$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 21, 2014 Check-out: Jul 22, 2014

Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

2 stars
65 East Harrison, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
550 reviews
Great Hotel

The hotel design is gorgeous, the room was exceedingly comfortable, and the staff was friendly as... See full review

  • TravelforPleasure
  • Jun 11, 2014
Perfect Location

I chose this hotel for it's location and had a really good deal. Hotel was better than I expected.... See full review

  • dddd79
  • Apr 18, 2014
Standard hotel near major downtown attractions

Built in 1928 as the Harrison Hotel, this South Loop hotel, now a Travelodge property caters to budget travelers looking for convenient access to Grant Park, Millennium Park and the Loop. Just off the Magnificent Mile, the non-smoking Travelodge Hotel features a business center, two onsite restaurants, double, king and king-suite rooms. Standard amenities include free high-speed Internet, 24-hour guest services and an in-room coffee maker with complimentary coffee.

Highlights
  • Convenient South Loop location just off the Magnificent Mile
  • Budget and kid-friendly lodging--children 16 and under stay free
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Shuttle service via GO Airport Express (fees apply)
  • Indoor and outdoor parking (fees apply)
Rooms
Carpeted rooms at the Travelodge Hotel sport city views and come in king, king-suite or double layouts. Patterned bedspreads coordinate with drapes, framed prints, wood nightstands and drawers. Free high-speed Internet is available in all rooms.
Features

Travelers can make reservations online at GO Airport Express for limousine or sedan services to and from O'Hare International and Midway Airports. Shuttles and private car transfers are available seven days a week, 365 a year.  For travelers' convenience, gratuity and fuel surcharges are built into the price.

All guests enjoy free high-speed Internet access and a South Loop location just off the Magnificent Mile. Families enjoy value as children 16 and under stay free. The Travelodge also has a business center.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (18 miles)
  • Midway Airport (11 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (LaSalle to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway)
  •  McCormick Place Convention Center (6 minutes)
Attractions
  • Grant Park
  • Millennium Park
  • Art Institute
  • Soldier Field
  • Magnificent Mile
  • Jewelers Row
  • Financial District
  • Loop
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in
  • Indoor and outdoor parking fees apply

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.8744 -87.6255
Area description
Business district

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.2 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (550)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
550 out of 550
Amenities:
2.6
Room cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Houston, TX
Jun 27, 2011

Deceiving

I came for an extended weekend to have fun and just enjoy the downtown area. I'm going to cut through the fat and tell it how it is. This hotel is a budget hotel at best. If you're looking for a spot in downtown to simply just sleep, shower, and go on about with your business, this is the best cheap hotel. Best part of the location is it's just a stone-throw away from Millennium Park. My room was very cramped. You could barely walk around the bed. I swear--and I'm agreeing with a previous person who reviewed this hotel--it felt like they might have bedbugs or fleas in the bed. I woke up numerous times in the middle of the night to find my legs itchy from a bunch of small bites. The main reason for the disappointment is because[...] the hotel--whoever is in charge of updating information for this hotel listing--was not completely honest. When I booked this hotel about a month before my check-in, the hotel was listed as a three-star hotel. A few days before my check-in, the hotel's description was updated to two-star hotel. Honestly, it's just barely a two-star hotel. After the first night, I notified [...] the hotel manager that I wanted a refund for the remaining nights. I was not willing to stay in that shoebox any more than I had to. After a couple of hours and numerous phone calls, they finally reluctantly agreed to refund the remaining nights that I did not stay. The hotel staff is friendly. The hotel itself is just disappointing unless you are expecting to book a cheap budget hotel for the bare minimum services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Richie, Rich
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 27, 2011

Birthday Celebration

Great location for Metro and walking to attractions. Block off the Red Line. easy Access to O'Hare airport via Red/Blue Line. Lacking hair dryer and no replenishment of coffee creamer/sugar and also soap. Beds are ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a CTA rail pass (1 or 3 day) and you can connect to all main attractions, museums, Miracle Mile, Navy Pier, airport

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Honest Me
Los Angeles,Ca
Jun 7, 2011

NEVER STAY HERE....NOT SAFE FOR WOMEN!

