$96 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2015 Check-out: Aug 27, 2015

Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

2 stars
View map of 65 East Harrison, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
317 reviews
Great location and great price

Very nice hotel for the price! Great location close to museums parks and CTA! See full review

  • Awen89
  • May 20, 2015
Great location, nice hotel

You cant find a better deal so close to Michigan Ave. See full review

  • C W.
  • Apr 15, 2015

Built in 1928 as the Harrison Hotel, this South Loop hotel, now a Travelodge property caters to budget travelers looking for convenient access to Grant Park, Millennium Park and the Loop. Just off the Magnificent Mile, the non-smoking Travelodge Hotel features a business center, two onsite restaurants, double, king and king-suite rooms. Standard amenities include free high-speed Internet, 24-hour guest services and an in-room coffee maker with complimentary coffee.

Rooms
Carpeted rooms at the Travelodge Hotel sport city views and come in king, king-suite or double layouts. Patterned bedspreads coordinate with drapes, framed prints, wood nightstands and drawers. Free high-speed Internet is available in all rooms.
Property features

Travelers can make reservations online at GO Airport Express for limousine or sedan services to and from O'Hare International and Midway Airports. Shuttles and private car transfers are available seven days a week, 365 a year.  For travelers' convenience, gratuity and fuel surcharges are built into the price.

All guests enjoy free high-speed Internet access and a South Loop location just off the Magnificent Mile. Families enjoy value as children 16 and under stay free. The Travelodge also has a business center.

Highlights
  • Convenient South Loop location just off the Magnificent Mile
  • Budget and kid-friendly lodging--children 16 and under stay free
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Shuttle service via GO Airport Express (fees apply)
  • Indoor and outdoor parking (fees apply)
Nearby attractions
  • Grant Park
  • Millennium Park
  • Art Institute
  • Soldier Field
  • Magnificent Mile
  • Jewelers Row
  • Financial District
  • Loop
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center
Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (18 miles)
  • Midway Airport (11 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (LaSalle to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway)
  •  McCormick Place Convention Center (6 minutes)
Policies
  • Guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in
  • Indoor and outdoor parking fees apply

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.2 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
317 out of 317
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
clmx
Business
mexico
Nov 16, 2011

horrible experience

We had to change our room twice, so we got to see 3 rooms in the hotel. Rooms are not clean, furniture is old, and carpet is stained. First room, horrible mattress and dirty. Second room, no hot water. Third room, noisy, but managed to stay there. I'd rather pay USD30 more for a better room in another hotel. This hotel is not worth the price. Staff VERY rude. Elevators, VERY slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ontheroad...again
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Tired

I needed this hotel in a pinch when my normal hotel in Chicago was full. I can't say I recommend it. The staff was very helpful finding me an early check-in (9:00 AM) but the hotel is in need of a facelift in a big way. Small rooms....very tight hallways...corners and dimly lit halls (I would not want to stay here as an unaccompanied woman)...tired furniture...all in all not a great place. I do however recommend the Thai restaurant tied to the hotel. The food was very good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ocphotog5675
Business
Orange, CA, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Not exactly the best, but get what you pay for.

Room was decently clean, warm enough, and thats about it. Plain room, heater worked, bathroom was clean. We were on the second floor, right across from elevators, super slow weekend and somehow hotel couldnt find ANY other room that could be quieter. Saw a FAT cockroach in the stairway (which we had to take since the first 1.5 days the elevator didnt work or you had to wait over 5 mins for it to come). Staff was not good, felt like anything asked about the city, trains, late checkout, was a huge incovenience for them to even open their mouth or check the computer. We got a late checkout and 30mins before the checkout a hotel personnel just opens the door to our room as we were packing our stuff, and asks if we are checking out, no knock, just comes right in. NOT COOL, for obvious reasons. Just overall not the best experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
PerryC
Business
Sydney Australia
Feb 17, 2012

Dad's Funeral

I was going to spend 5 nights here as a holiday after going to New york from Australia. My Dad died suddenly and I had to cancel THREE MONTHS before I was coming. THEY KEPT MY 600 DOLLARS! is this even legal in America? Be ware before booking here!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Maudie Diamondeyes
Business
San Francisco, CA, USA
Feb 28, 2012

Don't bother

The room looked like it hadn't been cleaned since 1985. The bed didn't even have a fitted sheet, just a flat sheet on a ripped blanket with holes all over it! We ran out of hot water in the shower and there was construction happening in the hallway outside our door that woke us up very early. I wouldn't stay at the Travelodge again if it was free. Never again. Don't waste your money!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
prissybutt
Business
cleburne tx
Jun 5, 2013

Disappointment

The room we were assigned had some problems. The remote to the tv did not work and the manual settings were hard to deal with. The phone did not work. The faucet in the tub was upside down which could be dangerous thinking you are getting cold water when it is really hot. The shower diverted was extremely hard to use. The front desk did not know how to get around their part of the city! Also what century are the owners operating this in...there were no blowdryers. The best thing was the location which was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
howharp
Business
chihcago, Illinois
Aug 22, 2013

disappointed

I was not satisfied with my experience I love the room I had the king size bed with, kitchenette, bathroom really nice separate living room area, for the price no meals that was disappointed I could have went to a much better hotel and received breakfast for the price I paid trying to get a cab the next morning to get to union station to catch my train back home no assistance I had to walk and a stranger helped me because of the size of my luggage cab drivers thought I was going to O'Hara airport and refused to service me shame on them they missed out on a great tip. the room like I said was decent but for the price how I was treated was unacceptable I will try not to ever book that hotel for my stay in Chicago again but my reason for being in The city was a great experience but I wouldn't recommend anyone stay there unless it was a last resort and they were in desperate need.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
dodgeman
Business
san antonio,tx.
Jul 5, 2009

clean and cramped at about $1 per sq.ft.

when staff in lobby,they're helpful/friendly.when a room is 100sq.ft or less,furnishings should be smaller,except for bed.it should be queen size.an unmanned lobby present guests with unneccessary risk.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

grant park,navy pier,aquarium,rail station.all within a nice walk from your hotel.

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ENRIQUE VALLARTA
Business
PUERTO VALLARTA MEXICO
Mar 30, 2011

THE WORST HOTEL OF THE WORLD

IS THE WORST, UGLY AND OLDEST HOTEL OF THE WORLD, SMELL LIKE A TRASH, THEY NEVER CLEAN THE ROOMS WELL, THEY NEVER USE THE VACUM, THEY SAID THEY HAVE PARKING AND ITS NOT TRUE, YOU HAVE TO PAID $28 EACH NIGHT IN THE PARKING LOT IN FRONT, THEY SAID THEY HAVE GYM, AND ITS NOT TRUE ITS THE WORST HOTEL I NEVER BEEN IN MY LIFE!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NE
Jun 28, 2009

Taste of Chicago trip

Tha hall floors were dirty. The room floors were dirty. The doors are outdated & room door was not sound resistant (big gap at bottom of door). The biggest gripe we have is that we called the hotel ahead of time askign about parking. At that time, they said it was $10 a night. When we showed up and parked, it was $28 per night!! Strong odor in room... was primarily a cleaning smell. The staff was nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Millenium Park is full of things...workouts on the Great Lawn Saturday morning are highly recommended!!!

Back to menu Return to top