$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

2 stars
View map of 65 East Harrison, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
365 out of 365
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jdoahre
Business
Northern California
Aug 23, 2011

Don't Expect Much

Was upgraded to a King room...unfortunately it was by the elevator (noisy), faced the train line (noisy), in window air conditioner struggled to barely cool room and multiple times my room key wouldn't work. Staff was friendly and did what they could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
RamsFanJohn
Business
st louis
Aug 23, 2011

Travelodge Downtown Chicago

Typical older downtown Chicago hotel but totally without any charm. The WiFi was one of those barely-functional-so-we-can-say-we-have-wifi WiFis. There was an odor of urine when I checked in but I was tired and just wanted to rest so let it go. Told maids about it later and they made some effort but to little avail. Bottom line its only slightly better then the truly awful Howard Johnson on LaSalle.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Muddy Waters Blues bar around corner.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
jdoahre
Business
Northern California
Aug 23, 2011

Don't Expect Much

Was upgraded to a King room...unfortunately it was by the elevator (noisy), faced the train line (noisy), in window air conditioner struggled to barely cool room and multiple times my room key wouldn't work. Staff was friendly and did what they could.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
PL8675
Business
Monticello, IL
Aug 20, 2011

PLreview

Extremely overpriced for the amenities available & comfort of room. Nice that it was downtown & close to my work, but not nearly the value for the cost.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lowell, MA, USA
Aug 18, 2011

The room smell really bad. No seating chair. Poor hot water pressure. No hair dryer.

Hotel has no clothe iron, no hair dryer. I have to go buy hair a dryer because I was assuming that every hotels has all these equipments. There's a clog in the tub. The bathroom is small but it needs interior decorating to make us feel relaxing and soothing that is the whole point of coming to stay at the hotel. The TV is old fashion. For that kind of money they should make us feel like this "It is worthed for that kind of price". People are not friendly at all. Very stiff, serious looking and the door man are creepy. Never smile even though I try to break the ice. Overall people have different kind of personality. Who am to judge.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short walk from hotel

It is closer to field Field Museum, Willis Tower, Buckingham Fountain, a little further to Navy Pier. But it is further from shopping area. Overall is a walkable distances. I would recommended to a friend if they clean it up a little better as I have mention in the above.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JVRR
Business
Girard, OH, USA
Aug 16, 2011

Great time spent with family

Spent time with family and did all the downtown attractions! Travel Lodge was a great value with in walking distance to all the places we wanted to see!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kristin Lolla
Business
New York, New York
Aug 10, 2011

Decent

My boyfriend and myself visited for a few days to attend Lollapalooza. The location of the hotel is a half a block from Grant Park in the heart of downtown Chicago. You couldn't get any better, location wise. Great yummy food all around as well. As for the hotel itself, it was ok. Nothing special. Friendly staff, always willing to go the extra mile. Which kind of makes you forget the hotel wasn't all that great. The bummer side of the place, no Continental Breakfast and the elevators were use less. I don't know if that was because we went during a really busy time or not. But we were staying the 6th floor and always took the stairs. It wasn't worth waiting for the elevator. Overall, the staying there was a decent experience. It was a place to lay our heads after a long day. I would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Burlco NJ
Aug 5, 2011

Chicago Trip

The hotel has a prime location in the center of many sites and events however it is extremely dated. It was relatively clean, although bedding is not changed daily. It lacks central air conditioning so the bed nearest the window is subject to the air stream from the Ac unit. Parking is not provided except through a private lot across the street for the discount rate of $28 a day. The bed sagged so much that our backs and hips were sore most of the day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Avoid driving downtown if you can. Many roads are under construction and its difficult to navigate. Walk if you can.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lawrence, KS
Jul 25, 2011

You get what you pay for

Hotel was cheap, clean, and in a great location. Negatives would be TV very small, very little staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Grant and Millenium Park nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lawrence, KS
Jul 25, 2011

You get what you pay for

Hotel was cheap, clean, and in a great location. Negatives would be TV very small, very little staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Visit Grant and Millenium Park nearby.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top