$169 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 6, 2015 Check-out: Jul 7, 2015

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
View map of 105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,336 reviews
Family trip

The hotel was very nice even though it was an older hotel. Only thing I would change is coffee in... See full review

  • Jennifer W.
  • May 28, 2015
Great location

I love it. Was better then advertised please stay here you will love it!!! See full review

  • smithworldtraveler
  • May 17, 2015

The independently-owned Whitehall Hotel is Chicago's answer to the quirky boutique hotel, with a prestigious list of past guests that includes Katharine Hepburn and Mick Jagger. The Whitehall has been around since the 1920s, and maintains a combination of European-inspired charm and warm Midwestern hospitality, from the plush upholstered lounge-seating to the dark wood paneling and sparkling chandeliers. Feast on steamed dumplings and other Asian bites at Mei's Corner, or drink in the same seats that the Beatles once graced in the Whitehall Lounge. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply) brings you back into the 21st century, though personal services like the overnight shoeshine retain that vintage feel.

Location

Right on Chicago's Gold Coast and with handy access to nearby Michigan Avenue, or 'The Magnificent Mile', stay at the Whitehall Chicago and you'll find yourself within walking distance of first-class eateries, movie theaters, colorful clothing stores like Lulu's on the Avenue, and all the pulsing nightlife of Rush Street. Guests in the mood for a moonlit stroll can access Oak Street Beach, only steps away from the Whitehall's front door.

Highlights
  • 22 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Whitehall Place Lounge, Mei's Corner, Fornetto Mei
  • Fitness center
  • Valet parking
  • Shoe-shine service
  • Business center
  • Event space for up to 100 guests
  • Pets allowed (under 20 pounds, and subject to possible fees)
  • Handicapped rooms available
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Business

Business groups might find the Delaware suite useful, because it features exclusive living and dining areas for up to six guests.

Transportation

If you want to explore the local streets without wearing yourself out too early, take the no. 66 bus to Navy Pier for more theaters and stores, as well as access to the Lakeside trail alongside N. Lake Shore Drive.

Fees
  • The parking fee is $65 per night.
  • Internet Access:

Option 1: Includes Complimentary Internet Access 1.0 MBPS speed unlimited devices 24 hours per day.

Option 2: Includes 2.5 MBPS speed of $9.95 per 24-hour period.

Option 3: Includes 5.0 MBPS speed of $15.95 per 24-hour period.

Policies
  • Guests must be at least 21 years old to check in. 
  • The Whitehall Hotel is a 100% smoke free property.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
143 out of 1336
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.2
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.7
Value:
4.1

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
St. Louis
Jan 3, 2010

The good, the bad and the ugly

The front desk at the Whitehall Hotel sits just indide the front door. As you are standing there to check in all I felt every time the door opened was cold air blowing in. And I was there at least 30 minutes waiting to chek in. I might as well been standing outside. Very bad location for a front desk and very cold and when busy very congested.Once I got to my room, it was very cold and the temp in the room read 59. (The temperature outside was 15 degrees)I turned the heat up for over a half hour and it never got past 60. I went down to complain and was moved to another room. Later that night when I returned from dinner I had to turn the heat up to 80 due to the drafts coming through the windows. It was so bad I had to put a towel in one window to cut down on the draft and close the blinds which means the floor area was very cold and there was ice and frost forming on the inside of the window. So bad I couldn't even see out the window. When I went to complain the next morning I was told that "since I went through [...] they wouldn't do anything because that was like getting the room for $2.00." The most they would do might be to offer a breakfast coupon. (Which I never got.) I guess when you go thru [...] you get a good deal but there's nothing one can do since all is prepaid and they apparently look down on this type of reservation. To be told it's like paying $2.00 is kind of like being hit in the gut, especially when I paid $158.99 per night.The hotel is a great location but I wouldn't recommend staying here in the winter.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Okc
Jul 30, 2011

Worst hotel ever

This was probably one of the worst hotels I've ever stayed at! It is not even a category 2 star, the only good thing I can say about this hotel is location. My room smelled like feces, literally. The bed was hard as a rock, and the room was way small. I ordered room service for a pot of coffee they charged me 50 bucks. There's a Starbucks on the next block, go there! Four seasons is right across the street stay there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Starbucks! You think that they serve expensive coffee here! Don't stay at Whitehall!

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Flamington Hills
Sep 1, 2008

No bang for my Buck

The location of the Whitehall is its best feature. The bed and its comfort was the next best feature. The room was ok, but several upgrades need to be done for it to compare to other 4 or 5 stars. The air conditioner was too loud, the bath fauset constantly dripped, and the tv needed to be upgraded, with batteries needed changing. Also the fitness center was limited and very dissapointing. Overall,this hotel was not what I expected for the price per night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Rush Street is 2 blocks away.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Portland, Or
Feb 8, 2010

Meh

I stayed here once before. I was hoping that my disappointment with the hotel was a fluke, and the price was good, so I gave it another shot. Maybe I am extra critical, because I've managed hotels for the past 5 years, but this hotel is such a disappointment. Tried preordering roomservice breakfast with instructions to have it delivered at 930am. At 900am the next day, I woke up to the breakfast being delivered early. There is little that can be more frustrating that getting woken up 30 minutes before you intended. Then I drank a sprite and gingerale out of the minibar, and they tried to charge me $40. I got the bill corrected, but these mistakes were frequent and unnecessary. Someone needs to take charge at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to eat at Avec.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
scs
Business
Chicago
Apr 3, 2011

Not bad

Room smelled like someone had been smoking in it forever. Elevators scary small, but location was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
chicago
Jul 30, 2009

not so good

arrived and was unable to get non-smoking room although book 3 weeks in advanced and requested same. room smelled; fortunately able to open window slightly. ac did not work-- front desk said hotel was installing central air

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
san francisco
Jun 10, 2010

whitehall hotel

lighting was horrible in room

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
traveled to chicago
Business
canada
Feb 18, 2014

Location

Location of hi hotel is the best feature. Also the rooms are clea. There is no room service for food.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
TRAVissss
Business
Chicago
Mar 25, 2014

Business

Room needed a minor make over,paint peel,drawer knobs missing,bulbs flickering,shower knob broken

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Love Chicago
Business
Houston, TX
May 19, 2009

Good Location

I was in Chicago for my daughter's college graduation. The hotel's location in the Gold Coast put us close to dining and shopping. The room was pretty, but a little hot. Changing the thermostat didn't seem to make a difference. Great towels in the bathroom, but the lighting in there was really bad. It was hard to put on make-up. Concierge was very helpful for finding restaurants and getting reservations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top