$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

2 stars
65 East Harrison, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
334 reviews
Great Hotel

The hotel design is gorgeous, the room was exceedingly comfortable, and the staff was friendly as... See full review

  • TravelforPleasure
  • Jun 11, 2014
Perfect Location

I chose this hotel for it's location and had a really good deal. Hotel was better than I expected.... See full review

  • dddd79
  • Apr 18, 2014
Standard hotel near major downtown attractions

Built in 1928 as the Harrison Hotel, this South Loop hotel, now a Travelodge property caters to budget travelers looking for convenient access to Grant Park, Millennium Park and the Loop. Just off the Magnificent Mile, the non-smoking Travelodge Hotel features a business center, two onsite restaurants, double, king and king-suite rooms. Standard amenities include free high-speed Internet, 24-hour guest services and an in-room coffee maker with complimentary coffee.

Highlights
  • Convenient South Loop location just off the Magnificent Mile
  • Budget and kid-friendly lodging--children 16 and under stay free
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Shuttle service via GO Airport Express (fees apply)
  • Indoor and outdoor parking (fees apply)
Rooms
Carpeted rooms at the Travelodge Hotel sport city views and come in king, king-suite or double layouts. Patterned bedspreads coordinate with drapes, framed prints, wood nightstands and drawers. Free high-speed Internet is available in all rooms.
Features

Travelers can make reservations online at GO Airport Express for limousine or sedan services to and from O'Hare International and Midway Airports. Shuttles and private car transfers are available seven days a week, 365 a year.  For travelers' convenience, gratuity and fuel surcharges are built into the price.

All guests enjoy free high-speed Internet access and a South Loop location just off the Magnificent Mile. Families enjoy value as children 16 and under stay free. The Travelodge also has a business center.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (18 miles)
  • Midway Airport (11 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (LaSalle to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway)
  •  McCormick Place Convention Center (6 minutes)
Attractions
  • Grant Park
  • Millennium Park
  • Art Institute
  • Soldier Field
  • Magnificent Mile
  • Jewelers Row
  • Financial District
  • Loop
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in
  • Indoor and outdoor parking fees apply

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.2 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (334)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
334 out of 334
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Matias
Business
USA
Apr 20, 2008

very family friendly

it was a very nice hotel for the price and very close from disney world

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

try ruby tuesday excelent food

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
KneadToTravel
Business
Miami FL
Jul 14, 2009

I love chicago

I loved the travel lodge downtown. It had the perfect walking location to many buildings and sites as well as navy pier and a short cab ride to anywhere else. There was the summer dance festival going on right outside the hotel lobby. The Room Was a one bed with a couch a desk, free wifi, a decent bathroom, and a comfy bed. The staff was very friendly and the asia resturant thai spoon had a nice little bar with tvs. I highly recomend it to anyone and will stay there next time i go to chicago

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

Not really a long walk as much as a nice one. In the Summer Chicago is bustling and beautiful very clean. Anyway Navy Pier Is great and I recomend a boat toar. On saturday nights there is the best firwork show. The walk also makes it worth it you will get to know the area well see plenty of architecture. Beautiful parks. The Bean and The Chicago tribune building are on the way. Look closely at the walls of the tribune. Trsvel lodge is on harrison leave the lobby head right to michigan the major road right there. Turn left and head down to Illinois ave its the corner the tribune is on! it can be missed easily. Turn right and head down the road and down the stairs and continue to navy pier. Visit the beer garden and Claim a reward!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traveller phd couple
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 2, 2011

Great, especially for the price!

