$58 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 21, 2015 Check-out: Feb 24, 2015

Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

2 stars
65 East Harrison, Chicago, IL 60605
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.9
out of 5
336 reviews
Great Hotel

The hotel design is gorgeous, the room was exceedingly comfortable, and the staff was friendly as... See full review

  • TravelforPleasure
  • Jun 11, 2014
Perfect Location

I chose this hotel for it's location and had a really good deal. Hotel was better than I expected.... See full review

  • dddd79
  • Apr 18, 2014
Standard hotel near major downtown attractions

Built in 1928 as the Harrison Hotel, this South Loop hotel, now a Travelodge property caters to budget travelers looking for convenient access to Grant Park, Millennium Park and the Loop. Just off the Magnificent Mile, the non-smoking Travelodge Hotel features a business center, two onsite restaurants, double, king and king-suite rooms. Standard amenities include free high-speed Internet, 24-hour guest services and an in-room coffee maker with complimentary coffee.

Highlights
  • Convenient South Loop location just off the Magnificent Mile
  • Budget and kid-friendly lodging--children 16 and under stay free
  • Free high-speed Internet
  • Shuttle service via GO Airport Express (fees apply)
  • Indoor and outdoor parking (fees apply)
Rooms
Carpeted rooms at the Travelodge Hotel sport city views and come in king, king-suite or double layouts. Patterned bedspreads coordinate with drapes, framed prints, wood nightstands and drawers. Free high-speed Internet is available in all rooms.
Features

Travelers can make reservations online at GO Airport Express for limousine or sedan services to and from O'Hare International and Midway Airports. Shuttles and private car transfers are available seven days a week, 365 a year.  For travelers' convenience, gratuity and fuel surcharges are built into the price.

All guests enjoy free high-speed Internet access and a South Loop location just off the Magnificent Mile. Families enjoy value as children 16 and under stay free. The Travelodge also has a business center.

Transportation
  • O'Hare International Airport (18 miles)
  • Midway Airport (11 miles)
  • Closest train stops: Blue Line (LaSalle to O'Hare) and Orange Line (Roosevelt to Midway)
  •  McCormick Place Convention Center (6 minutes)
Attractions
  • Grant Park
  • Millennium Park
  • Art Institute
  • Soldier Field
  • Magnificent Mile
  • Jewelers Row
  • Financial District
  • Loop
Business
  • Free Wi-Fi
  • Business center
Policies and fees
  • Guests must be 21 years of age or older to check in
  • Indoor and outdoor parking fees apply

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Non Smoking
General
Air conditioned
Non Smoking
Elevators
Ice machine
Dining
Restaurant
Coffee maker in room
Vending machines
Services
24 hour front desk
Business center
Guest laundromat
ATM/Cash machine
Security
Wake-up service
FAX
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Valet parking
Room
Safe
AM/FM alarm clock
Desk with lamp
Microwave
Over sized rooms
TV remote control
Cribs available
Ironing board

Nearby points of interest

  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Auditorium Building: 0.1 mi
  • Harold Washington Library: 0.2 mi
  • Printers Square: 0.2 mi
  • Grant Park: 0.2 mi
  • Chicago Architecture Foundation: 0.3 mi
  • Symphony Center: 0.3 mi
  • Buckingham Fountain: 0.4 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Board of Trade: 0.4 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 0.5 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 0.5 mi
  • Willis Tower (Sears Tower): 0.5 mi
  • State Street: 0.5 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 0.6 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 0.6 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 0.6 mi
  • Macys: 0.7 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 0.7 mi
  • Yacht Club: 0.7 mi
  • Harris Theater: 0.7 mi
  • City Hall: 0.7 mi
  • Field Museum of Natural History: 0.7 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 0.7 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.8 mi
  • Shedd Aquarium: 0.8 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 0.8 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.8 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.8 mi
  • Union Station: 0.8 mi
  • Opera House: 0.8 mi
  • Soldier Field: 0.9 mi
  • Marina City: 1 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 1 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 1.1 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 1.1 mi
  • Adler Planetarium: 1.1 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 1.1 mi
  • Hull House Museum: 1.1 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 1.2 mi
  • Michigan Avenue South: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 1.3 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 1.4 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
03:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (336)

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
336 out of 336
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

65% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tulo
Business
atlanta
Jul 21, 2011

great location

no complains, great location for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City,KS
Jul 16, 2011

Loved Chicago..But Not the Travelodge

The view of Chicago was magnificent! But the hotel was terrible. The help was very rude at the end of our stay, I could often here cursing in the conversations between the employees. They seem to be rushing us to leave while waiting in the lobby for our departure time. The rooms were very small and I felt mislead from the pictures on the website. The bed was beyond belief small. Everything seemed out of date, and the unpleasant smell in the hallways and the room was also very bothersome. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Wichita, KS
Jul 3, 2011

We got what we paid for...

