$99 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 28, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

2 stars
View map of 65 East Harrison, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
339 out of 339
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Richie, Rich
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 27, 2011

Birthday Celebration

Great location for Metro and walking to attractions. Block off the Red Line. easy Access to O'Hare airport via Red/Blue Line. Lacking hair dryer and no replenishment of coffee creamer/sugar and also soap. Beds are ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a CTA rail pass (1 or 3 day) and you can connect to all main attractions, museums, Miracle Mile, Navy Pier, airport

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Honest Me
Business
Los Angeles,Ca
Jun 7, 2011

NEVER STAY HERE....NOT SAFE FOR WOMEN!

This hotel is far from all the major attractions. It appears the hotel is centrally located,but it's not! The area is sketchy at night,especially for women and children. The staff is rude and disrespectful.My friends and I were locked out of the room because the keys stop working. A gentleman at the front desk said all he could do is give us another room because the engineer had gone home for the day. Excuse me?! All of our personal things were locked in the room. God forbid if we'd had to catch a flight or needed more money. The next day this Extremely rude front desk woman treated us as if she was the victim,and the manager was no better. Please I'm the easiest traveler I know,but if you wanted to be treated with respect and feel safe DONT STAY here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cedar rapids i
May 31, 2011

You get less than you pay for

This place was bad. I tried to leave the next morning after the first night. I would have tried that night but I was so tired. I was born in 1972 and it doesn't look or smell like they have updated anything since I was born. It was dirty. There was old fruit under the bed when we got there and was still there when we left. The toilet had pee stains all around it. The curtains & windows were filthy. There was dust everywhere. The mini fridge had a spill in it the entire time. Nobody even showed up to "clean" the room or replenish towels until 4 or 5 each day. There also was no water pressure to speak of. The tv was junky & the remote didn't work. The bed was probably the worst I have ever slept in. No springs & shaped like a horseshoe. Didn't get much sleep in that. I eve called down to have management address some of these issues & management didn't do anything. I would have left if the money I rented the room with was refundable. If you like bad places you will love this one

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Seattle, WA
May 18, 2011

Great location with a little noisy

It is at great location to many sites in downtown Chicago. Price is reasonable. However, you have to bear the near-by subway noise at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
May 14, 2011

Great Location safe neighborhood

Great Location, One block for the Subway. Which was nice cause the red line (the subway a block a away) runs straight to Wrigley or u can get to any other part of the city from there (by subway connections). Navy pier was about a mile and half away which was a nice walk for sightseeing. The neighborhood is very safe alot of art students in the area and we felt total safe. The room we had was small but all we needed was a bed and shower and that is what we got.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Buddy Guy bar is a block south of the hotel. We went there because of the close location to the hotel late one night due to weather and had a great time there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
bellevue, ne
May 9, 2011

Great location!

If you don't mind walking this hotel is within walking distance to the museum campus, grant park, and millennium park. There is plenty of public transportation options as parking is expensive downtown. The rooms aren't very updated, but we weren't in Chicago to hangout at the hotel. Two restaurants located on ground level and a dunk-n-doughnuts located acrossed the street.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you are coming to Chicago and plan to visit several museums I recommend purchasing a " Go Chicago" pass. It was well worth the money!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
May 7, 2011

Good location, but a bit run down

I needed a centrally located an not too pricey hotel. The location was good indeed, but the room was tiny and a bit run down.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
BIG DADDY NOT SO HAPPY
Business
MICHIGAN
Apr 23, 2011

Good location, not happy with amentites

The location of the hotel was in walking distance of the museum and the aquarium. The bad thing about the hotel was we did not have the items in the room that we were suppose to have. These items were a refrigerator and a microwave. There was also not a Continental breakfast. The heater in the room did not work either and the windows were very drafty. So overall I would have to say that it is just a place to lay your head for the night, nothing more. The staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Museum campus

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
God Knows Howe
Business
Yankton, SD
Apr 9, 2011

Excellent for the Money. Great Location

Bellman and Check-in clerk were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Room was clean and comfortable. Easy access to public transportation. Excellent value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelpha PA
Apr 4, 2011

Solid for the price

Nothing wrong with it. It's cheap, and you get about what you'd expect, but there's nothing wrong with it. It's not fancy, but the Thai place attached to it is surprisingly tolerable, and the staff is effective. The location is obviously its biggest inducement - especially if you like blues clubs (Buddy Guy's is a block away), but it's within walking distance of everything. I've stayed a couple of times and will certainly be back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top