$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 1, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

2 stars
65 East Harrison, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
351 reviews
Great Hotel

The hotel design is gorgeous, the room was exceedingly comfortable, and the staff was friendly as... See full review

  • TravelforPleasure
  • Jun 11, 2014
Perfect Location

I chose this hotel for it's location and had a really good deal. Hotel was better than I expected.... See full review

  • dddd79
  • Apr 18, 2014
Standard hotel near major downtown attractions

Built in 1928 as the Harrison Hotel, this South Loop hotel, now a Travelodge property caters to budget travelers looking for convenient access to Grant Park, Millennium Park and the Loop. Just off the Magnificent Mile, the non-smoking Travelodge Hotel features a business center, two onsite restaurants, double, king and king-suite rooms. Standard amenities include free high-speed Internet, 24-hour guest services and an in-room coffee maker with complimentary coffee.

Highlights
  • Convenient South Loop location just off the Magnificent Mile
  • Budget and kid-friendly lodging--children 16 and under stay free
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Shuttle service via GO Airport Express (fees apply)
  • Indoor and outdoor parking (fees apply)
Rooms
Carpeted rooms at the Travelodge Hotel sport city views and come in king, king-suite or double layouts. Patterned bedspreads coordinate with drapes, framed prints, wood nightstands and drawers. Free high-speed Internet is available in all rooms.
Features

Travelers can make reservations online at GO Airport Express for limousine or sedan services to and from O'Hare International and Midway Airports. Shuttles and private car transfers are available seven days a week, 365 a year.  For travelers' convenience, gratuity and fuel surcharges are built into the price.

All guests enjoy free high-speed Internet access and a South Loop location just off the Magnificent Mile. Families enjoy value as children 16 and under stay free. The Travelodge also has a business center.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (18 miles)
  • Midway Airport (11 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (LaSalle to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway)
  •  McCormick Place Convention Center (6 minutes)
Attractions
  • Grant Park
  • Millennium Park
  • Art Institute
  • Soldier Field
  • Magnificent Mile
  • Jewelers Row
  • Financial District
  • Loop
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in
  • Indoor and outdoor parking fees apply

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8744 -87.6255
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.2 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (351)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
351 out of 351
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Deltek
Business
Michicagn
Jun 12, 2013

Great for the price

The hotel worked out fine. It appears they did some renovation recently. There was a nice adjoining restaurant. I got my exercise in when I walked the 1.4 miles to the meeting. It was a beautiful day in Chicago for that as well. I attended a conference downtown and everything was sold out. This hotel downtown worked out great for me.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
prissybutt
cleburne tx
Jun 5, 2013

Disappointment

The room we were assigned had some problems. The remote to the tv did not work and the manual settings were hard to deal with. The phone did not work. The faucet in the tub was upside down which could be dangerous thinking you are getting cold water when it is really hot. The shower diverted was extremely hard to use. The front desk did not know how to get around their part of the city! Also what century are the owners operating this in...there were no blowdryers. The best thing was the location which was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
SDinM
Business
miami beach
May 7, 2013

Good Business travel hotel

very good hotel stayed for a day for business, close to downtown and public transportation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Raulovv
Paraguay
Apr 19, 2013

Good deal

The location its good, the rooms are comfortable. It was what I was expecting from a two stars hotel in Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Fellow traveler 1
Wisconsin
Mar 24, 2013

Problems

This Hotel was built in 1928 and shows it. The only desk clerk on duty could not find my reservation and so after some delay waiting to confirm my reservation even though I showed her a printed copy of the reservation, I was finally allowed to put the room on my credit card. There was only one slow elevator working in the building. The halls were dated and unattractive. When I finally got my room it was large and clean with refrigerator and good TV. However the elevated train runs right by the hotel and is quite loud at night. Parking is $36 per night extra.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mohammadwisc
Madison,WI
Dec 22, 2012

Nice!

The hotel itself, its location, staff, cleanness and facilities are very good. However, its price is not that cheap! It does not include breakfast, lunch or dinner! :)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Only 5 miles away from downtown!

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bruno11
Vienna, Austria
Nov 2, 2012

Perfect location

absolutely perfect location, cheap for a center hotel, very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Gnwd traveler
Greenwood, IN
Oct 28, 2012

Good location but....

Was in a great location to walk around and to get access to Congress Parkway for travel to United Center, but room was small and quite outdated. No ice bucket, carpet and furniture needs replaced. There were 3 elevators, but only one running. A couple of times the maintenance offered and took us down in the 3rd elevator which is used by them. Also had the sound of the train all night long. It was cheap and a place to sleep, but I will not go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Samnlilly
Rochester, MN
Oct 19, 2012

Location, Location, Location

Half-way in between of EVERYTHING Chicago. Within walking distance to top attactions, parks, eateries, buses & L-line. Rooms had the minimum amenities, clean bed & towels, TV, sporadic Wi-fi, and coffee pot--all you need when spending a few days sight seeing & shopping. Room temp hard to regulate with dilapidated air unit, but we made due. For the price, I would definitely stay again and recommend to friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ctraveler
Business
Fresno
Oct 2, 2012

Not too bad

My experience was ok. The hotel smelled bad when I walked in the front door. Good thing for them I'm not a picky person. The bed was comfortable and in general, I thought it was worth the price for my short business stay. The staff was courteous. There was no free breakfast in the morning, but I was close to places of dining or places where I could buy food at. There is a small cafe where I have bought breakfast or lunch at, but I didn't. The neighborhood was pretty safe. Hard to say anything about quietness because the subway was across the street ergo I heard the trains go by. They didn't really bother me. In general, I had a good time and it was worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pretty safe area to walk around in.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search