This hotel is far from all the major attractions. It appears the hotel is centrally located,but it's not! The area is sketchy at night,especially for women and children. The staff is rude and disrespectful.My friends and I were locked out of the room because the keys stop working. A gentleman at the front desk said all he could do is give us another room because the engineer had gone home for the day. Excuse me?! All of our personal things were locked in the room. God forbid if we'd had to catch a flight or needed more money. The next day this Extremely rude front desk woman treated us as if she was the victim,and the manager was no better. Please I'm the easiest traveler I know,but if you wanted to be treated with respect and feel safe DONT STAY here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Honest Me
Los Angeles,Ca
Jun 7, 2011

NEVER STAY HERE....NOT SAFE FOR WOMEN!

This hotel is far from all the major attractions. It appears the hotel is centrally located,but it's not! The area is sketchy at night,especially for women and children. The staff is rude and disrespectful.My friends and I were locked out of the room because the keys stop working. A gentleman at the front desk said all he could do is give us another room because the engineer had gone home for the day. Excuse me?! All of our personal things were locked in the room. God forbid if we'd had to catch a flight or needed more money. The next day this Extremely rude front desk woman treated us as if she was the victim,and the manager was no better. Please I'm the easiest traveler I know,but if you wanted to be treated with respect and feel safe DONT STAY here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cedar rapids i
May 31, 2011

You get less than you pay for

This place was bad. I tried to leave the next morning after the first night. I would have tried that night but I was so tired. I was born in 1972 and it doesn't look or smell like they have updated anything since I was born. It was dirty. There was old fruit under the bed when we got there and was still there when we left. The toilet had pee stains all around it. The curtains & windows were filthy. There was dust everywhere. The mini fridge had a spill in it the entire time. Nobody even showed up to "clean" the room or replenish towels until 4 or 5 each day. There also was no water pressure to speak of. The tv was junky & the remote didn't work. The bed was probably the worst I have ever slept in. No springs & shaped like a horseshoe. Didn't get much sleep in that. I eve called down to have management address some of these issues & management didn't do anything. I would have left if the money I rented the room with was refundable. If you like bad places you will love this one

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Cedar rapids i
May 31, 2011

You get less than you pay for

This place was bad. I tried to leave the next morning after the first night. I would have tried that night but I was so tired. I was born in 1972 and it doesn't look or smell like they have updated anything since I was born. It was dirty. There was old fruit under the bed when we got there and was still there when we left. The toilet had pee stains all around it. The curtains & windows were filthy. There was dust everywhere. The mini fridge had a spill in it the entire time. Nobody even showed up to "clean" the room or replenish towels until 4 or 5 each day. There also was no water pressure to speak of. The tv was junky & the remote didn't work. The bed was probably the worst I have ever slept in. No springs & shaped like a horseshoe. Didn't get much sleep in that. I eve called down to have management address some of these issues & management didn't do anything. I would have left if the money I rented the room with was refundable. If you like bad places you will love this one

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
May 18, 2011

Great location with a little noisy

It is at great location to many sites in downtown Chicago. Price is reasonable. However, you have to bear the near-by subway noise at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
May 18, 2011

Great location with a little noisy

It is at great location to many sites in downtown Chicago. Price is reasonable. However, you have to bear the near-by subway noise at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Dallas, TX
May 14, 2011

Great Location safe neighborhood

Great Location, One block for the Subway. Which was nice cause the red line (the subway a block a away) runs straight to Wrigley or u can get to any other part of the city from there (by subway connections). Navy pier was about a mile and half away which was a nice walk for sightseeing. The neighborhood is very safe alot of art students in the area and we felt total safe. The room we had was small but all we needed was a bed and shower and that is what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Buddy Guy bar is a block south of the hotel. We went there because of the close location to the hotel late one night due to weather and had a great time there.

Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
bellevue, ne
May 9, 2011

Great location!

If you don't mind walking this hotel is within walking distance to the museum campus, grant park, and millennium park. There is plenty of public transportation options as parking is expensive downtown. The rooms aren't very updated, but we weren't in Chicago to hangout at the hotel. Two restaurants located on ground level and a dunk-n-doughnuts located acrossed the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are coming to Chicago and plan to visit several museums I recommend purchasing a " Go Chicago" pass. It was well worth the money!

Back to menu Return to top