$87 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 5, 2015 Check-out: Apr 8, 2015

Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

2 stars
View map of 65 East Harrison, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
337 out of 337
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Feb 17, 2008

wack!

It not worth it, the heat went out in my room an they told me that i would have to wait until sunday when i check in saturday an then gave us two blankets.Rooms are very little an it cost 30dollar to park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Sep 18, 2007

Great Location

The TravelLodge Downtown Chicago had the very best location. The Metro train station was very close, so you don't have to drag your luggage very far if you ride the train from the airport. It also was very close to the Art Institute, and the museum campus and of course to the metro station, for easy access to the city. The room was clean but had a very worn look, the TV was not very good (the remote did not work well). I did like the mini kitchen with coffee maker, microwave, and fridge. For the price I thought it was a good deal, since I didn't spend much time in the room anyway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Durham/Raleigh, NC
Sep 12, 2007

Inexpensive and decent location

Hotel is old but clean. Located off Michigan Ave. and walking distance to just about every place I wanted to get to. Sort of like staying in a hostel. Got what I paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 19, 2007

Close to Everything....Nice walking area

The Travelodge was a good place to stay to be close to Grants Park, Navy Pier, Red Line train to Wrigley Field. Great location from my viewpoint. The Hotel was clean overall. Had quick check in. Room was fair as far as how it was set up. Bed was right next to the wall,window,air conditioner(and I mean rightnext to it. Very inconvienent for 2 people and the curtains had to be short because of the air conditoner in the window...so bright sunshine was right in your face in the morning...we shoved extra pillows in the windows to hold the curtains back. Beds were fair, could use some new ones I believe. Don't get me wrong, I would try them again. I would just probably ask for a more spacious room or 2 beds. Staff was great and helpful!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Buckingham fountain, Grants Park

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Aug 18, 2007

Great location, great value

The Chicago Travelodge room was very large and clean and had a mini kitchen with a fridge which was convenient. The cable didn't work and they could not figure out how to use it until after we checked out. The front desk was not so helpful, even nasty when I complained. The manager, the next morning had it fixed (just need to turn to channel 3 and hit the C button-but none of the staff knew this) Great location from the trains and from grant park. The hotel room looked a little dingy and old but we were just there for the night so we didn't care. This hotel personnel needs a bit of a lesson on customer service (everyone other than the bellboy-he was very very nice) Great value and stay for one night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Near everything. The walk to the beach is less than 10 minutes. Don't need a car in the city because their transportation is close, frequent and CLEAN!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 31, 2007

adequate

The Travelodge Downtown Chicago was average and what you expect for a low price. There was absolutely nothing fancy about it , just adequate. The room was fairly small, but from what I could see it was clean and the bed was comfortable. Good for low price and a brief stay where you just need a place to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Millinneum Park Buckingham Fountain

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Omaha, NE
Jul 30, 2007

Cheap, a bit of a walk to the mile.

The hotel was fine. The staff wasn't the friendliest ever, but were efficient, and let us check in early. The view from our room on the 12th floor was great, and the room was comfortable. Never having been to Chicago before, I didn't realize what a walk it was from this Travelodge to the magnificent mile - got a little tiring after a couple of days. The hotel needs an allover update, but it is comfortable and relatively affordable for downtown Chicago, and if they renovate, it probably won't be quite so affordable. It was next door to the photography museum, and a few blocks away from the Chicago Art Institute.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Magnificent Mile withing walking distance, but kind of a long walk. Chicago Art Institute, Photography Museum, Millenium Park nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 24, 2007

Not worth it

The hotel was old and not kept up. The lobby was nice, but the rooms were very old, paint flaking, window air conditioners that did not cool the room, dirty comforters- no frills place to stay. I'd rather pay more for a comfortable, safe-feeling room than stay here again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

Take the red line to go anywhere- it's about a block from the hotel. Otherwise you'll find yourself walking alot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Jul 21, 2007

close to everything

I really injoyed the fact that every thing that chicago had to offer was right out the door. the location is absolutlly perfect. right next to the cta red line l, so it was easy to travel the city with out a car or taxi. the hotel it self is really unique given how old it is. it is really nice and my girlfriend and i really enjoyed are stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

lake michigan, grant park, the buckingham fountain, millenium park are all right across the street walking distance. the cta red line is one block west of the hotel. you can walk to the financial district, and sears tower.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 19, 2007

Value for money

Good location. Close to shopping. Rooms were clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top