$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

2 stars
View map of 65 East Harrison, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
318 reviews
Great location and great price

Very nice hotel for the price! Great location close to museums parks and CTA! See full review

  • Awen89
  • May 20, 2015
Great location, nice hotel

You cant find a better deal so close to Michigan Ave. See full review

  • C W.
  • Apr 15, 2015

Built in 1928 as the Harrison Hotel, this South Loop hotel, now a Travelodge property caters to budget travelers looking for convenient access to Grant Park, Millennium Park and the Loop. Just off the Magnificent Mile, the non-smoking Travelodge Hotel features a business center, two onsite restaurants, double, king and king-suite rooms. Standard amenities include free high-speed Internet, 24-hour guest services and an in-room coffee maker with complimentary coffee.

Rooms
Carpeted rooms at the Travelodge Hotel sport city views and come in king, king-suite or double layouts. Patterned bedspreads coordinate with drapes, framed prints, wood nightstands and drawers. Free high-speed Internet is available in all rooms.
Property features

Travelers can make reservations online at GO Airport Express for limousine or sedan services to and from O'Hare International and Midway Airports. Shuttles and private car transfers are available seven days a week, 365 a year.  For travelers' convenience, gratuity and fuel surcharges are built into the price.

All guests enjoy free high-speed Internet access and a South Loop location just off the Magnificent Mile. Families enjoy value as children 16 and under stay free. The Travelodge also has a business center.

Highlights
  • Convenient South Loop location just off the Magnificent Mile
  • Budget and kid-friendly lodging--children 16 and under stay free
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Shuttle service via GO Airport Express (fees apply)
  • Indoor and outdoor parking (fees apply)
Nearby attractions
  • Grant Park
  • Millennium Park
  • Art Institute
  • Soldier Field
  • Magnificent Mile
  • Jewelers Row
  • Financial District
  • Loop
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center
Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (18 miles)
  • Midway Airport (11 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (LaSalle to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway)
  •  McCormick Place Convention Center (6 minutes)
Policies
  • Guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in
  • Indoor and outdoor parking fees apply

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago also booked these hotels.

★★★
$125
3.3 / 5 1,174 reviews
★★★
$145
3.2 / 5 304 reviews
★★★
$103
4.1 / 5 542 reviews
★★★
$116
4.0 / 5 301 reviews
★★★
$99
3.7 / 5 257 reviews
★★★
$149
4.1 / 5 125 reviews
★★★
$107
4.0 / 5 380 reviews
★★★
$107
4.0 / 5 557 reviews
★★★
$179
4.3 / 5 220 reviews

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Auditorium Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Auditorium Theatre: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.2 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
74 out of 318
Amenities:
2.7
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

68% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Desmond J.
Business
N/A
May 21, 2015

Used for a seminar on the other side of downtown for a few days. Affordable and clean. Great trip

Used for a seminar on the other side of downtown for a few days. Affordable and clean. Great trip!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
gjnj
Business
N/A
Apr 21, 2015

overpriced but adequate for business trip

The staff was pleasant. The hotel is run down. Only 1 of 3 elevators work. Cold water tap in my bathroom did not work. Room was a little run down, but the maid did a good job of keeping it clean. The room was expensive largely due to time of year. The rate should have been about half of what it was.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MK.154
Business
N/A
Jan 19, 2015

Good value for the price

This is an older building, but kept up nicely, and the furnishings are well kept. It felt safe and was very clean. I would come here again for the price I got. Was in town for a conference and it met my needs. Its not a 5 star hotel but its good enough for most travelers I think. My only complaint is that the bed I slept in sagged and was a little uncomfortable. I think this was an exception, not the rule.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Gregory M.
Business
N/A
Jan 17, 2015

Best Bang for the Buck

So let's start with the obvious, you are staying at a Travel Lodge. This is not the Ritz. So check your expectations. I needed something in the loop at a low cost. There were several hotels offering bottom basement prices (it IS wintertime in Chicago after all). However, I chose these guys. I'm glad I did. From the gentlemen at the front desk who checked me in to the housekeeping staff on premise, my time was enjoyable. The only complaint I would have (very minor) was that there were no channel guides in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Depending on what I'm doing in the city I travel to, I'm often taking public transportation. If I'm on a high enough floor I can view a partial bus route. If the streets are gridlocked in those areas, I take the subway.

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AlbieSure215
Business
Philadelphia, Pa
Sep 29, 2014

Cigarette burns in the tub said a lot

Tiny room with filthy windows and questionable level of cleanliness. But it was a block from a red line subway stop and two blocks from Grant Park, so that's worth something. I would only recommend it if you're the kind of person who doesn't care about what kind of place yo stay in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Mercat a la Planxa, around the corner and delicious.

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
rolopolo
Business
MI
Aug 15, 2014

Outdated and small

Good location, friendly staff (esp the maintenance guy who took me up and down in the vintage service elevator). Outdated decor, tiny rooms, the curtain didn't cover the window and I had to close the bathroom door to use the toilet. Not sure I would stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tako0084
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 25, 2014

Worst hotel in my life

Be aware !!! Most of good reviews are written by themselves. Here was worst hotel in my life, even motels are better than here. Front staff were really rude. There were less than half amenities as described. Had to wait at least 5 minutes to use an elevator, because the housekeepers and staff are using them even though there is staff elevator. Can't use self laundry because they're using laundry room as luggage room. I really don't recommend to stay here. Staff are really rude, less motivated and uneducated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
B. Murphy
Business
Alexandria, VA
Jun 25, 2014

Not Great!

The picture is deceiving! This hotel is very old; the room was tiny; the hallway and elevator was scary! The only redeeming qualities of this experience was that the staff at the front desk was wonderful, and the location is right downtown Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dddd79
Business
Holland, Michigan
May 30, 2014

Great location

I had a great deal again for this hotel. This was my second time in here. Its location is perfect. Near red line and bus stops. Their staff is super friendly and helpful. They have free wifi also, that was a huge plus for me...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the area there are lots of dining places for people that in a budget.

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dddd79
Business
Holland, Michigan
Apr 18, 2014

Perfect Location

I chose this hotel for it's location and had a really good deal. Hotel was better than I expected. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Hotel has free wi-fi, huge plus for me (some hotels near the same area charge you even for wi-fi) . Room was big for a double-bed room and very clean. I definitely will book again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top