The location of this hotel is very convenient, close to Metro, bus stops, right off Michigan Ave and 2 blocks from State St, walking distance from Millenium Park, all museums -- we even walked to Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile and Hancock Building! There's a bus line to any of these attractions as well...The hotel is clean, tidy, and the room was good size for a couple. The bed was comfy, TV, coffee maker, and bath all were in good shape. Most customers are young adults, couples, students, etc. but no particular complaints on that. I've done a lot of research and the price is simply unbeatable for all of this, so if you're not going to spend a lot of time in your hotel and simply want a convenient, comfortable, clean hotel room, this is your place! Thanks to [...] which made the experience even better with less work and more savings!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

When you exit the hotel, walk right to Michigan Ave or left 2 blocks to State St and catch a bus if you don't want to walk. The buses are very convenient for transportation along these two busy streets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
May 14, 2011

Great Location safe neighborhood

Great Location, One block for the Subway. Which was nice cause the red line (the subway a block a away) runs straight to Wrigley or u can get to any other part of the city from there (by subway connections). Navy pier was about a mile and half away which was a nice walk for sightseeing. The neighborhood is very safe alot of art students in the area and we felt total safe. The room we had was small but all we needed was a bed and shower and that is what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Buddy Guy bar is a block south of the hotel. We went there because of the close location to the hotel late one night due to weather and had a great time there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
LastStance
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Apr 11, 2012

Cheap comfortal well-located

Was surprised by how perfectly competent the room was (and right in downtown at that). I would've loved thicker pillows and the desk people freely admitted that the key cards get demagnetized really easily, but other than that it was everything I could've hoped for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Well you're right in downtown for the love of god. Millennium Parkand the Art Institute are five minutes and adjacent to one another. Epic Burger on State was great for fast non-Fast food and I plan on taking my last chance to eat Sal Malnatti's and Chicago deep dish before I leave tomorrow. SM's also on State and the two restaurants were even closer than the other destination's I mentioned; one very old and the other very new. Just like the other pair of places

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ctraveler
Business
Fresno
Oct 2, 2012

Not too bad

My experience was ok. The hotel smelled bad when I walked in the front door. Good thing for them I'm not a picky person. The bed was comfortable and in general, I thought it was worth the price for my short business stay. The staff was courteous. There was no free breakfast in the morning, but I was close to places of dining or places where I could buy food at. There is a small cafe where I have bought breakfast or lunch at, but I didn't. The neighborhood was pretty safe. Hard to say anything about quietness because the subway was across the street ergo I heard the trains go by. They didn't really bother me. In general, I had a good time and it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pretty safe area to walk around in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mohammadwisc
Business
Madison,WI
Dec 22, 2012

Nice!

The hotel itself, its location, staff, cleanness and facilities are very good. However, its price is not that cheap! It does not include breakfast, lunch or dinner! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Only 5 miles away from downtown!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Galant
Business
Puerto Rico
Sep 15, 2013

A Smart Deal

Located in the heart of Chicago Downtown, 5 minutes walking from Millenium Park, 7 minutes from Willis Tower, metro at the corner. good sleeping quality. Ask for a room away from the elevators and the trains. Elevators slow. But location compensate. Shopping, drugstores, fast food, you name it. Everything at your hand. From the airport, take the blue line to city, stop at Jackson, down the escalators, take the red line to Ashland/63, stop at Harrison, the hotel is 100 meters away from you. By train $2.25. Returning is easy also. Take red line to Hoiward, stop at Jackson, upo the stairs, take the blue Line to Ohare, you are done, for $2.25. Is 45 minutes trip from airport by metro. I recommend this hotel. Is my second time there. And I will return again. Thank you Watson, for the great room 825.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask for a room away from elevators and trains if you are a light sleeper like me. There is a safe in each room.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dddd79
Business
Holland, Michigan
Apr 18, 2014

Perfect Location

I chose this hotel for it's location and had a really good deal. Hotel was better than I expected. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Hotel has free wi-fi, huge plus for me (some hotels near the same area charge you even for wi-fi) . Room was big for a double-bed room and very clean. I definitely will book again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Orlando, FL
Jul 12, 2010

Great deal for the price

Great Service from Ken at the front. Big Room with a great view. Though i was going to get a dump for the price. New bathroom and enjoyed my overall stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

infront of millenium park and Grant Park.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top