$105 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

2 stars
View map of 65 East Harrison, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
365 out of 365
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ctraveler
Business
Fresno
Oct 2, 2012

Not too bad

My experience was ok. The hotel smelled bad when I walked in the front door. Good thing for them I'm not a picky person. The bed was comfortable and in general, I thought it was worth the price for my short business stay. The staff was courteous. There was no free breakfast in the morning, but I was close to places of dining or places where I could buy food at. There is a small cafe where I have bought breakfast or lunch at, but I didn't. The neighborhood was pretty safe. Hard to say anything about quietness because the subway was across the street ergo I heard the trains go by. They didn't really bother me. In general, I had a good time and it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pretty safe area to walk around in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
clmx
Business
mexico
Nov 16, 2011

horrible experience

We had to change our room twice, so we got to see 3 rooms in the hotel. Rooms are not clean, furniture is old, and carpet is stained. First room, horrible mattress and dirty. Second room, no hot water. Third room, noisy, but managed to stay there. I'd rather pay USD30 more for a better room in another hotel. This hotel is not worth the price. Staff VERY rude. Elevators, VERY slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mammapam
Business
Springboro, OH, USA
Nov 14, 2011

weekend getaway

Room was VERY clean but hot, due to old radiators you could not control. Used AC in Nov.!!!Location was adequate for our needs. Staff was great! We would stay there again if we were there .for short stay. No ammenities really other than coffee pot:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Exchequers great food and very reasonable

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ronald123321
Business
Zurich, Switzerland
Nov 13, 2011

Location great. Room ok.

excellent location in chicago downtown. room is ok but not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rheum traveler
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Nov 10, 2011

okay for the purpose

The location is excellent. One minor quibble- I called for extra soap at 10:30pm, but I had to call again at 11:30pm when it didn't arrive. A friendly staff person came up right away after that second call. One major quibble- I had to run the hot water in the shower 10-15 minutes before it became warm enough for me to step in. It never became hot. These are minor issues- I split the cost with a roommate, and these minor issues are easy to tolerate in exchange for the fantastic location and access to the Metra, CTA buses, and Magnificent Mile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
beep
Business
Philadelphia, PA, USA
Nov 7, 2011

Better than a hostel

an old unrenovated hotel lots of young folks all very clean super helpful and friendly staff excellent location no frills

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kstavro
Business
Chicago, IL, USA
Nov 6, 2011

Wouldn't stay here again!

The beds and pillows were very uncomfortable! The room was blazing hot so we turned the air on and it was the loudest machine ever!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reepee
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Great Hotel for Location & price

Great location for public transportation, low cost foods, walking distance to the parks, museums, & aquarium. Staff was friendly and helpful. Public coin laundry. Rooms small but clean. Free internet. No complaints for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We spent $20 each for 6 days of public transportation in and out of the city. The trains and buses go everywhere day and night with short waiting times.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ABILITIES101
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Oct 31, 2011

GREAT LOCATION

FOR THE MONEY, YOU GET A GREAT LOCATION. WALKING DISTANCE FROM THE STADIUM, SHOPPING, AND JUST A COUPLE MINUTE CAB RIDE FROM ALL THE FUN CLUBS AND BARS. SMALL ROOMS. OUT DATED MATTRESSES.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

GO TO THE LEG ROOM. GREAT BAR WITH GOOD MUSIC AND SMALL DANCE FLOOR. HOT FEMALE BARTENDERS:)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
naobru
Business
Michigan, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Too far away...

The hotel was fine....absolutely nothing great. The room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Thai restaurant that was within the hotel was great!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rmedl
Business
Loveland, OH
Oct 24, 2011

Solid 2.5 star hotel

Solid 2.5 star hotel. What I expected for the price that I paid. Dust bunnies along ceiling in the room, but otherwise clean. Housekeeping forgot to replenish coffee, washrags, and floor mat on one occasion; was quickly corrected by staff when informed. No disturbances from other guests at any time during 4-night stay. El train could be heard, but was not too loud as to be a nuisance. Great location two blocks from Harrison subway, and one block from Congress Plaza bus stops from which you can easily get to and from Union Station. So hotel is great to use as your sightseeing homebase.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The coffeshop/deli attached to the lobby is a great value for breakfast. Good food and wildly polite staff. Derrick behind the counter was as nice of a Chicagoan as I met during the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top