$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

2 stars
View map of 65 East Harrison, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ctraveler
Business
Fresno
Oct 2, 2012

Not too bad

My experience was ok. The hotel smelled bad when I walked in the front door. Good thing for them I'm not a picky person. The bed was comfortable and in general, I thought it was worth the price for my short business stay. The staff was courteous. There was no free breakfast in the morning, but I was close to places of dining or places where I could buy food at. There is a small cafe where I have bought breakfast or lunch at, but I didn't. The neighborhood was pretty safe. Hard to say anything about quietness because the subway was across the street ergo I heard the trains go by. They didn't really bother me. In general, I had a good time and it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pretty safe area to walk around in.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Reepee
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Nov 2, 2011

Great Hotel for Location & price

Great location for public transportation, low cost foods, walking distance to the parks, museums, & aquarium. Staff was friendly and helpful. Public coin laundry. Rooms small but clean. Free internet. No complaints for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

We spent $20 each for 6 days of public transportation in and out of the city. The trains and buses go everywhere day and night with short waiting times.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ABILITIES101
Business
Minneapolis, MN, USA
Oct 31, 2011

GREAT LOCATION

FOR THE MONEY, YOU GET A GREAT LOCATION. WALKING DISTANCE FROM THE STADIUM, SHOPPING, AND JUST A COUPLE MINUTE CAB RIDE FROM ALL THE FUN CLUBS AND BARS. SMALL ROOMS. OUT DATED MATTRESSES.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short drive from hotel

GO TO THE LEG ROOM. GREAT BAR WITH GOOD MUSIC AND SMALL DANCE FLOOR. HOT FEMALE BARTENDERS:)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
naobru
Business
Michigan, USA
Oct 26, 2011

Too far away...

The hotel was fine....absolutely nothing great. The room was clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Thai restaurant that was within the hotel was great!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rmedl
Business
Loveland, OH
Oct 24, 2011

Solid 2.5 star hotel

Solid 2.5 star hotel. What I expected for the price that I paid. Dust bunnies along ceiling in the room, but otherwise clean. Housekeeping forgot to replenish coffee, washrags, and floor mat on one occasion; was quickly corrected by staff when informed. No disturbances from other guests at any time during 4-night stay. El train could be heard, but was not too loud as to be a nuisance. Great location two blocks from Harrison subway, and one block from Congress Plaza bus stops from which you can easily get to and from Union Station. So hotel is great to use as your sightseeing homebase.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The coffeshop/deli attached to the lobby is a great value for breakfast. Good food and wildly polite staff. Derrick behind the counter was as nice of a Chicagoan as I met during the trip.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Edualc
Business
Québec, QC, Canada
Oct 24, 2011

Great location, poor service

It is not that the service is not efficient: it is. But there is no extra. If you have a question, maybe they will find the answer, maybe not ... It depends on who you talk too and especially their «mood of the moment» But the location is great, and that's what I was looking for. A few steps from Michigan ave and grant park. The cleanliness of the hotel was good, though and that is important stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A visit to the Chicago architecture foudation on Michigan ave is a must. I strongly recommand the architecture river cruise ... especially the one at 5 pm, when the building light up in the colored sky. Awesome!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kdhd
Business
Toledo, OH, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Great location

Great location - only one block from Michigan Ave. Inbetween Magnificent Mile and Museum Campus which are the 2 things we planned to do.Close to buses and lots of restaurants. Staff was very helpful.Great place for a value price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wepea5
Business
Columbia, MO
Oct 15, 2011

Not very good at all, but okay

I stayed here before the Chicago Marathon. Location was perfect, but hotel was lackluster. Bed was pretty suspect, lighting was horrible, and air conditioning wasn't good. Bathroom was okay. The beds have those old polyster comforters that had some stains. The hotel needs updating bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
croatia
Business
Croatia
Oct 8, 2011

top floor

We've booked actually last minute and got 25% off for 3 nights and got the last room on the last floor of hotel... Hotel location was perfect, downtown near parks and museums, few steps from Michigan ave and lake but still our room had view on 2 buildings. Couldn't even see the sun. But, what you pay, what you get. And also, almost didn't have hot water, pressure was so weak that it was hard to take a decent shower. Everything else was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Evanston, IL, USA
Oct 8, 2011

Worth the price

the room is far from fancy and quite small. But it's the cheapest one in downtown. If you want to just stay at night, it's fine. But don't expect more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago tourist
Business
Florida
Oct 3, 2011

Good hotel for it's price

Completely agree with those who say "You get what you pay for". Hotel is not new, but: Great location (walked couple of minutes from the Loop). The staff was friendly, housekeeper kept my room clean every day. No continental breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to those, who needs cheap stay in downtown of Chicago. PS: There is Thai restaraunt on the ground floor - delicious and pretty cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top