$109 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 25, 2015 Check-out: May 27, 2015

Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

2 stars
View map of 65 East Harrison, Chicago, IL 60605

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Overall score

2.9 / 5
5.01.0
365 out of 365
Amenities:
2.6
Cleanliness:
3.3
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.4

64% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Edualc
Business
Québec, QC, Canada
Oct 24, 2011

Great location, poor service

It is not that the service is not efficient: it is. But there is no extra. If you have a question, maybe they will find the answer, maybe not ... It depends on who you talk too and especially their «mood of the moment» But the location is great, and that's what I was looking for. A few steps from Michigan ave and grant park. The cleanliness of the hotel was good, though and that is important stuff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

A visit to the Chicago architecture foudation on Michigan ave is a must. I strongly recommand the architecture river cruise ... especially the one at 5 pm, when the building light up in the colored sky. Awesome!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kdhd
Business
Toledo, OH, USA
Oct 18, 2011

Great location

Great location - only one block from Michigan Ave. Inbetween Magnificent Mile and Museum Campus which are the 2 things we planned to do.Close to buses and lots of restaurants. Staff was very helpful.Great place for a value price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
wepea5
Business
Columbia, MO
Oct 15, 2011

Not very good at all, but okay

I stayed here before the Chicago Marathon. Location was perfect, but hotel was lackluster. Bed was pretty suspect, lighting was horrible, and air conditioning wasn't good. Bathroom was okay. The beds have those old polyster comforters that had some stains. The hotel needs updating bad.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
croatia
Business
Croatia
Oct 8, 2011

top floor

We've booked actually last minute and got 25% off for 3 nights and got the last room on the last floor of hotel... Hotel location was perfect, downtown near parks and museums, few steps from Michigan ave and lake but still our room had view on 2 buildings. Couldn't even see the sun. But, what you pay, what you get. And also, almost didn't have hot water, pressure was so weak that it was hard to take a decent shower. Everything else was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Evanston, IL, USA
Oct 8, 2011

Worth the price

the room is far from fancy and quite small. But it's the cheapest one in downtown. If you want to just stay at night, it's fine. But don't expect more.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
croatia
Business
Croatia
Oct 8, 2011

top floor

We've booked actually last minute and got 25% off for 3 nights and got the last room on the last floor of hotel... Hotel location was perfect, downtown near parks and museums, few steps from Michigan ave and lake but still our room had view on 2 buildings. Couldn't even see the sun. But, what you pay, what you get. And also, almost didn't have hot water, pressure was so weak that it was hard to take a decent shower. Everything else was ok.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Chicago tourist
Business
Florida
Oct 3, 2011

Good hotel for it's price

Completely agree with those who say "You get what you pay for". Hotel is not new, but: Great location (walked couple of minutes from the Loop). The staff was friendly, housekeeper kept my room clean every day. No continental breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to those, who needs cheap stay in downtown of Chicago. PS: There is Thai restaraunt on the ground floor - delicious and pretty cheap.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
thefrenchcouple
Business
Alberta, Canada
Oct 1, 2011

Good times!!

This was our first time at a hotel in Chicago. We stayed 2 nights. An older building, but the room we stayed in appeared to have been renovated. A small bathroom, but with new tub/sink/toilet/tiles. The beds were pretty comfortable. The front desk was helpful and good with directions and recommended some good/ not overly priced places to eat. Has parking, but for an additional cost The location is great. Just a short walk to Grant Park and Millenium Park and several museums, such as the Art Institute, Aquarium, Planeterium and Field Museum. Also recommend hopping on a tour bus $30-35 for 3 days use. Takes you all around the city. You get get on and off at your leisure. Great way to see a little of everything! Overall, we would stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Recommend purchasing a CityPass. Gets you into 5 great tourist spots for almost 1/2 the price. And also allows you to jump ahead of the line.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MaryAnn
Business
Appleton, WI, USA
Sep 22, 2011

Great Location and Service

This hotel is nothing fancy and the bathroom was very small, however we did not go to Chicago to stay in our room! The mattress was great and service was superior. The only complaint I had is that the maids did not change the bedding and it was obviously soiled with a food stain. We did have the bed changed before we left the hotel for the evening. We would definitely stay at this hotel again if we were looking to stay in the Grant Park area

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Travelodge Hotel Downtown Chicago

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Bacillus
Business
Los Angeles, CA, USA
Sep 20, 2011

Ok Hotel for a couple day get-away

The staff were friendly. The location was great with convenience stores and bars near by. The Warehouse Liquor across the street has a great selection of wine and Belgian ales. The room was for the most part clean, some corners not typically visible looked like they needed to be vacuumed. Coffee maker looked like it hadn't been cleaned for awhile too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top