business
Orange, CA, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Not exactly the best, but get what you pay for.

Room was decently clean, warm enough, and thats about it. Plain room, heater worked, bathroom was clean. We were on the second floor, right across from elevators, super slow weekend and somehow hotel couldnt find ANY other room that could be quieter. Saw a FAT cockroach in the stairway (which we had to take since the first 1.5 days the elevator didnt work or you had to wait over 5 mins for it to come). Staff was not good, felt like anything asked about the city, trains, late checkout, was a huge incovenience for them to even open their mouth or check the computer. We got a late checkout and 30mins before the checkout a hotel personnel just opens the door to our room as we were packing our stuff, and asks if we are checking out, no knock, just comes right in. NOT COOL, for obvious reasons. Just overall not the best experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PerryC
Business
Sydney Australia
Feb 17, 2012

Dad's Funeral

I was going to spend 5 nights here as a holiday after going to New york from Australia. My Dad died suddenly and I had to cancel THREE MONTHS before I was coming. THEY KEPT MY 600 DOLLARS! is this even legal in America? Be ware before booking here!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maudie Diamondeyes
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Feb 28, 2012

Don't bother

The room looked like it hadn't been cleaned since 1985. The bed didn't even have a fitted sheet, just a flat sheet on a ripped blanket with holes all over it! We ran out of hot water in the shower and there was construction happening in the hallway outside our door that woke us up very early. I wouldn't stay at the Travelodge again if it was free. Never again. Don't waste your money!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top