$142 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 13, 2014 Check-out: Jul 14, 2014

The Whitehall Hotel

4 stars
105 E. Delaware Place, Chicago, IL 60611
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
1,907 reviews
trip for granddaughter`s 16th birthday...perfect location for a teenagers shopping tyrip.

the staff was extremely friendly, the breakfast were delicious with an efficient staff, See full review

  • Mom North
  • Jun 7, 2014
Handicapp greatness

This is my 2 visit to this hotel. First visit was a romantic visit with my husband. 2nd visit my... See full review

  • Conner tReturning family
  • May 29, 2014
The independently-owned Whitehall Hotel is Chicago's answer to the quirky boutique hotel, with a prestigious list of past guests that includes Katharine Hepburn and Mick Jagger. The Whitehall has been around since the 1920s, and maintains a combination of European-inspired charm and warm Midwestern hospitality, from the plush upholstered lounge-seating to the dark wood paneling and sparkling chandeliers. Feast on steamed dumplings and other Asian bites at Mei's Corner, or drink in the same seats that the Beatles once graced in the Whitehall Lounge. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel (fees may apply) brings you back into the 21st century, though personal services like the overnight shoeshine retain that vintage feel.
Key facts
  • 22 guestrooms
  • 3 restaurants: Whitehall Place Lounge, Mei's Corner, Fornetto Mei
  • Fitness center
  • Valet parking
  • Shoe-shine service
  • Business center
  • Event space for up to 100 guests
  • Pets allowed (under 20 pounds, and subject to possible fees)
  • Handicapped rooms available
  • Free Wi-Fi throughout
Neighborhood
Right on Chicago's Gold Coast and with handy access to nearby Michigan Avenue, or 'The Magnificent Mile', stay at the Whitehall Chicago and you'll find yourself within walking distance of first-class eateries, movie theaters, colorful clothing stores like Lulu's on the Avenue, and all the pulsing nightlife of Rush Street. Guests in the mood for a moonlit stroll can access Oak Street Beach, only steps away from the Whitehall's front door.
Hints and tips
Business groups might find the Delaware suite useful, because it features exclusive living and dining areas for up to six guests.

If you want to explore the local streets without wearing yourself out too early, take the no. 66 bus to Navy Pier for more theaters and stores, as well as access to the Lakeside trail alongside N. Lake Shore Drive.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

41.899 -87.6257
Area served
Chicago.
Nearby airports
Chicago O'Hare International Airport, Chicago Midway Airport.
Area description
The Whitehall hotel has proximity to North Michigan Avenue shopping, John Hancock Center, Museum of Contemporary Art, Sears Tower and Skydeck, Lincoln Park Zoo and Wrigley Field.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Whitehall Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

The Whitehall Hotel Rooms

Run of House 2
This room offers two double queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.
Standard Room
This room offers one queen bed with cable TV, air conditioning, in room safe, hair dryer, iron and ironing board.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Non Smoking
General
Non Smoking
Pet friendly
Activities
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Water Tower: 0.1 mi
  • John Hancock Center: 0.1 mi
  • Drury Lane Theatre: 0.2 mi
  • Seneca Park: 0.2 mi
  • Holy Name Cathedral: 0.2 mi
  • Washington Square Park: 0.3 mi
  • Museum of Contemporary Art: 0.3 mi
  • Oak Street Beach: 0.3 mi
  • Terra Museum of American Art: 0.3 mi
  • Michigan Avenue: 0.3 mi
  • Lake Shore Park: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago Historical Society: 0.4 mi
  • Chicago - Mag Mile - Wacker Dr: 0.4 mi
  • North Michigan Avenue: 0.5 mi
  • Tribune Tower: 0.6 mi
  • Wrigley Building: 0.6 mi
  • Museum of Broadcast Communications: 0.7 mi
  • Marina City: 0.8 mi
  • Lake Point Tower: 0.9 mi
  • Merchandise Mart: 0.9 mi
  • Harold Washington College: 0.9 mi
  • History Museum: 0.9 mi
  • Prudential Plaza: 0.9 mi
  • Chicago Theater: 0.9 mi
  • Goodman Theatre: 1 mi
  • Oriental Theatre: 1 mi
  • Children Museum: 1 mi
  • Chicago Cultural Center: 1 mi
  • Harris Theater: 1 mi
  • Macys: 1.1 mi
  • City Hall: 1.1 mi
  • Cadillac Palace Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Navy Pier: 1.1 mi
  • Pritzker Pavilion: 1.1 mi
  • Shubert Theatre: 1.1 mi
  • Cloud Gate: 1.1 mi
  • State Street: 1.2 mi
  • Kendall College: 1.2 mi
  • Crown Fountain: 1.2 mi
  • Bank of America Theatre: 1.3 mi
  • North Avenue Beach: 1.3 mi
  • Opera House: 1.3 mi
  • Yacht Club: 1.3 mi
  • Art Institute of Chicago: 1.3 mi
  • Chicago Mercantile Exchange: 1.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (1907)

Ratings and reviews for The Whitehall Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
243 out of 1907
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.8
Value:
4.1

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
nj
Nov 27, 2009

Don't bother!

