$81 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 7, 2015 Check-out: Sep 10, 2015

Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

2 stars
View map of 65 East Harrison, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
318 out of 318
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.1
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

66% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Tako0084
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 25, 2014

Worst hotel in my life

Be aware !!! Most of good reviews are written by themselves. Here was worst hotel in my life, even motels are better than here. Front staff were really rude. There were less than half amenities as described. Had to wait at least 5 minutes to use an elevator, because the housekeepers and staff are using them even though there is staff elevator. Can't use self laundry because they're using laundry room as luggage room. I really don't recommend to stay here. Staff are really rude, less motivated and uneducated.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ellis Fogg
Couples
Midland, Michigan
Jul 18, 2014

Great location

Slow elevator and small bathroom. But the bell staff are very helpful and nice. And the location is key. A short walk to Grant Park and a little longer one to Millennium Park. A couple of blocks to the Red Line and plenty of buses out on Michigan Avenue. Park at the northeast corner of Wabash and Harrison ($25 a day), instead of across the street from the hotel ($39 a day). Spend your time exploring the city and come back to the hotel to sleep.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Pizano's at 61 E. Madison. It's a few blocks walk but it has great Italian food.

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crystal Rae
Friends
Auatin texas
Jul 10, 2014

Wedding

They we're all really nice and helped me upgrade with no problems thanks guys

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Mellineum park and the mesuems are there

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DianeS51
Couples
Grundy County, Iowa
Jul 7, 2014

location, location, location

This is obviously an old hotel, but not a bad place to stay. The bathroom was very small, especially by today's standards, with no place to put clothes or shower supplies. The TV faced one bed, but didn't have a good angle from the other. Fortunately, we didn't want to watch TV. It was clean and well kept, with friendly staff and great care. One of the 3 elevators was the old fashioned kind that needed an operator, but there was usually someone there willing to serve in that role. The biggest negative I would say is that the "parking available" is misleading. Be sure to figure another $39 per day for parking. But the location, in my opinion, makes it worth it. It would just have been easier to swallow if I had chosen it instead of feeling tricked. That said, I'd happily choose it again. Could someone please tell me, though, what good is a safe with the method and combination for lock and unlock printed on the top? 4th of July activities were plentiful and Michigan Ave parks were busy in the evening. Love the sidewalk dining and the nearby late night Dunkin Donuts and Subway, as well as the other restaurants around. Navy Pier is always a favorite place, but there's a lot of construction so allow extra time. Suessical is wonderful!!! The tallship was awesome! Beautiful weather. Wish the timing would have allowed for the Madagascar 3d Imax. Transformers isn't my thing. Love the Mexican Cantina. Getting far enough to get a cab after the activities was a problem since one of us has back and knee problems and can't walk very far. Maybe there would have been a way to order something in advance. That could be a future deal-breaker (or deal-maker). Any takers?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Fabulous casual dining is available, with outdoor seating, too, if you can walk between 1/2 and 1 mile (and back). Quick and easy close places are good for late night and early morning, but it's worth the walk to Michigan Ave for more grown-up fare. If you go to Cosi, try the s'mores. They're wonderful! Your own little fire pot with marshmallows to roast, graham crackers and Hershey's bar to put it all together. Be prepared to be sticky.

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
B. Murphy
Business
Alexandria, VA
Jun 25, 2014

Not Great!

The picture is deceiving! This hotel is very old; the room was tiny; the hallway and elevator was scary! The only redeeming qualities of this experience was that the staff at the front desk was wonderful, and the location is right downtown Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TravelforPleasure
Friends
East Lansing, Michigan
Jun 11, 2014

Great Hotel

The hotel design is gorgeous, the room was exceedingly comfortable, and the staff was friendly as can be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Friends

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

If you like craft beer, check out the Beer Exchange which is a short walk from the hotel.

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Argo Lite
Family
SAN DIEGO, CA
Jun 1, 2014

Great Location

The location of this hotel is its selling point.. Just a block or so from Grant Park. The price is reasonable for the location. It could do with some upgrades in its amenities. On the whole its a good choice for location and price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Family

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

THE ART ISTITUE OF CHICAGO

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
dddd79
Business
Holland, Michigan
May 30, 2014

Great location

I had a great deal again for this hotel. This was my second time in here. Its location is perfect. Near red line and bus stops. Their staff is super friendly and helpful. They have free wifi also, that was a huge plus for me...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Around the area there are lots of dining places for people that in a budget.

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
super shopper 007
Family
mexico city
Apr 22, 2014

turistic and shopping getaway

Great location, near to metro and downtown atracctions at a walking distance. Room cleaning was not so exhaustive, since I found coffee maker not clean after I used it and also dirty corners. Needs to be some attention to clean personal. I hope they would have the breakfast on the hotel facility like in others travelodge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

small shops are in the neighboorhood at ealking distance, Ford city mall is a public transportation 40min (metro and then bus). Turistic spots at downtown at walking distance, some museums by bus at State and jackson streets. Close to the blue line, the one that arrives to O'Hare airport.

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
dddd79
Business
Holland, Michigan
Apr 18, 2014

Perfect Location

I chose this hotel for it's location and had a really good deal. Hotel was better than I expected. Staff was very helpful and friendly. Hotel has free wi-fi, huge plus for me (some hotels near the same area charge you even for wi-fi) . Room was big for a double-bed room and very clean. I definitely will book again...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top