$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2014 Check-out: Jul 22, 2014

Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

2 stars
65 East Harrison, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
549 reviews
Great Hotel

The hotel design is gorgeous, the room was exceedingly comfortable, and the staff was friendly as... See full review

  • TravelforPleasure
  • Jun 11, 2014
Perfect Location

I chose this hotel for it's location and had a really good deal. Hotel was better than I expected.... See full review

  • dddd79
  • Apr 18, 2014
Standard hotel near major downtown attractions

Built in 1928 as the Harrison Hotel, this South Loop hotel, now a Travelodge property caters to budget travelers looking for convenient access to Grant Park, Millennium Park and the Loop. Just off the Magnificent Mile, the non-smoking Travelodge Hotel features a business center, two onsite restaurants, double, king and king-suite rooms. Standard amenities include free high-speed Internet, 24-hour guest services and an in-room coffee maker with complimentary coffee.

Highlights
  • Convenient South Loop location just off the Magnificent Mile
  • Budget and kid-friendly lodging--children 16 and under stay free
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Shuttle service via GO Airport Express (fees apply)
  • Indoor and outdoor parking (fees apply)
Rooms
Carpeted rooms at the Travelodge Hotel sport city views and come in king, king-suite or double layouts. Patterned bedspreads coordinate with drapes, framed prints, wood nightstands and drawers. Free high-speed Internet is available in all rooms.
Features

Travelers can make reservations online at GO Airport Express for limousine or sedan services to and from O'Hare International and Midway Airports. Shuttles and private car transfers are available seven days a week, 365 a year.  For travelers' convenience, gratuity and fuel surcharges are built into the price.

All guests enjoy free high-speed Internet access and a South Loop location just off the Magnificent Mile. Families enjoy value as children 16 and under stay free. The Travelodge also has a business center.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (18 miles)
  • Midway Airport (11 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (LaSalle to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway)
  •  McCormick Place Convention Center (6 minutes)
Attractions
  • Grant Park
  • Millennium Park
  • Art Institute
  • Soldier Field
  • Magnificent Mile
  • Jewelers Row
  • Financial District
  • Loop
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in
  • Indoor and outdoor parking fees apply

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8744 -87.6255
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.2 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (549)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
128 out of 549
Amenities:
2.7
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.8
Room comfort:
3.2
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

70% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
B. Murphy
Business
Alexandria, VA
Jun 25, 2014

Not Great!

The picture is deceiving! This hotel is very old; the room was tiny; the hallway and elevator was scary! The only redeeming qualities of this experience was that the staff at the front desk was wonderful, and the location is right downtown Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dddd79
Business
Holland, Michigan
May 30, 2014

Great location

I had a great deal again for this hotel. This was my second time in here. Its location is perfect. Near red line and bus stops. Their staff is super friendly and helpful. They have free wifi also, that was a huge plus for me...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the area there are lots of dining places for people that in a budget.

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dddd79
Business
Holland, Michigan
Apr 18, 2014

Perfect Location

I chose this hotel for it's location and had a really good deal. Hotel was better than I expected. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Hotel has free wi-fi, huge plus for me (some hotels near the same area charge you even for wi-fi) . Room was big for a double-bed room and very clean. I definitely will book again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DC Imaging
Business
Mason, OH
Mar 5, 2014

Good downtown business location

For the price in a major city, I found this hotel to be better than expected. The room was remodeled with a large, flatscreen TV (limited channel selection though) and power outlets on the desk. The bed was great, and the room temp was so perfect for mid-winter that I didn't even use the window unit. Parking is steep, but again it is Chicago. Walking distance to a breakfast restaurant, short taxi to McCormick or anywhere in the downtown area.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Artists Cafe at 412 S. Michigan has a great beakfast

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
shireen
Business
Tucson AZ
Nov 26, 2013

not bad for the location

i was pretty pleased with this hotel. pretty clean, staff were friendly. my only complaint was that the water pressure was a little low and the hot water ran out quickly, but that's #firstworldproblems. for the location, it's a good deal.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Benters
Business
Jersey City, NJ
Oct 12, 2013

Disappointing

A generally poor experience. Chamber service before the 2nd night was not offered until 8:25pm although I had been out of the Hotel from 7:30am to 6:00pm. The room was uncomfortable, poor TV reception and no TV guide. Location of in-room services was illogical, e.g. Coffee Maker in one location but supplies of coffee etc was elsewhere. Elevator was slower than those in hospitals. Before arrival, I was offered a service which I later learned the Hotel has never offered.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sometimes Traveller
Business
Central TX
Sep 12, 2013

Great Location

The staff were very helpful and the location is perfect for the millennium park area with a short walk to the areas I was in Chicago for. The building is old, the rooms are small, but the price is right.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Fast-food, cafes, and Walgreen's/CVS are all within walking distance.

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deltek
Business
Michicagn
Jun 12, 2013

Great for the price

The hotel worked out fine. It appears they did some renovation recently. There was a nice adjoining restaurant. I got my exercise in when I walked the 1.4 miles to the meeting. It was a beautiful day in Chicago for that as well. I attended a conference downtown and everything was sold out. This hotel downtown worked out great for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SDinM
Business
miami beach
May 7, 2013

Good Business travel hotel

very good hotel stayed for a day for business, close to downtown and public transportation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ctraveler
Business
Fresno
Oct 2, 2012

Not too bad

My experience was ok. The hotel smelled bad when I walked in the front door. Good thing for them I'm not a picky person. The bed was comfortable and in general, I thought it was worth the price for my short business stay. The staff was courteous. There was no free breakfast in the morning, but I was close to places of dining or places where I could buy food at. There is a small cafe where I have bought breakfast or lunch at, but I didn't. The neighborhood was pretty safe. Hard to say anything about quietness because the subway was across the street ergo I heard the trains go by. They didn't really bother me. In general, I had a good time and it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pretty safe area to walk around in.

Back to menu Return to top