$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2014 Check-out: Jul 22, 2014

Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

2 stars
65 East Harrison, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
549 reviews
Great Hotel

The hotel design is gorgeous, the room was exceedingly comfortable, and the staff was friendly as... See full review

  • TravelforPleasure
  • Jun 11, 2014
Perfect Location

I chose this hotel for it's location and had a really good deal. Hotel was better than I expected.... See full review

  • dddd79
  • Apr 18, 2014
Standard hotel near major downtown attractions

Built in 1928 as the Harrison Hotel, this South Loop hotel, now a Travelodge property caters to budget travelers looking for convenient access to Grant Park, Millennium Park and the Loop. Just off the Magnificent Mile, the non-smoking Travelodge Hotel features a business center, two onsite restaurants, double, king and king-suite rooms. Standard amenities include free high-speed Internet, 24-hour guest services and an in-room coffee maker with complimentary coffee.

Highlights
  • Convenient South Loop location just off the Magnificent Mile
  • Budget and kid-friendly lodging--children 16 and under stay free
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Shuttle service via GO Airport Express (fees apply)
  • Indoor and outdoor parking (fees apply)
Rooms
Carpeted rooms at the Travelodge Hotel sport city views and come in king, king-suite or double layouts. Patterned bedspreads coordinate with drapes, framed prints, wood nightstands and drawers. Free high-speed Internet is available in all rooms.
Features

Travelers can make reservations online at GO Airport Express for limousine or sedan services to and from O'Hare International and Midway Airports. Shuttles and private car transfers are available seven days a week, 365 a year.  For travelers' convenience, gratuity and fuel surcharges are built into the price.

All guests enjoy free high-speed Internet access and a South Loop location just off the Magnificent Mile. Families enjoy value as children 16 and under stay free. The Travelodge also has a business center.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (18 miles)
  • Midway Airport (11 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (LaSalle to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway)
  •  McCormick Place Convention Center (6 minutes)
Attractions
  • Grant Park
  • Millennium Park
  • Art Institute
  • Soldier Field
  • Magnificent Mile
  • Jewelers Row
  • Financial District
  • Loop
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in
  • Indoor and outdoor parking fees apply

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8744 -87.6255
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.2 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (549)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
549 out of 549
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wepea5
Columbia, MO
Oct 15, 2011

Not very good at all, but okay

I stayed here before the Chicago Marathon. Location was perfect, but hotel was lackluster. Bed was pretty suspect, lighting was horrible, and air conditioning wasn't good. Bathroom was okay. The beds have those old polyster comforters that had some stains. The hotel needs updating bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Evanston, IL, USA
Oct 8, 2011

Worth the price

the room is far from fancy and quite small. But it's the cheapest one in downtown. If you want to just stay at night, it's fine. But don't expect more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Evanston, IL, USA
Oct 8, 2011

Worth the price

the room is far from fancy and quite small. But it's the cheapest one in downtown. If you want to just stay at night, it's fine. But don't expect more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
croatia
Croatia
Oct 8, 2011

top floor

We've booked actually last minute and got 25% off for 3 nights and got the last room on the last floor of hotel... Hotel location was perfect, downtown near parks and museums, few steps from Michigan ave and lake but still our room had view on 2 buildings. Couldn't even see the sun. But, what you pay, what you get. And also, almost didn't have hot water, pressure was so weak that it was hard to take a decent shower. Everything else was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago tourist
Florida
Oct 3, 2011

Good hotel for it's price

Completely agree with those who say "You get what you pay for". Hotel is not new, but: Great location (walked couple of minutes from the Loop). The staff was friendly, housekeeper kept my room clean every day. No continental breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to those, who needs cheap stay in downtown of Chicago. PS: There is Thai restaraunt on the ground floor - delicious and pretty cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago tourist
Florida
Oct 3, 2011

Good hotel for it's price

Completely agree with those who say "You get what you pay for". Hotel is not new, but: Great location (walked couple of minutes from the Loop). The staff was friendly, housekeeper kept my room clean every day. No continental breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to those, who needs cheap stay in downtown of Chicago. PS: There is Thai restaraunt on the ground floor - delicious and pretty cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thefrenchcouple
Alberta, Canada
Oct 1, 2011

Good times!!

This was our first time at a hotel in Chicago. We stayed 2 nights. An older building, but the room we stayed in appeared to have been renovated. A small bathroom, but with new tub/sink/toilet/tiles. The beds were pretty comfortable. The front desk was helpful and good with directions and recommended some good/ not overly priced places to eat. Has parking, but for an additional cost The location is great. Just a short walk to Grant Park and Millenium Park and several museums, such as the Art Institute, Aquarium, Planeterium and Field Museum. Also recommend hopping on a tour bus $30-35 for 3 days use. Takes you all around the city. You get get on and off at your leisure. Great way to see a little of everything! Overall, we would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Recommend purchasing a CityPass. Gets you into 5 great tourist spots for almost 1/2 the price. And also allows you to jump ahead of the line.

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thefrenchcouple
Alberta, Canada
Oct 1, 2011

Good times!!

This was our first time at a hotel in Chicago. We stayed 2 nights. An older building, but the room we stayed in appeared to have been renovated. A small bathroom, but with new tub/sink/toilet/tiles. The beds were pretty comfortable. The front desk was helpful and good with directions and recommended some good/ not overly priced places to eat. Has parking, but for an additional cost The location is great. Just a short walk to Grant Park and Millenium Park and several museums, such as the Art Institute, Aquarium, Planeterium and Field Museum. Also recommend hopping on a tour bus $30-35 for 3 days use. Takes you all around the city. You get get on and off at your leisure. Great way to see a little of everything! Overall, we would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Recommend purchasing a CityPass. Gets you into 5 great tourist spots for almost 1/2 the price. And also allows you to jump ahead of the line.

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MaryAnn
Appleton, WI, USA
Sep 22, 2011

Great Location and Service

This hotel is nothing fancy and the bathroom was very small, however we did not go to Chicago to stay in our room! The mattress was great and service was superior. The only complaint I had is that the maids did not change the bedding and it was obviously soiled with a food stain. We did have the bed changed before we left the hotel for the evening. We would definitely stay at this hotel again if we were looking to stay in the Grant Park area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MaryAnn
Appleton, WI, USA
Sep 22, 2011

Great Location and Service

This hotel is nothing fancy and the bathroom was very small, however we did not go to Chicago to stay in our room! The mattress was great and service was superior. The only complaint I had is that the maids did not change the bedding and it was obviously soiled with a food stain. We did have the bed changed before we left the hotel for the evening. We would definitely stay at this hotel again if we were looking to stay in the Grant Park area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Back to menu Return to top