We booked the trip several weeks in advance, but when we arrived at the hotel were informed there were "no vacancies." They arranged a "complimentary" stay at their sister 1-star hotel but we never received the refund that was promised. Four months and several letters later, still no refund . . . don't risk it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Southfield, MI
Nov 6, 2010

first and last time

This was a shopping and theater trip. The location is wonderful--but the hotel is seriously lacking in major areas. Our bathroom was missing a piece of the light switch and the switch plate was put on incorrectly. The bedroom lamp was falling apart. The hotel front desk staff could not even direct us to a restaurant that was 4 blocks away. The concierge nor the front desk staff could not give us instruction on how to avoid the Ryan expressway. In addition, we checked our luggage when we left for the day, and it just sat in the lobby from morning until late afternoon, often unattended. I would not stay at this hotel again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Orange was a great breakfast spot--15 minute walk

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TrustmyReview
N/A
May 28, 2010

Enter at your own risk

Upon arrival we had to wait in a line to get service because only one Hotel Desk Host was on Duty. Once checked in the first room we were given we found roaches in near the closet. I quickly asked for my money back or another room. They moved us to another room and we left for the evening. Upon return we found the lights on in our room (even after we left the privacy notice on the door - so we would not have "turn down" service)and on the bed a platter with pizza bread on it and some sparkling water and coke. We thought they were trying to be nice to us after the "roaches" incident. Of course we did not eat ANYTHING from the hotel and put all of the stuff on a table in the hallway outside our room door. The next morning we checked out and guess what they were not trying to make up for the roaches instead they added 29.05 to my bill for a meal I never ordered. They corrected quickly but I will NEVER EVER go back to this hotel (FYI parking is 48.00 per night - but you can come and go as you wish)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
disappointed this time
MN
Jul 31, 2009

Disappointing this time

We have stayed here many times and loved it. Hoever, this time, when we arrived we found out that the hotel was under construction. They told us we would get a different room with a better view, all we had to do was have our suitcases packed...then they never moved us. The air conditioning was being repaired. The first night the room temperature was fine, the second, warm and by the third night very hot and uncomfortable. (They tried to fix it, but it kept freezing up.) We love this hotel, great character and wonderful location, but I was disappointed in the response we got when we talked with the person in charge and am not sure I will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to the Bongo room for breakfast. Amazing! Pancakes like you will never taste again and wonderful omelets as well. Worth the trip.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Southfield, MI
Nov 6, 2010

first and last time

This was a shopping and theater trip. The location is wonderful--but the hotel is seriously lacking in major areas. Our bathroom was missing a piece of the light switch and the switch plate was put on incorrectly. The bedroom lamp was falling apart. The hotel front desk staff could not even direct us to a restaurant that was 4 blocks away. The concierge nor the front desk staff could not give us instruction on how to avoid the Ryan expressway. In addition, we checked our luggage when we left for the day, and it just sat in the lobby from morning until late afternoon, often unattended. I would not stay at this hotel again!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Orange was a great breakfast spot--15 minute walk

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
TrustmyReview
N/A
May 28, 2010

Enter at your own risk

Upon arrival we had to wait in a line to get service because only one Hotel Desk Host was on Duty. Once checked in the first room we were given we found roaches in near the closet. I quickly asked for my money back or another room. They moved us to another room and we left for the evening. Upon return we found the lights on in our room (even after we left the privacy notice on the door - so we would not have "turn down" service)and on the bed a platter with pizza bread on it and some sparkling water and coke. We thought they were trying to be nice to us after the "roaches" incident. Of course we did not eat ANYTHING from the hotel and put all of the stuff on a table in the hallway outside our room door. The next morning we checked out and guess what they were not trying to make up for the roaches instead they added 29.05 to my bill for a meal I never ordered. They corrected quickly but I will NEVER EVER go back to this hotel (FYI parking is 48.00 per night - but you can come and go as you wish)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
nj
Nov 27, 2009

Don't bother!

We booked the trip several weeks in advance, but when we arrived at the hotel were informed there were "no vacancies." They arranged a "complimentary" stay at their sister 1-star hotel but we never received the refund that was promised. Four months and several letters later, still no refund . . . don't risk it!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
disappointed this time
MN
Jul 31, 2009

Disappointing this time

We have stayed here many times and loved it. Hoever, this time, when we arrived we found out that the hotel was under construction. They told us we would get a different room with a better view, all we had to do was have our suitcases packed...then they never moved us. The air conditioning was being repaired. The first night the room temperature was fine, the second, warm and by the third night very hot and uncomfortable. (They tried to fix it, but it kept freezing up.) We love this hotel, great character and wonderful location, but I was disappointed in the response we got when we talked with the person in charge and am not sure I will go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Go to the Bongo room for breakfast. Amazing! Pancakes like you will never taste again and wonderful omelets as well. Worth the trip.

Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Kiki Flutterlips
Detroit
Mar 9, 2010

Not so bad, but not so good

Super super location-but i was not impressed w/the staff or the hotel. The room had the worst lighting and we found a dirty towel in the TV console. The beds were awesome-great linens...and otherwise the hotel room appeared to be clean. When we checked in the hotel was sold out so all they had left were smoking rooms...do people still smoke in hotels??? They accomdated us in the only other non smoking room they had-which was DIRECTLY across from the elevator-which turned out to be fine! All in all not a bad value-just plan on sleeping here and not enjoying any of the non-existent ammenities. Not a bad fitness center either! No coffee pot in the room which is a bummer cause you have to go to the lobby to get a cup of coffee to have in the morning. Plus you had to call for ice and we called twice once it came and once it never did.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Whitehall Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Baratos
San Francisco
Oct 17, 2012

VERY OLD HOTEL

Very old Hotel , it needs help, I found later other hotels around with a much nicer atmosphere for the same price. the hotel website mislead you .

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top