Travelodge, Downtown Chicago: The room was small, which was no problem; I did not pay much for the room (which was the point). However, the general cleanliness of the room was subpar. The cleaning staff recycled our sheets more than once, vacuumed onloy twice during the week, and did not replace the toilet paper in the bathroom (we were actually out for a day and using the Kleenex in the room). It was disappointing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ohio
Jun 28, 2011

perfect for a budget

We went to Chicago for a weekend. getaway. The room was clean and the staff was helpful. The room was small and we would not have been able to stay with children.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Catch 35 filet minon was to die for

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 28, 2011

Trip to Chicago

We went to chicago for the taste of Chicago. The travelodge downtown was in an excellent location just across from the park where the event was held. This made the hotel very convenient and accessible. The staff was courteous and friendly. The rooms were clean but very small and could use some updating. We had very few compliants about our stay. Overall the hotel was okay for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Navy Pier.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
st.louis,mo
Jun 27, 2011

unbeatable location for the price

when to the navy pier,taste of chicago

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Houston, TX
Jun 27, 2011

Deceiving

I came for an extended weekend to have fun and just enjoy the downtown area. I'm going to cut through the fat and tell it how it is. This hotel is a budget hotel at best. If you're looking for a spot in downtown to simply just sleep, shower, and go on about with your business, this is the best cheap hotel. Best part of the location is it's just a stone-throw away from Millennium Park. My room was very cramped. You could barely walk around the bed. I swear--and I'm agreeing with a previous person who reviewed this hotel--it felt like they might have bedbugs or fleas in the bed. I woke up numerous times in the middle of the night to find my legs itchy from a bunch of small bites. The main reason for the disappointment is because[...] the hotel--whoever is in charge of updating information for this hotel listing--was not completely honest. When I booked this hotel about a month before my check-in, the hotel was listed as a three-star hotel. A few days before my check-in, the hotel's description was updated to two-star hotel. Honestly, it's just barely a two-star hotel. After the first night, I notified [...] the hotel manager that I wanted a refund for the remaining nights. I was not willing to stay in that shoebox any more than I had to. After a couple of hours and numerous phone calls, they finally reluctantly agreed to refund the remaining nights that I did not stay. The hotel staff is friendly. The hotel itself is just disappointing unless you are expecting to book a cheap budget hotel for the bare minimum services.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Richie, Rich
Business
Minneapolis, MN
Jun 27, 2011

Birthday Celebration

Great location for Metro and walking to attractions. Block off the Red Line. easy Access to O'Hare airport via Red/Blue Line. Lacking hair dryer and no replenishment of coffee creamer/sugar and also soap. Beds are ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Get a CTA rail pass (1 or 3 day) and you can connect to all main attractions, museums, Miracle Mile, Navy Pier, airport

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Honest Me
Business
Los Angeles,Ca
Jun 7, 2011

NEVER STAY HERE....NOT SAFE FOR WOMEN!

This hotel is far from all the major attractions. It appears the hotel is centrally located,but it's not! The area is sketchy at night,especially for women and children. The staff is rude and disrespectful.My friends and I were locked out of the room because the keys stop working. A gentleman at the front desk said all he could do is give us another room because the engineer had gone home for the day. Excuse me?! All of our personal things were locked in the room. God forbid if we'd had to catch a flight or needed more money. The next day this Extremely rude front desk woman treated us as if she was the victim,and the manager was no better. Please I'm the easiest traveler I know,but if you wanted to be treated with respect and feel safe DONT STAY here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
4
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cedar rapids i
May 31, 2011

You get less than you pay for

This place was bad. I tried to leave the next morning after the first night. I would have tried that night but I was so tired. I was born in 1972 and it doesn't look or smell like they have updated anything since I was born. It was dirty. There was old fruit under the bed when we got there and was still there when we left. The toilet had pee stains all around it. The curtains & windows were filthy. There was dust everywhere. The mini fridge had a spill in it the entire time. Nobody even showed up to "clean" the room or replenish towels until 4 or 5 each day. There also was no water pressure to speak of. The tv was junky & the remote didn't work. The bed was probably the worst I have ever slept in. No springs & shaped like a horseshoe. Didn't get much sleep in that. I eve called down to have management address some of these issues & management didn't do anything. I would have left if the money I rented the room with was refundable. If you like bad places you will love this one

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top