$93 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

2 stars
View map of 65 East Harrison, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
318 out of 318
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JAKY
Business
Murray, KY, USA
Dec 14, 2011

A good stay to go around in downtown

Very close to CTA station, also the Michigan Ave. A great location. The only problem is there are not many restaurants to choose, except the subway, KFC, and Pizza Hut.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The nearest CTA station is Harrison in Red Line.

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
ocphotog5675
Business
Orange, CA, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Not exactly the best, but get what you pay for.

Room was decently clean, warm enough, and thats about it. Plain room, heater worked, bathroom was clean. We were on the second floor, right across from elevators, super slow weekend and somehow hotel couldnt find ANY other room that could be quieter. Saw a FAT cockroach in the stairway (which we had to take since the first 1.5 days the elevator didnt work or you had to wait over 5 mins for it to come). Staff was not good, felt like anything asked about the city, trains, late checkout, was a huge incovenience for them to even open their mouth or check the computer. We got a late checkout and 30mins before the checkout a hotel personnel just opens the door to our room as we were packing our stuff, and asks if we are checking out, no knock, just comes right in. NOT COOL, for obvious reasons. Just overall not the best experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Domin
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Dec 12, 2011

Little vacation.

We had a good stay, it's a nice hotel. Close the subway and some good restaraunts.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
dalai
Business
Washington Metro, USA
Dec 8, 2011

Stayed in better..

There was no hot water, I had to get ready real fast and frankly had no time to call their attention to it. The room was pretty small and that was their king size. It was clean though. The staff was very helpful and nice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ontheroad...again
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Dec 1, 2011

Tired

I needed this hotel in a pinch when my normal hotel in Chicago was full. I can't say I recommend it. The staff was very helpful finding me an early check-in (9:00 AM) but the hotel is in need of a facelift in a big way. Small rooms....very tight hallways...corners and dimly lit halls (I would not want to stay here as an unaccompanied woman)...tired furniture...all in all not a great place. I do however recommend the Thai restaurant tied to the hotel. The food was very good!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chi Town again
Business
Chicago Ill
Nov 18, 2011

Good value

I booked thruogh Orbitiz and had to pay ahead of time with no refund if I was unable to fulfill the reservation however I did get a very nice roomy suite for less than the price of a single room. Nice BR, LV with couch and business desk with comp. WIFI, Small kit w/ sink ,refig, and microwave. Redone bath, comfortable King bed, good cable table top TV with showtime and HBO . Only negative was this was a smoke free hotel and we consistantly got cigarette smell from our bath vent and even with six to nine complaints to the front desk did not resolve the problem so we just had to let the bath fan run all the time which was a sleep concern. Bring a vaporizer for the moisture will make your stay better in the heating season. Great bellman--Les

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jim Miller's on Waubash

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
clmx
Business
mexico
Nov 16, 2011

horrible experience

We had to change our room twice, so we got to see 3 rooms in the hotel. Rooms are not clean, furniture is old, and carpet is stained. First room, horrible mattress and dirty. Second room, no hot water. Third room, noisy, but managed to stay there. I'd rather pay USD30 more for a better room in another hotel. This hotel is not worth the price. Staff VERY rude. Elevators, VERY slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mammapam
Business
Springboro, OH, USA
Nov 14, 2011

weekend getaway

Room was VERY clean but hot, due to old radiators you could not control. Used AC in Nov.!!!Location was adequate for our needs. Staff was great! We would stay there again if we were there .for short stay. No ammenities really other than coffee pot:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Exchequers great food and very reasonable

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Ronald123321
Business
Zurich, Switzerland
Nov 13, 2011

Location great. Room ok.

excellent location in chicago downtown. room is ok but not great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
rheum traveler
Business
Detroit, MI, USA
Nov 10, 2011

okay for the purpose

The location is excellent. One minor quibble- I called for extra soap at 10:30pm, but I had to call again at 11:30pm when it didn't arrive. A friendly staff person came up right away after that second call. One major quibble- I had to run the hot water in the shower 10-15 minutes before it became warm enough for me to step in. It never became hot. These are minor issues- I split the cost with a roommate, and these minor issues are easy to tolerate in exchange for the fantastic location and access to the Metra, CTA buses, and Magnificent Mile.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top