$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 11, 2015 Check-out: Jan 14, 2015

Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

2 stars
65 East Harrison, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
334 reviews
Great Hotel

The hotel design is gorgeous, the room was exceedingly comfortable, and the staff was friendly as... See full review

  • TravelforPleasure
  • Jun 11, 2014
Perfect Location

I chose this hotel for it's location and had a really good deal. Hotel was better than I expected.... See full review

  • dddd79
  • Apr 18, 2014
Standard hotel near major downtown attractions

Built in 1928 as the Harrison Hotel, this South Loop hotel, now a Travelodge property caters to budget travelers looking for convenient access to Grant Park, Millennium Park and the Loop. Just off the Magnificent Mile, the non-smoking Travelodge Hotel features a business center, two onsite restaurants, double, king and king-suite rooms. Standard amenities include free high-speed Internet, 24-hour guest services and an in-room coffee maker with complimentary coffee.

Highlights
  • Convenient South Loop location just off the Magnificent Mile
  • Budget and kid-friendly lodging--children 16 and under stay free
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Shuttle service via GO Airport Express (fees apply)
  • Indoor and outdoor parking (fees apply)
Rooms
Carpeted rooms at the Travelodge Hotel sport city views and come in king, king-suite or double layouts. Patterned bedspreads coordinate with drapes, framed prints, wood nightstands and drawers. Free high-speed Internet is available in all rooms.
Features

Travelers can make reservations online at GO Airport Express for limousine or sedan services to and from O'Hare International and Midway Airports. Shuttles and private car transfers are available seven days a week, 365 a year.  For travelers' convenience, gratuity and fuel surcharges are built into the price.

All guests enjoy free high-speed Internet access and a South Loop location just off the Magnificent Mile. Families enjoy value as children 16 and under stay free. The Travelodge also has a business center.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (18 miles)
  • Midway Airport (11 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (LaSalle to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway)
  •  McCormick Place Convention Center (6 minutes)
Attractions
  • Grant Park
  • Millennium Park
  • Art Institute
  • Soldier Field
  • Magnificent Mile
  • Jewelers Row
  • Financial District
  • Loop
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in
  • Indoor and outdoor parking fees apply

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.2 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (334)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
334 out of 334
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
traveller phd couple
Business
Washington, DC
Jan 2, 2011

Great, especially for the price!

The location of this hotel is very convenient, close to Metro, bus stops, right off Michigan Ave and 2 blocks from State St, walking distance from Millenium Park, all museums -- we even walked to Navy Pier, Magnificent Mile and Hancock Building! There's a bus line to any of these attractions as well...The hotel is clean, tidy, and the room was good size for a couple. The bed was comfy, TV, coffee maker, and bath all were in good shape. Most customers are young adults, couples, students, etc. but no particular complaints on that. I've done a lot of research and the price is simply unbeatable for all of this, so if you're not going to spend a lot of time in your hotel and simply want a convenient, comfortable, clean hotel room, this is your place! Thanks to [...] which made the experience even better with less work and more savings!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

When you exit the hotel, walk right to Michigan Ave or left 2 blocks to State St and catch a bus if you don't want to walk. The buses are very convenient for transportation along these two busy streets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Geniohaha
Business
Mexico City, MX
Dec 28, 2010

unbeatable location for the price

very good location (can access easily almost all the facilities in downtown) and very low price. Perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waterloo, IL
Dec 10, 2010

Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

I stayed here for three nights about three years ago. A one night stay this time. Room got pretty cold, especially the bathroom, due to cold weather and drafty windows. Steam heat was supplemented by a window unit. Steam heat seemed okay but got cold after a while. Finally turned on the window unit and then couldn't turn it off so then it got too hot. Restaurant downstairs has good Oriental food and the liquor was not watered down. Everyone was nice and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

close enough to walk to the Dirksen Building, maybe five or six blocks, in a reasonable time. Awfully cold and windy, though. I took a cab there and walked back.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Single stayer
Business
New Zealand
Nov 25, 2010

Simple and cheap

The reasons you would choose this hotel are location and price. It was great to be within walking distance of the blue line to O'Hare airport, and downtown Chicago destinations like the Art Institute and the lake waterfront. The noise from the street and the trains could be quite loud but the price was cheap and I felt safe there on my own.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NYC
Nov 22, 2010

Nice hotel, small but location is all

This hotel is in the best location of Chicago, and one block away from the subway. It´s great. Rooms are small and old but you probablly wont spend much time there anyway!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Murray ky
Nov 9, 2010

Good

The position is good, but air condition did not work

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Detroit, MI
Nov 6, 2010

Convenient but noisy

Need to bear in mind that the train line is very close to the hotel - which is great for convenience however makes sleeping difficult. The rooms are not sound proof and heard the neighbor's TV until late. Furnishings are dated. Wireless internet was great to have and easy to connect to. I would prefer a more modern hotel and would stay elsewhere on my next visit to Chicago.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

to the Train Station

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Trade Show Guy
Business
Austin, TX
Nov 4, 2010

Dated and Moderately Adequate

The hotel is in major need of updating. The location is decent and room clean enough but the furnishings, one tv station and even the single pane windows need to become more modern. Oh, an a good pair of earplugs will help with the train noise as it's located just out front.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Buddy Guy's Legends just a block away. Some of the best Blues in Chicago!!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Alabama
Oct 31, 2010

Poor customer service

Great location. Very poor customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
World traveled/self sufficent
Business
Venice,Florida
Oct 21, 2010

Staff were not informed about anything

I called the hotel a week before arrival. I asked about what was needed to arrange for the airport shuttle to pick myself and my elderly mother. I was not given the correct information. It took me 2 hours to finally find someone at the airport that could tell me how to arrange for a shuttle. Our flight landed in Chicago at 5:15. We had a rehersal and dinner to attend. It was scheduled around our arrival. We missed the whole event. We didn't get to our hotel until 8:30pm. I wasn't able toattend the wedding that was held twodays later. I had blisters on the top,side and bottom of both of my feet. I couldn't wear ANY shoes. I also request directions to the church where the wedding was to be held. I was told it could be done and then left at front desk. The cab driver didn't know where the church was even though we had the correct address and full name of the very large Cathlic Cathedaral. I was totally unhappy with the staff. There was 3 elevators available. But only one was in service. I will never go back to this hotel. The only good thing as the location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Know all you can get from an outside source before you stay at the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top